We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a short stay, comfortable, clean and cheerful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Art Madrid

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hostal Art Madrid to your Saves list
Hostal Art Madrid
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   Conde de Romanones 9, 2 piso, 28012 Madrid, Spain (Centro)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
€2 off room rate
Ranked #11 of 238 Madrid B&B and Inns
SE England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Perfect for a short stay, comfortable, clean and cheerful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

We strayed at the Art Hostal for two nights for a short break in this beautiful city. It turned out incredibly well because the hostal is very centrally located so it was within easy reach of the everywhere we wanted to go. The staff were very friendly and our room was small but perfectly comfortable for a couple of nights, I would recommend this place to friends without a second thought.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesus Miguel L, Gerente at Hostal Art Madrid, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you for the time you have dedicated to write about us. We appreciate your nice words and we are grateful for your feedback as it is very important for us in our aim to improve.
If there is another short or large break in Madrid, just let us know!
Our desire is to give all our customers the best service and the best acomodation.

Sincerely yours,

Jesus Miguel Lopez Segundo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    91
    23
    3
    0
See reviews for
23
98
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

The hostel is right in the center of Madrid.5minutes to puerta del sol and to plaza mayor.The room is tiny but it's enough for a good bath and a good sleep.Just what you need if you want a place to rest after a long day or night out in the city.The stuff is not that good in English but that is not really a problem!They are nice and they smile all the time!Although our room was perfectly cleaned everyday I noticed a problem..there was a bug in the bath..I killed it by drowning it..so its brother the next morning..that was the only unpleasant moment during our stay..oh!and the funny smell when you go into the room for the first time but it goes off as soon as you open the balcony door!
To sum up, pros:excellent location,really good price,nice stuff,cleaning-cons:we saw two bugs in the bath,the smell when you get in (vanishes easily),a bit noisy but we didn't mind,we would prefer two pillows instead of a wide one-for two pillow.
When we come back we will definitely chose hostal Art Madrid again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jesus Miguel L, Gerente at Hostal Art Madrid, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you for the time you have dedicated to write about us. We appreciate your nice words and we are grateful for your feedback as it is very important for us in our aim to improve.
Regarding the unpleasant moment with the bug into the bathroom, we are very sorry. Thank you for having warned us, as it was the first time it happened. The establishment is fumigated 2 times a year, to avoid those unpleasant moments for our customers and also for us.
We would like to apologize also for the unusual smell felt entering the room. We will change our freshener for a softer one.
Our desire is to give all our customers the best service and the best acomodation.
We feel sorry for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay and hope that the next time would be a much better experience.

Sincerely yours,

Jesus Miguel Lopez Segundo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Oliva, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed two nights in this attractive guest house, which is perfectly located in a quiet side street close to the Metro for Atocha station and only a few minutes walk from Puerto del Sol and the city centre.The rooms are small but adequate, the beds are very comfortable and the showers are spacious and hot. The décor is colourful and interesting, with lots of artwork, and everything is very clean. The staff are friendly and helpful, and will look after your luggage on the day you leave if you want to spend more time in the city. Breakfast is not provided, but you can buy a voucher for a continental breakfast at a nice local bar. The only minor complaint was a lack of storage in the rooms, which would be a problem for an extended stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesus Miguel L, Propietario at Hostal Art Madrid, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for you confidance on our establishment!
If there is to be a second time for you or for your close friends to came and see Madrid, please send us a mail. And, with referece to the offer posted on Tripadvisor, we are going to make an addicional 10% offon the published price on our website.

Best regards!

Jesùs Miguel Lòpez Segundo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Situated on the 2nd floor of a modest tennant house right in the centre of Madrid (5 min walk from Puerto del Sol and Plaza Mayor) - elevator available and working. Nice but small rooms, good facilities (unless you need a big screen TV), including heating, air conditioning and cosy but functional bathroom. Great service - people there seem really care for how satisfied the guests are. Even though poor Englich, they would be patient in understanding your needs and explaining what needs to be explained. Breakfasts (continental but nice) in a stylish cafe next door (you need to walk out of the building) - the only inconvenience that it starts no sooner than 8.45 and is not served on Sundays. Compensated by numerous cafes at plazas Benevente and Molina nearby, opened earlier.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hostalartmadrid, Director de Recepción at Hostal Art Madrid, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Hello Pawel,

Thank you so much for staying with us. We are so glad to accommodate you. Our aim was to give the best service and accommodation to our guest. During your stay, I was not able to attend you since I work in the morning shift and luckily the next day you checked out early. Regarding the breakfast we actually works with two cafe bars, Cafe y Tapas and Cafe del Patio. In Cafe y Tapas they opens at 8AM so you can have your breakfast earlier and with the Cafe del Patio they opens at 8:45AM else you can also have an option of having a breakfast in nearby bars who opens earlier.

We deeply apologize with the inconveniece your exprienced during your stay. Your feedbacks would be a great help to the company for improvement.

Cordially yours,


Maria Concepcion Estrada Madrigal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varazdin, Croatia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The hostel is simply great! The staff was extremely friendly, there was no linguistic barrier and they were very professional...on the first day the receptionist even took me to the room, showed me around, explained the central heating etc.
The room is very good, nice bed, large and comfortable. Be sure to ask for a quiet room (just as I did) because it overlooks the inner side of the building and there is absolutety no noise from the outside.
The hostel has a great location, 2 minutes from the metro and some 5 minutes from Puerta del Sol. Plus, there are a lot of places to have breakfast or lunch in the area, and the hostel as such is locked permanently, so you get a key to the main entrance when you check in...gives a very safe feeling.
Excellent value for money, I'll definitely return there!

Room Tip: Ask for an inner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hostalartmadrid, Director de Recepción at Hostal Art Madrid, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Sirs,

Thank you so much for your excellent feedback to Hostal ART Madrid. We are gratefull in choosing to stay with us. It is our main goal to be of service and deliver the best accommodation to our guest. Whenever you wish to come to Madrid, your home is open for you... Hostal ART Madrid! We will be glad to serve you...

Respectfully yours,

Maria Concepcion Estrada Madrigal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We found this hotel on the web and I love that moment as I saw.Comfortable,lovely and safety! Location is perfect!! it was so central only a few minutes walk to Plaza Mayor, SOL, etc.

Only 1 thing disturbed to us.The toilet was very noisy.I didn't why but sometimes we wake up and said at night ,"what is that noise?" we didn' tell to reception for this problem.we loved our room.

All staff didn't speak English very well but it didn't a problem for me because I did a lots of practice for my Spanish! :)) I would highly recommend the Hostal Art.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hostalartmadrid, Director de Recepción at Hostal Art Madrid, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you so much for your feedback. The management has already resolved the problem with the bathroom. We would appreciate if you would let the hostel regarding the problem as soon as possible so that we can do something. However, it has been checked by the maintenance. We deeply apologize for the inconvenience. The hostel has a bilingual employee to deliver the best service to you.

We will be glad to accommodate you for your next visit!

Kind regards,

Maria Concepcion Estrada Madrigal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

Stayed there in may overnight got flu same night due to unpleasant smell.very disturbing night.ever since suffering from frequent episodes of flu .wish never stayed there........if u can find a better hostal then u r better off instead.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hostalartmadrid, Director de Recepción at Hostal Art Madrid, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Sir,

We are sorry to hear with your bad experience in our hostel. We really wonder how does the hostel´s smell has made you sick, this is the first case that a guest got sick because of the hostel´s smell. The management has investigated this problem, we have advised our collegues to minimize the use of air freshener. This is the only thing that we can do to avoid the problem. If you have any suggestion, the hostel is open to hear from you as we would like to give the best service to our client.

We hope you are feeling better... We are deeply sorry for your experience with us.

Cordially yours,

Maria Concepcion Estrada Madrigal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal Art Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Art Madrid

Address: Conde de Romanones 9, 2 piso, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 238 B&Bs / Inns in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Art Madrid 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hostal Art Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Art Madrid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.