We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not quite 4 star” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Madrid Santo Domingo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Madrid Santo Domingo to your Saves list
Mercure Madrid Santo Domingo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ San Bernardo 1, 28013 Madrid, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #292 of 457 Hotels in Madrid
Madliena, Malta
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“not quite 4 star”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for a long weekend. The room itself was rather small. Generally, hotel needs refurbishment and is not quite 4 star quality but location was very good / breakfast offering was decent.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    509
    342
    167
    84
See reviews for
204
573
121
230
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

my friend and i stayed at the mecure santo domingo last weekend and found the hotel a great place to stay. it has a central location and the metro is just next to it. staff were friendly and room was spotless clean. our only fault was hot breakfast items were not very warm.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Stayed in the Mecure Santo Domingo for 3 nights. Rooms were clean and comfortable if a little small. Breakfast was superb, didn't use the hotel for evening meals. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Hotel is situated in the theatre district and the metro is nearby, very useful for getting about with a tourist ticket. Loved Madrid!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portugal
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Just got back from a one week business trip in Spain in which I did get to stay at Santo Domingo. I have stayed here many times before and some stays have been good experiences but there have been very bad ones. On this stay, I really did have to wake up very early so I did expect to be sleeping way before midnight but the music and dancing upstairs prevented that until 1:30am. I am usually quite tolerant regarding such situations but it was so loud that this was the first time that I phoned and complained about it to the reception. Reception did try to resolve the situation but none of the alternatives were satisfactory to me. I think it will most likely be my last stay at the hotel and it is a shame since it is very well located.

Rooms are OK and breakfast is also good. If you choose to stay at this hotel do make sure you stay in rooms within the new alley (I think they classify them as "superior rooms").

Room Tip: Rooms are OK but do choose the "superior rooms" (I've stayed in them before and would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aveiro, Portugal
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

This is the second time they put me in a room where I'm not able to open my suitcase. This is a four stars hotel, but they have to separated wings. The old wing, is the worst place wou can stay in madrid. No views (you open the window and find a backyard...), no way to control the climate (the room was over heated...) and the last, but not the least, they allow someone on the top floor to make one party with people singing, dancing and making noise till 01 AM. The staff was complely unable to stop the party, but were kind when I call them...
If you choose to stay in this hotel, never stay in the old wing. Never...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntonioNunez, Director de Marketing at Mercure Madrid Santo Domingo, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at Mercure Madrid Santo Domingo. We are sorry to hear that the room size was not suitable for you. We recommend you to book a superior or corner room next time.
We would like to apologize for not achieve your expectations.
I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Best regards,
Antonio Núñez
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

On arrival, we were warmly greeted by the check-in staff, who spoke good English & was warm, friendly & helpful. She was more then happy to answer all our questions and gave us lots of tips on where to go and where to eat as well as places to see.

The hotel itself was very clean and well-located ... we were spoilt for choice when it comes to food & shopping.

The only tiny hiccup was that one of the rooms assigned to us was small & rather cramped. However, since we only stayed there for one night, we decided not to complain.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntonioNunez, Director de Marketing at Mercure Madrid Santo Domingo, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your kind comments.
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards,
Antonio Núñez
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Madrid Santo Domingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Madrid Santo Domingo

Address: C/ San Bernardo 1, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#156 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Madrid Santo Domingo 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, ACCOR, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Madrid Santo Domingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Madrid Santo Domingo Hotel Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Madrid Santo Domingo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.