We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not your typical Marriott but decent value...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of AC Hotel Atocha by Marriott

Save Saved
You added AC Hotel Atocha by Marriott to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
AC Hotel Atocha by Marriott
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Delicias, 42, 28045 Madrid, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #135 of 456 hotels in Madrid
Cumming, Georgia
1 review
“Not your typical Marriott but decent value...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 15 consecutive nights for business. The hotel is conveniently located next to the Atocha train station and a 10-15 min walk to several attractions including museums and Parque del Retiro. The hotel's design was too contemporary for my taste. Very dark decor throughout. The room was a good size for European standards. There was no iron, ironing board or coffee in the rooms. Again, this is more of a European theme. The fitness room is not worth visiting. If you like to run, Parque del Retiro is a great place to run about 1/2 mile away.

As a long-time Marriott Platinum guest, I was disappointed I did not seem to derive any benefits from this status other than free in-room internet (wifi). There was no room upgrade available (seemingly). The breakfast buffet was not comped or included (overpriced, see below). Everything was charged including bottles water which I normally get for free.

The breakfast buffet was simply not worth the price (15 euros) as it really is a continental breakfast with no hot food served (no eggs) and mostly consisted of cold cuts and breads. Unfortunately, the hotel is not conveniently located where you can step out and grab breakfast without walking 10-15 minutes. I chose to pass on the buffet and go to Dunkin Donuts after walking 20 minutes to the office in the center of old Madrid (Calle Huertas). The hotel food was good with room service delivered in about 20-25 minutes. Food is also served in the hotel lobby and it is normally quite without a lot of people dining. There is also a decent outdoor patio area where you can dine or have drinks.

Service was good but not great. Restaurant employees were pleasant and helpful.

In summary, I recommend this hotel if you are in town for pleasure and are looking for a good value and easy access to train station and a short walk to the museums.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    91
    145
    42
    4
    6
See reviews for
26
123
27
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Stayed here en route back to a Channel port after a holiday in Spain. Arrived at about 4pm on a Sat with only one night's stay in which to explore Madrid for the first time. Managed to walk to Palacio Real and back via Calle Atocha, Gran Via and Paseo del Prado and have dinner, all without rushing, and in bed by 10pm. Room was spotless and quiet in the 2nd building through the garden - a little hard to find, but certainly not a block and a half away as suggested elsewhere. Decor is austere/modern and the shower cube is certainly unusual, but no big deal for a married couple! Rather too many hard edges to negotiate in the dark when seeking the bathroom in the middle of the night without waking a partner. More annoying was the light in the toilet which switched on with a motion detector, but off again after only 20 secs. Waving something appropriate restored illumination! Breakfast buffet is better than average. All staff were friendly. Not easy to drive to from the south, but nothing in central Madrid would be, However departing to the north straight up the Paseo (on a Sunday) was a doddle. Would definitely stay here again and probably will as have both fallen in love with Madrid.

Room Tip: No street noise in 6th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I stayed here for one night on business. The rooms are of a very modern and contemporary design with see through shower "cubes". Personally I think these are very cool and the layout works well. It is true that some people would not like the idea of a glass shower cube so be warned.

My room was spotlessly clean and of a good size. Nice big flatscreen TV with lots of premium channels. I used room service for a light lunch and it was the fastest I have ever encountered!

I tried the restaurant in the evening and the food was good and the wine was ridiculously cheap. I ordered what I thought was the price for a glass of a premium Reserva Rioja and actually got a whole bottle!

My only niggle came at breakfast the next morning. They stop serving at 10:00am. I arrived at 09:50 and was immediately told that they were about to stop service (I said no problem). As it consists of a cold buffet I thought they were being somewhat over zealous in their clearing away which commenced before 10:00am. I managed to get what I wanted though although getting a few dirty looks from the restaurant supervisor in the process. Definitely not someone that should be employed in a customer facing role!

I would return and given its proximity to the metro it would be a good place to explore Madrid from if you wanted good quality rooms without paying more for a more central location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights on business, pleasant hotel with very modern rooms. The shower in the room is quite a feature as it is glass cubicle towards the centre of the room! I had a room on the first floor which was quite noisy due to the hotel mid town location. The bar area is adequate and the food is nothing special

Room Tip: avoid low floor rooms as can be noisy. 109 seems to be right above car park/goods yard entrance and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

This is a nice hotel if you want to be near the train station. A good location if you need to get around the Madrid area. I was there for business for two days and this was very convenient. Typical breakfast and lounge area. Clean and equipt. Would stay again. If on holiday, I would likely choose a more central hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainview, New York
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Stayed there for 3 nights while attending a conference. The rooms were small but adequate for me. The bathrooms were modern with a nice shower and amenities. The bed was very comfortable. The hotel staff was helpful and very courteous. WiFi was charged in the room, but free in the hotel/bar area. Breakfast was fine, but not available until 8 AM on Sunday so if you have an early flight, you will miss breakfast. The hotel is located near the train station if you need to go to another city, but is far from the center of Madrid. Taxis are readily available to take you to the Prado museum (not too far at all). I would go back, but if I wanted to be more centrally located, then I would go to another place. There are several typical bars and restaurants in the immediate area. There was some noise from the hallways and elevator opening & closing.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the more central areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Excellent location, close to El Prado and Reina Sofia museums as well to El Retiro Park. Close to the Atocha station for either train or metro transfers. The AC chain in Europe is a Marriot affiliated chain. Room are spacious and clean and the bathrooms are ultra modern. The property is well kept and provides a full breakfast for Euro 15 per person is one so desires. Parking is available. I had a car and to head south towards Toledo on a day trip was a snap. Easy walking distance to Puerta del Sol, Plaza Mayor and Palacio Real. I will come back

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to AC Hotel Atocha by Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel Atocha by Marriott

Address: Calle Delicias, 42, 28045 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #135 of 456 hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — AC Hotel Atocha by Marriott 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, getaroom.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your AC Hotel Atocha by Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AC Hotel Atocha by Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.