We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly Enjoyed!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sorolla Museum

Sorolla Museum
37 General Martinez Campos, 28010 Madrid, Spain
34-91-310-1584
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #2 of 488 Attractions in Madrid
Type: Art Museums, Historic Sites, History Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: A small, lesser-known museum with an excellent collection of Spanish post-impressionist and early 20th-century art.
The Woodlands, TX
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Thoroughly Enjoyed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Highly recommend visiting this museum. I loved seeing his artwork displayed in his own home. So much more meaning than rushing through an enormous art museum where it is difficult to do justice to the artist or his work.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,401 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,017
    326
    53
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid
Top Contributor
311 reviews 311 reviews
112 attraction reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
“museum and house in one”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Not only the museum of a famous painter, this place has also a very nice garden and you can feel how the life of the Sorolla familla must have been while living here. When I visited on my own, I took an audioguide and I spent a long time wandering through the museum without watching my watch. I can recommend this to everyone, especially when entrance is free, for instance on saturday afternoons.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“One of the best museums in Madrid!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This was one of my favorite museums experiences while in Madrid. I lived in Madrid for a little over a year, which gave me a lot of time to do in-depth exploration.

The Sorolla Museum was unique in that you are visiting Sorolla's former residence. Many of the rooms are left exactly as he would have left them. As soon as you walk through the brick gate and are greeted by the lovely garden, you are instantly transported to the 1890's. They have set up the museum to make you feel as if Sorolla just stepped out for lunch and would be back any minute. This atmosphere made admiring his work really a wonderful experience.

In my opinion, a must-see in Madrid!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awesome !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We had short time to visit it , but better then nothing...It´s not a very big museum. But if you don´t know Sorolla you should go...and if you know about him, you know this place it´s a "must be". Awesome

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great feeling in this residence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

The Museum is in the middle of a suburb/city and most unexpected, which adds to the pleasure of visiting it. The paintings are wonderful, and this museum has a very homely feel to it as it was his residence.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sorolla Museum also viewed

 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to Sorolla Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sorolla Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.