We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of JC Rooms Puerta del Sol

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added JC Rooms Puerta del Sol to your Saves list
JC Rooms Puerta del Sol
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Calle de la Flora, 4, 28013 Madrid, Spain (Centro)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 240 Madrid B&B and Inns
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Puerta de Sol Rooms for four nights in July 2013. It was comfortable and had air conditioning, which was welcome in the middle of summer! We were a bit disappointed that the double bed was two singles pushed together and the breakfast was underwhelming (cereal and some cured meats/ cheese with bread rolls) but the location was fantastic. Right in the heart of Madrid next to night life and shops. Very easy to get around on foot and it wasn't noisy - wonderful considering where it's situated! I'd happily go back there again, I imagine it would be nice to stay in if one was traveling with a group of friends but it was fine for a couple, too.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    76
    29
    12
    10
See reviews for
30
78
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

A terrific hotel in the heart of Madrid. We had a perfect room, with an en-suite bathroom complete with an incredible fancy shower, and all the nice free toiletries, towels etc.
The room whilst not huge was comfortable sized, there was a computer provided, free wi-fi, a free stocked mini bar, air conditioning and a TV. Also, it was far more attractively decorated than anywhere I've stayed for similar prices.
Best of all the hotel was immaculately clean and at all days of day and night remained quiet.
Plus, after checkout they provided secure left luggage facilities for 24 hours.

Room Tip: We stayed on the ground floor which is below street level, this meant it was extra quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed two nights in Madrid and loved it. I hope tobe back because there is so much to see and do both during the day and evening. We were able to visit most of the top tourist sites and historical places.
The JC is a recently renovated and newly opened hotel right in the center of the city. We easily walked to all places and felt very safe. The room we stayed in was small but comfortable. All rooms are named after a country and the picture decor reflected this. The shower is fabulous, they have a PC in the room which I did not use as I travel with my iPad. We had two balcony doors which allowed us to look onto a small plaza but did not seem to be noisy at night. The staff was very friendly and provided all information about the city that we needed. We were able to communicate in Spanish but they also spoke English .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Western Australia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

I booked this hotel on line relying on line and regret this decision. Over the past 6 weeks I have stayed in a total of 27 hotels and this place rates in the bottom 3 - 4. The location is fabulous and staff really helpful but it is downhill from there on. The room is below ground level with a window looking into a vacant area with one dead plant and rubbish. The room is really small. If you are at all claustrophobic DO NOT stay here. It will do your head in. The decor is interesting - some may call it funky. Each to their own.
The bathroom is minute and I mean really small. About the size of my suitcase. Towels paper thin. Sheets on bed grey and very thin with several holes. I walked around bare footed and you could see how dirty.
OK it is cheap but really for what they charge I expected better. It really is only 2 stars and that is being kind. It is one step up from back packers accommodation and there you would pay a third of what this place charges. Sorry I cant say anything positive. There are so many other places in the same location where if you pay $20 more you will get something much better. Or alternatively book into a hostel or back packers hotel and save some money. Wish I had !

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cville, VA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Our stay of three nights at JC Rooms was 3.5 stars, but having to round, it's a 3. It's location is ideal, less than five minutes to Puerta Del Sol and close to Opera and Sol metro stops. We walked everywhere in central Madrid, even Prado and Sofia (metro is 1.5 euro one way). It's modern and clean, has AC, isn't on a main drag, and kinda has wifi. We would have gone with a five if it weren't from the following, but keep in mind that we would stay there again given the price, location, firm bed, AC...

There's a computer in each room, but it's not hard wired in. The wifi is weak away from the reception, so it was 10 minutes on, 10 minutes off. Same with other devices, but the speed at the reception area was fine.

The shower leaks on the floor (as mentioned in other reviews), and the trim is swollen around the door, there's even some swollen flooring outside the bathroom. For a clean shower with good water pressure and piping hot water, this is easily overlooked, it's just surprising it's not a priority for them.

This is the one we found annoying. The breakfast vouchers cost 5 euro, but they are only worth 3 euro at the restaurant. If you want anything more than a coffee and croissant OR mini-sandwich, you pay extra. We were given a different menu after showing the voucher, but then we requested our vouchers back and ordered off the regular menu. There are plenty of cafes around, nothing special about their partner in crime.

The rooms are named after all the plazas, we requested a quiet room and were on the inside of the building. There's cool pics from around Madrid in each room and in the hallways. It's non-smoking but you would smell smoke occasionally. The rooms are cozy.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I chose to stay here based on the positive comments here & found out they were right! This is a very good value for what you good. The location is fantastic, yet quiet & safe. I was there to visit the Teatro Real, which is a 5 min. walk away. Palacio Real not much farther. Corte Ingles for shopping 5 min. in the other direction. Rooms are clean & modern, front desk personnel very helpful and friendly. Nice bathroom with a very fancy shower with all sorts of options! TV in the room and delighted to discover not only wifi, but also a computer in the room! Internet service slow, & I could have used an extra blanket which I couldn't find anywhere, but those are my only complaints. This is a VERY good value for Madrid. Not fancy, but clean, modern, safe, comfortable in an excellent location, with an great staff. Highly recommended for budget travelers!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

This is not really a hotel, but more like a motel or hostel. There is no lobby, just a small front desk area with a vending machine. Staff is nice and helpful. The hallways are very, very narrow. Literally, about 3 ft across. My room was very small, about the size of a small dorm room but clean and well stocked. This is a place to stay if you want a cheap, clean, safe place with a bed and bathroom as there are no amenities or services. The iron was "lost" when I asked for it, but not a big deal. Convenient location just a block from the Opera (line 2) Metro exit. Hotel is hard to find as it's down a side street, so ask hotel staff before you roam around the city looking for it, like I did. Overall a good place, but nothing to write home about. Stay here if you want to spend you money on attractions and souveniers rather than a hotel.

Room Tip: Very small rooms with paper thin walls. Clean. Small fridge stocked daily with free water, soda and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JC Rooms Puerta del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JC Rooms Puerta del Sol

Address: Calle de la Flora, 4, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 240 B&Bs / Inns in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — JC Rooms Puerta del Sol 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JC Rooms Puerta del Sol, offers to you thematics rooms, making yourself feel like you were in the emblematic monuments of the downtown of Madrid, located close to the Gate of the sun. Each room has a unique design to surprise you , also with the price! Stay in JC Rooms Puerta del Sol and know Madrid with the free walking tour that we are happy to offer to you! Keep in touch with your friends with the wifi in the rooms and also using the pc you could find in your room. Enjoy the minibar with daily replacement of drinks! For all of this stay in JC Rooms Puerta del Sol! It will be a pleasure to know you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers and Hotels.com so you can book your JC Rooms Puerta del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jc Rooms Puerta Del Sol Hotel Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JC Rooms Puerta del Sol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.