We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chocolat & Churros” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chocolat

Chocolat
Santa Maria, 30, 28014 Madrid, Spain (Centro)
914294565
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #92 of 6,858 Restaurants in Madrid
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Neighborhood: Centro
Description: A lovely chocolateria, for chocolate and churros, and similar things.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Chocolat & Churros”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

A cozy place for a quick real hot chocolate and churros break. Very friendly staff that can communicate in English.
Good thick-chocolate. You dip the churros in the chocolate. You lick your fingers when it’s all over.
Word of caution: don’t be tempted for the special chocolate with cream – too sweet.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    28
    13
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Porto, Portugal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Amazing churros and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We were tempted to go to another churrería because it was well known, but since we already know that just because one place is known for its food doesn't mean it's the best, we decided to look for alternatives and ended up finding this one on a random post somewhere on the internet. Given the reviews I found here, we decided we had to go there just after we arrived in Madrid to have a decent breakfast.
The place is small, but very central (just take Paseo del Prado for a while and then take a left if you come from Atocha). The most amazing thing about that place... well, I'm still undecided, since the amazing service and the mouthwatering churros con chocolat are about even.
When we got there, the place was empty, but soon it was really crowded with both tourists and locals, but that didn't stop the staff from greating everyone and offering some complimentary pastries and getting the food to everyone on time.
About that food: we only tried the churros con chocolat, the Pakistani (or something resembling the word Pakistani) tea and the expresso, and all of them were amazing, even the expresso, which is actually hard to find around Spain. The churros were really tasty, crunchy with a soft center, not too oily and the portion was really large. The chocolat isn't too sweet, which I generally find a turnoff, but the cup was so big it ended up being the right amount of sweet and creamy goodness to dunk your churro.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Churros con chocolat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Went there on the last day of our vacation. This review is written by my 10 year old

Best churros con chocolat I have ever seen. Very generous staff. I even got on the house cookies and other miniature bakery treats. The churros were the highlight of the visit. Fresh, hot churros and delicious chocolate. Awesome place

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

My wife and I arrived with 2 big backpacks, the place is very small and cosy but the staff were really accommodating helping move the bags. Very friendly atmosphere and really quick service, our food was on our table minutes after ordering and tasted delicious. Thank you.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Axbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Chocolate!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

Great cake, even better hot chocolate! Deffinately worth a stop on a cold day if you're in the area. Very nice (English speaking) staff :)

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Chocolat also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to Chocolat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chocolat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.