We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bad choice” 3 of 5 stars
Review of AC Hotel Atocha by Marriott

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added AC Hotel Atocha by Marriott to your Saves list
AC Hotel Atocha by Marriott
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Delicias, 42, 28045 Madrid, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #185 of 455 Hotels in Madrid
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“bad choice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Three stars is probably too generous, but the hotel wasn't soooo bad.... Just...

My Spanish friend picked me up here and he agreed rather vocally when I said 'What a dump'.

Inattentive staff - with some exceptions - and poor food, uncomfortable room in a real non-neighborhood. (By 'inattentive staff' I mean that I had to get up repeatedly to FIND staff, even in the lobby). Of course I can imagine it might be a useful choice; I was not on a business trip so I am not evaluating it on that basis. Still..... bad staff and imperfect wifi combined with bad room and dull location..... So many better options for a traveler - I was foolish to expect more, perhaps.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    165
    60
    10
    8
See reviews for
32
158
30
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hugo, Minnesota
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My wife and I stayed four nights at the Madrid AC Atocha hotel in May, primarily because we wanted to use up some Marriott points and because it is located 5-10 minutes from the AC Atocha train station and we were arriving at Atocha from Cordoba. The AC location is also good if one is going to take the train from Atocha to Toledo., which we later did. However, as some other reviewers have pointed out, AC Atocha is not in the best location as far as proximity to the main sites in Madrid nor are there good dining restaurants in the neighborhood. About the only sight that is within a 10-13 minute walk of AC Atocha is the Reina Sofia art museum (Starbucks nearby the museum). We used taxis to get to sites because they are hundreds around town and it was fairly reasonable.
We did not have the negative experiences that some recent posts describe, but we did feel that Marriot should address a few things, primarily the responsiveness of the front desk staff. When we arrived, the gentleman at the front desk was courteous, but seemed distracted or stressed, and when we later asked about calling a taxi, he said we would end up waiting for 15 minutes if a taxi were called and that we should just walk up to the train station to get a taxi. Well it takes almost 15 minutes to walk up to the train station which we did because it was a nice afternoon, but the whole time we were walking, we questioned the accuracy about the wait time. The next day there was a woman at the front desk. We asked her to call a taxi and it was evident that she did not want to be bothered calling a taxi and seemed “put out” that we asked and gave us the same lingo of “waiting 15 minutes”. I said firmly, ‘Please call us a taxi.” The taxi arrived in less than 5 minutes.
We also feel that another thing Marriott should address is the breakfast at this AC hotel. It was pretty basic and boring after 4 days and not worth 15.40 Euros each. Unfortunately, there were no neighborhood restaurants serving American style breakfasts. We did not eat evening dinner at the hotel restaurant, so cannot comment on it.
Some reviewers have described the confusion of finding their rooms especially if you are in the second building. I can identify somewhat with that because we were in the second building and the first time it took a few moments to figure it out how to use the elevator and how to get to the second building. However, I enjoy figuring things out so was not bothered by that. We have traveled in Europe a number of times, and go expecting to encounter challenges to what we are used to. When something unusual happens, we have learned to say, “Well isn’t that interesting!” It would help if the front staff provided a type of map or written explanations of what to do, but only brief verbal directions were given.
One positive note about the gentleman at the front desk occurred when we asked to change rooms after the first night. Our room (in the second building) faced the street, and it was noisy, primarily because there was a restaurant outside right below our third floor room. He was very nice and said that yes, we could have a room that faced the courtyard. So the next three nights were very quiet. As has been pointed out, the rooms have a very modern, chic design (mostly black). The hallways from the elevator to your room are dark because the walls are black, as are several areas in the room. It would have helped if there had been good lighting in the room, especially over the sink. As I am trying to shave, I say, “What were they thinking” , but then I calm down and say my usual, “Well isn’t that interesting.” Having a shower with glass walls almost in the middle of the room is also “interesting”.
If I had not been using Marriott points for our four nights, I probably would have considered a different hotel, primarily because the disadvantages of this AC hotel location outweigh the advantages of this location. I was certainly ok with using Marriott points and I was not expecting that an AC hotel would compare to regular Marriott’s.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati OH
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Checked in for two nights with Marriott points. The hotel is contained in two different buildings so it is a bit confusing getting from the front desk elevators to the rooms. Floors are different level numbers depending on the building, so you have to remember that in one building the walkway is on 0, and in another the ground level is -1. Room layout is a bit odd - the shower is floating in the room. There is very little carpet or window treatments so the rooms and hallways are quite loud. The doors to other rooms slam and echo down the halls so it is not a restful place. The "free" wifi is only accessible when sitting in front of their front desk. And the staff was not at all welcoming nor friendly.
After we were pickpocketed, the staff gave no support or help. They seemed to assume that it was our fault and that we were stupid tourists. We had to use our room phone to cancel credit cards and contact the embassy. The credit card companies were "collect calls" and if not, they immediately called us back in our room. What a surprise upon check out, to find a 52 euro charge on our room for phone calls. When we asked, the clerk shrugged and said the charges were explained in the phone calling folder (located in our room). When asked about incoming calls, they said the per minute charges were the same.
We also needed to print out boarding passes for a flight. There is NO business center (although their info lists this). When we questioned the staff, they said we needed to email our boarding passes to them and they would print them for us. After a half hour of trying to save the boarding pass as a pdf file on my ipad and email it (with no success), I asked the clerk if she could just access the website and print them out for us. This big favor took a trip to her manager to see if she could do this. Luckily she was given permission.
Even before our pickpocket experience, the hotel would not have received a glowing review. It is incredibly loud with a confusing layout. After being robbed, their attitude just added insult to injury. My next action after writing this review is to contact Marriott about their questionable association with this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night on our way back to the States after a week in Spain. We immediately regretted our decision. While it is close to the train station, the NH Sur is a much more convenient walk, directly across from the main entrance. Not to mention there is almost nothing in terms of restaurants in the vicinity.

Once we checked in, our room was trendy and small, which would have been acceptable if not for all the issues I shall mention!

1) our phone didn't work. So to order room service (after walking around outside, we came back to the hotel and decided to just eat in the room and watch tv - had to leave at 7am the next am for our flight). We had to go down to the front desk, tell them our phone didn't work. To which she said, you must press 9. We are both doctors, I think we can tell when our phone doesn't work. So she ordered the food for us from the front desk and never sent anyone to fix our phone. No room service menu in our room either. Food was not good either.

2) not a single English Channel on tv. Not even BBC or Bloomberg. So we decided to pay the ridiculous 12€ for in room Internet - which was the slowest Internet we had in Spain. And that is including the majority of the hotels where it is free. On top of that, it's only for one device!! Get with the times Marriott.

3) the AC didn't work for the majority of the night. And we couldn't call the front desk because our phone didn't work. All of a sudden, sometime in the middle of the night, it decided to turn on.

4) annoying sounds all night - beeping, doors slamming, elevators closing. Rooms not sound proof at all!

We chose this hotel because of name recognition. Big mistake. Disappointing experience with Marriott. There is a reason we are SPG gold members.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Really nice comfortable hotel but a little expensive compared to some other outside main city hotels on offer. Free wifi in public areas but they wanted to charge for it in your room. In this day and age most hotels offer free wifi all over the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 15 consecutive nights for business. The hotel is conveniently located next to the Atocha train station and a 10-15 min walk to several attractions including museums and Parque del Retiro. The hotel's design was too contemporary for my taste. Very dark decor throughout. The room was a good size for European standards. There was no iron, ironing board or coffee in the rooms. Again, this is more of a European theme. The fitness room is not worth visiting. If you like to run, Parque del Retiro is a great place to run about 1/2 mile away.

As a long-time Marriott Platinum guest, I was disappointed I did not seem to derive any benefits from this status other than free in-room internet (wifi). There was no room upgrade available (seemingly). The breakfast buffet was not comped or included (overpriced, see below). Everything was charged including bottles water which I normally get for free.

The breakfast buffet was simply not worth the price (15 euros) as it really is a continental breakfast with no hot food served (no eggs) and mostly consisted of cold cuts and breads. Unfortunately, the hotel is not conveniently located where you can step out and grab breakfast without walking 10-15 minutes. I chose to pass on the buffet and go to Dunkin Donuts after walking 20 minutes to the office in the center of old Madrid (Calle Huertas). The hotel food was good with room service delivered in about 20-25 minutes. Food is also served in the hotel lobby and it is normally quite without a lot of people dining. There is also a decent outdoor patio area where you can dine or have drinks.

Service was good but not great. Restaurant employees were pleasant and helpful.

In summary, I recommend this hotel if you are in town for pleasure and are looking for a good value and easy access to train station and a short walk to the museums.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Stayed here en route back to a Channel port after a holiday in Spain. Arrived at about 4pm on a Sat with only one night's stay in which to explore Madrid for the first time. Managed to walk to Palacio Real and back via Calle Atocha, Gran Via and Paseo del Prado and have dinner, all without rushing, and in bed by 10pm. Room was spotless and quiet in the 2nd building through the garden - a little hard to find, but certainly not a block and a half away as suggested elsewhere. Decor is austere/modern and the shower cube is certainly unusual, but no big deal for a married couple! Rather too many hard edges to negotiate in the dark when seeking the bathroom in the middle of the night without waking a partner. More annoying was the light in the toilet which switched on with a motion detector, but off again after only 20 secs. Waving something appropriate restored illumination! Breakfast buffet is better than average. All staff were friendly. Not easy to drive to from the south, but nothing in central Madrid would be, However departing to the north straight up the Paseo (on a Sunday) was a doddle. Would definitely stay here again and probably will as have both fallen in love with Madrid.

Room Tip: No street noise in 6th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AC Hotel Atocha by Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel Atocha by Marriott

Address: Calle Delicias, 42, 28045 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #185 of 455 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — AC Hotel Atocha by Marriott 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Marriott, Otel, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your AC Hotel Atocha by Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AC Hotel Atocha by Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.