We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy, familiar, how rich people live in the past” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sorolla Museum

Sorolla Museum
37 General Martinez Campos, 28010 Madrid, Spain
34-91-310-1584
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #2 of 512 Attractions in Madrid
Type: Art Museums, Historic Sites, History Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: A small, lesser-known museum with an excellent collection of Spanish post-impressionist and early 20th-century art.
madrid
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Cozy, familiar, how rich people live in the past”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Paintings are brilliant, but the house is amazing, to feel the atmosphere, the way of living, take a guided tour - if you visit Madrid go there

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,470 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,065
    343
    56
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alicante, Spain
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Better than in New York. Sorolla in Madrid”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I liked this better than the huge Sorolla paintings displayed in the American Hispanic Society. Anyway, Sorolla loved his wife, daughters and son and you feel it in the paintings he made of them. The House is beautiful too.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Excellent collection. Beautiful Museum.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I was reccomend by a friend to visit it and was more than I expect. Beautiful collection and the house is nice. I reccomend it as a visit if you want to do something out of the regular Tour or you love Sorolla as I do!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seville, Spain
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A must in Madrid”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

My family go to Museo Sorolla regularly. This time we could see a great exhibition about gardens on Sunday morning, when entrance is free. If you ever come to Madrid, after El Prado and Thyssen, try Museo Sorolla and discover a typical garden, a modernist house and the paintings of one of the best Spanish painters. You won't regret to pay a visit to this house-museum.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“For Sorolla lovers”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I found the Sorolla Museum to be over-rated. It would be of great interest to lover's of Sorolla's art, wishing to gain an insight into his life, and where he lived, but for me, I enjoyed the other art museums far more than this one.

I liked that you could take photos (no flash) in this museum, and that the entry fee was relatively cheap (3 Euro, or free after 2pm Saturday). The tranquil gardens and setting were great, and the staff very friendly and knowledgeable. Just don't put this place in #2 spot in your itinerary of Madrid.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sorolla Museum also viewed

 

Been to Sorolla Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sorolla Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.