We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for a visit to Madrid.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Real

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Villa Real to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Real
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plaza de las Cortes 10, 28014 Madrid, Spain (Huertas)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #39 of 453 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Pewaukee, WIsconsin
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great location for a visit to Madrid.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

This hotel has a superb location for a visit to Madrid. It is within walking distance to many of the major tourist attractions and over a hundred bars and restaurants. It is right next door to the more expensive Westin Palace Hotel.

My wife and I had a junior suite which had a separate bedroom and a sunken living room area. The floors throughout the suite were laminated hardwood. There was a door that opened from the living room on to a tiny balcony. The bathroom was nice with two separate sinks. There was plenty of storage areas to unpack our suitcases. The air conditioning functioned very well. The hotel maid did a fine job and turned down the bed daily in the evening.

The concierge(s) did a wonderful job for us. They spoke perfect English and were very helpful recommending dinner spots, various attractions and train schedules. They were above my expectations.

The Prado Museum is about two blocks away. The Santa Ana Plaza is about two blocks down the side street of Prado.

We did not use the bar or restaurant facilities on site as there were so many excellent choices nearby and we greatly prefer dining and drinking at the numerous outside cafes, bars and restaurants in the neighborhood.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, subdirector at Hotel Villa Real, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are so glad to hearing you had a fantastic stay and you would stay again Villa Real.

Thank you very much for your nice comments as it is always interesting for other travellers

We do hope to see you again next time you return to our city

Kind regards

Antonio Martin
Assistant manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    259
    89
    25
    12
See reviews for
115
312
42
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Warton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Excellent position in the city, however it is old and tired. We got a turn down service the first night then nothing, I was also located near a lift which went ding dong, most of the day and night. On one of the days my room was not made up until almost 14.00 in the afternoon, unacceptable in my books. The breakfast staff were abysmal, taking more care to set up tables than actually serving the guests. I was never once asked if I prefered a cooked breakfast, I was also never given a second cup of tea or coffee without asking. And there really was no exuse as there seemed to be more waiters than guests.

If I went again I would go somewhere else.

Room Tip: Make sure you are not near a lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Subdirector at Hotel Villa Real, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for sharing your experiences at Villa Real hotel
All kind of comments help us a lot to progress.

Regarding your comment I would really like to show you our improvements so if you travel back to Madrid and you choose Villa Real again I kindly ask to contact me in order to be able to assist you personally.

Best regards

Antonio Martin
Assistant manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

The best thing about this hotel is its central location, right in the center of town, walking distance to the Museo del Pardo. Its a rather old hotel with a sparse lobby. Rooms are spacious but done on a split level layout. Room was rather old but nevertheless well appointed. Red leatherette on sofa made the room look older than it probably was. The best thing about this hotel is the breakfast. The spread was better than average but the dining room is set-up in a very elegant way. Service is impeccable too.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Subdirector at Hotel Villa Real, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks you very much for the kind feedback. We are really glad to hear that you loved our location, your room and the service provided.

We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Antonio Martin
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

The hotel is well situated, close to the park and a 10-15 minute walk away from the main Plazas. The hotel staff are friendly and everything is comfortable.

However, this hotel really doesn't live up to 5 star standards - whilst the rooms are comfortable they are tired, they have an odd layout, with steps down to the sofa area. This breaks up the room a little but very dangerous - my fiance got out of bed in the middle of the night, minus her contacts and nearly fell down them. The rooms are very bland, with noisy wooden floors. There is a nice big flat screen TV but it's positioned opposite the sofa, which make it nearly impossible to see from the bed, unless you crick your neck. There are no tea and coffee making facilities in the room and no complimentary water.

The bathroom was clean but had no extraction so steamed up straight away and the glass shower 'curtain' has a design fault as there's a 1 inch gap where the hinge is so we were left swimming in the bathroom floor every morning.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Subdirector at Hotel Villa Real, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Guest,


Thank you very much for sharing your experiences at Villa Real hotel

All kind of comments help us a lot to progress.

Regarding your comment I would really like to show you our improvements so if you travel back to Madrid and you choose Villa Real again I kindly ask to contact me in order to be able to assist you personally.

Best regards

Antonio Martin
Assistant manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boonville, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

The location is next to the parliament building on a small plaza just a short distance from the Grand Via, very close to the Prado. The On/Off bus stops right on the plaza. About 3 blocks in the opposite direction is the larger Plaza del Sol that has a theatre and many restaurants with indoor and outdoor seating. Perfect spot to hang out and eat on a warm night. The hotel has a restaurant that needs a reservation which we were not able to get. We heard from others that the food was delicious. There is a bar on the ground floor that also has a seating area on the plaza. It's a great place for a beer and tapas in the afternoon. The breakfast that was included in our room rate was very good. As Americans we always wish for coffee in our rooms,,,but the staff was very quick bringing a pot upstairs when requested. Our room had 2 levels. The bed and bath on the upper and the sitting area, TV and French doors that opened to about 1 ft. wide balcony on the lower level. We had a view of the plaza and enjoyed the fresh air. Our only complaint was that the stairs to the lower level are very close to the foot of the bed on the sitting area side. This can be a trip risk/dangerous in the dark.The holtel staff were very gracious and helpful. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Subdirector at Hotel Villa Real, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks you very much for the kind feedback. We are really glad to hear that you loved our location, your room and the service provided.

We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Antonio Martin
Assistan manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Stayed here for four nights in a duplex suite. The rooms are quite small and in our view not up to 5 star standards. The decor and fittings are frankly tired. As you can walk to pretty near anywhere in Centro this makes it an excellent base for those seeing the sights.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Subdirector at Hotel Villa Real, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for sharing your experiences at Villa Real hotel
All kind of comments help us a lot to progress.
Regarding your comment I would really like to show you our improvements so if you travel back to Madrid and you choose Villa Real again I kindly ask to contact me in order to be able to assist you personally.

Best regards

Antonio Martin
Assistant manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We chose the Hotel Villa Real based on our outstanding experience at another Derby Collection hotel in Barcelona. After a 4 day stay, our experience here certainly lived up to our expectations! The staff is professional, helpful and eager to accommodate our every request. They offered restaurant recommendations, walking directions, suggested sights to see and even honored my daughter's request for extra chocolates placed on the bed when turned downed at night. Our room was comfortable and nicely appointed (although a tad dated) and we enjoyed free Wi-Fi, complimentary morning coffee and a wide selection of TV stations. Loved the selection of complimentary jelly candies in the lobby (Spain has such delicious sweets!) and the apples at the front desk at night. Best of all, the location is prime! We walked everywhere! Prado is across the street and the Reina Sofia less than a 10 minute walk away. We walked to Plaza Mayor, Chueca as well as Mercado San Miguel. We never once took a taxi except to the airport. Highly recommend the Hotel Villa Real and would love to return again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, subdirector at Hotel Villa Real, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time of sharing your experience at Villa Real. We are glad to hearing you have enjoyed your time with us.

We are sure all these positive comments about Villa Real hotel are really useful to other travellers

Looking forward to welcome you back soon

Best regards,

Antobnio Martin
Assistan manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Real

Address: Plaza de las Cortes 10, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Madrid
#29 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#34 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#42 Family Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Villa Real 5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Real is a five-star hotel in the centre of Madrid, located in the Plaza de las Cortes, right in front of the Spanish Congress of Deputies and just a few minutes on foot away from Puerta del Sol. It is a unique location for exploring the sites of 'Madrid de los Austrias' on foot and enjoying the museum triangle formed by the Museo del Prado, the Thyssen-Bornemisza Museum and the Queen Sofia Foundation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Venere, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Villa Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Real Hotel Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Real, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.