We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel is a russian roulette” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Be Live City Center Madrid Santo Domingo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Be Live City Center Madrid Santo Domingo to your Saves list
Be Live City Center Madrid Santo Domingo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ San Bernardo 1, 28013 Madrid, Spain (Formerly Mercure Madrid Santo Domingo) (Centro)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #287 of 453 Hotels in Madrid
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“This hotel is a russian roulette”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights in July. It was my 3th visit to this wonderful city! When reading reviews i was ready to be accomodated in old part, so of course it happened. My friend checked in a day earlier into single room, and he was totally shocked. It wad a wardrobe instead of room, with paint falling from ceiling, with no wi-wi and awful smell. Next day he moved into my room, although it was in old part it was better. After i asked if i can change for new part, receptionist told its not possible because new part have no Standard rooms, only Superior. Well what could i do. I asked to show me another room, because first was awful even in colours, black with red colours everywhere, not comfortable. And room itself was old. I was showed another room but it was so small that i decided not to change. Next morning after breakfast i tried again to change my room for other 3 nights, this time again i was told its impossible, but after couple of minutes talk he asked if our luggage ready to move right now, i told yes and finally he changed it! New part room was even smaller, but quite new and clean! Walk in shower was very good! What is really amazing about this hotel is rooftop pool! Of course overcrowded but this Mercure is the only hotel with open pool in this area! Great opportunity to have sunbath and swim in city center! Location is also great! Last time i stayed on Gran Via just 5 min walk from Mercure. Metro entrance is 10 meters from hotel. Breakfast was ok, everything you need to start a day. I wouldnt recommend hotel until full renovation, because its a russian roulette, you can get new room and will be satisfied, at the same time yoy can be disappointed. I had a great deal, for that price incl. breakfast and pool!! i am more than satisfied, but usually this Mercure is not really cheap! So all in all possible to stay, but if you find a good deal. Be ready for old smelly room.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntonioNunez, Director de Marketing at Be Live City Center Madrid Santo Domingo, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your stay at Mercure Madrid Santo Domingo.
We have completed the renovation of our rooms, there are some pending detail but overall works have been completed.
We hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Best regards,
Antonio Núñez Pardo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    541
    357
    172
    88
See reviews for
206
608
122
246
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed at this Hotel for two nights in December for a city break. We were three couples staying on a bed and breakfast basis. Very clean, Very Warm (To Warm) had to sleep with window open. Staff were polite and friendly. The Breakfast was amazing. Plenty of it, the fresh orange juice was the freshest I have ever tasted in a Hotel. Very central within walking distance of all attractions. Don't hire a taxi the traffic in madrid is manic. Jump on the metro cheap quick and easy. BE AWARE OF EASTERN EUROPEAN PICK POCKETS.

Room Tip: We stayed at the rear of the Hotel as we booked our trip as a city break package. Nicer rooms at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntonioNunez, Director de Marketing at Be Live City Center Madrid Santo Domingo, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear guest,
First of all thank you very much for staying with us and write a review about your stay at Mercure Madrid Santo Domingo.
We appreciate your kind words and we hope see you again in a near future.
Best regards,
Antonio Núñez Pardo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We found the position excellent for sightseeing, with the Royal Palace and Opera being just a few moments away.
The main shops were also moments away.
The room was a little small but very comfortable, the breakfast selection was 1st class, great staff
always happy to help with a genuine smile.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntonioNunez, Director de Marketing at Be Live City Center Madrid Santo Domingo, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your comment.

We are very happy that you had a nice stay with us and we hope to see you again in a near future.

Best regards,
Antonio Núñez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

The reviews for this hotel had been good but during the few weeks prior to our visit, there had been some negative comments and therefore it was with a little apprehension that we embarked upon our stay, However, all our fears were groundless. Our room was extremely comfortable with electically adjustable beds and the bathroom was modern and very clean. Breakfast was more than adequate but it is the helpfulness of the staff that particularly deserves a mention: nothing was too much trouble for them. They willingly re-confirmed our airport transfer and shared our concern when it did not arrive on time, contacting the comapny on several occasions. Our transport did eventually arrive but if it had been delayed 5 minutes longer, reception were prepared to arrange and pay for a local taxi for us. What excelent customer service!

Room Tip: E mail hotel prior to your stay with your requirements and they will do their best to accommodate yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntonioNunez, Director de Marketing at Be Live City Center Madrid Santo Domingo, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your comment and your recommendation.

We are very happy that you liked our hotel but particulary that you enjoyed the service our staff have provided.

It will be a real pleasure for us to host you in our hotel again.

Best regards,
Antonio Núñez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Great location, opposite Metro station. The rate for the quality was good value and staff all genuine smiles and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable but small windows, not much natural light. Only issue was relative late start for breakfast at 7am, as a business traveller, it needs to be earlier. I went down at 6.45am and there was a queue of slightly frustrated guests. Having said that, the hot and cold breakfast selection was worth the wait.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntonioNunez, Director de Marketing at Be Live City Center Madrid Santo Domingo, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear guest,

First of all thank you very much for staying with us and for your review about your stay at Mercure Madrid Santo Domingo.

Please make sure that your comments about breakfast have been passed onto the appropiate department to be valued.

We hope to see you again in a near future.

Best regards,
Antonio Núñez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This hotel is great for its location, it's very central in Madrid. The rooms are nicely decorated, small but functional. Only missing thing is slippers, take your slippers with you :)
Cleaning service was good and all receptionists speak English very well and they are kind.
Definitely recommended.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntonioNunez, Director de Marketing at Be Live City Center Madrid Santo Domingo, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your time to write a review about your stay with us.

We appreciate your kind words and recommendation.

We look forward to host you again.

Best regards,
Antonio Núñez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Be Live City Center Madrid Santo Domingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Be Live City Center Madrid Santo Domingo

Address: C/ San Bernardo 1, 28013 Madrid, Spain (Formerly Mercure Madrid Santo Domingo)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#160 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Be Live City Center Madrid Santo Domingo 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Be Live City Center Madrid Santo Domingo enjoys a privileged location in the touristic and commercial center of Madrid. One of its highlights are the 200 themed rooms, with wall paintings by emerging artists, the unmistakable hall, with vaults of porcelain and gold leaf, and the public car park, decorated with evocative and magical scenes. More than 1200 m2 with natural light to family celebrations and corporate events. Swimming pool on the rooftop terrace (only opened during summer months) offers the best view of the very heart of Madrid. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Be Live City Center Madrid Santo Domingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Madrid Santo Domingo Hotel Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Be Live City Center Madrid Santo Domingo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.