We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Favorite Museum in Madrid: Impressionist Art Without the Crowds” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sorolla Museum

Sorolla Museum
37 General Martinez Campos, 28010 Madrid, Spain (Chamberi)
34-91-310-1584
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Sorolla Museum like an insider
Top Rated
$53*
and up
Madrid Card
Ranked #5 of 1,413 things to do in Madrid
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A small, lesser-known museum with an excellent collection of Spanish post-impressionist and early 20th-century art.
California
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“My Favorite Museum in Madrid: Impressionist Art Without the Crowds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

After you've "done" the Prado with its overwhelming collection and swarms of visitors, go to the Sorolla Museum. It's in the artist's former house/studio and is full of his lovely, accessible paintings. The well-maintained gardens were the artist's pride and joy and featured in many of his works, so they deserve some time as well. I also enjoy the furnishings. The entrance price is very reasonable, something like 3 Euros. This place is a true find that I first visited in 1985 and have been recommending to friends ever since. Reachable by Metro: Rubén Darío on the green line; just walk up La Castellana to General Martinez Campos and turn left. It's a 15 minute walk at most. Tip: After my most recent visit, I had a very enjoyable lunch right across the street at Al Alba de Madrid.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,526
    515
    68
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Woodlands, TX
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Thoroughly Enjoyed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Highly recommend visiting this museum. I loved seeing his artwork displayed in his own home. So much more meaning than rushing through an enormous art museum where it is difficult to do justice to the artist or his work.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Top Contributor
395 reviews 395 reviews
137 attraction reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
241 helpful votes 241 helpful votes
“museum and house in one”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Not only the museum of a famous painter, this place has also a very nice garden and you can feel how the life of the Sorolla familla must have been while living here. When I visited on my own, I took an audioguide and I spent a long time wandering through the museum without watching my watch. I can recommend this to everyone, especially when entrance is free, for instance on saturday afternoons.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“One of the best museums in Madrid!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This was one of my favorite museums experiences while in Madrid. I lived in Madrid for a little over a year, which gave me a lot of time to do in-depth exploration.

The Sorolla Museum was unique in that you are visiting Sorolla's former residence. Many of the rooms are left exactly as he would have left them. As soon as you walk through the brick gate and are greeted by the lovely garden, you are instantly transported to the 1890's. They have set up the museum to make you feel as if Sorolla just stepped out for lunch and would be back any minute. This atmosphere made admiring his work really a wonderful experience.

In my opinion, a must-see in Madrid!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awesome !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We had short time to visit it , but better then nothing...It´s not a very big museum. But if you don´t know Sorolla you should go...and if you know about him, you know this place it´s a "must be". Awesome

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sorolla Museum also viewed

 

Been to Sorolla Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sorolla Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.