We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Location, Nice Service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Ivor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hostal Ivor to your Saves list
Hostal Ivor
1.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Arenal, 24, 28013 Madrid, Spain (Centro)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 238 Madrid B&B and Inns
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    36
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
31
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012 via mobile

The staff was excellent they had someone at the desk 24hrs very secure. We had to buzz ourselves in never had to wait for more than a minute someone always came and opened the door for us. It was so easily accessible to cafes, restaurants, the royal palace, Prado musueum. Great value for the price paid. The rooms were on the tinier side but it did not bother us, our room was street facing which can get noisy at nights or in the morning but it didn't seem to bother us.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

I stayed at Hostal Ivor at the beginning of May. Warmly welcomed by Andreas (you have to check in at Hostal Mayrit on the 3rd floor) who gave us a map and marked the locations of things to see and places to eat. Hotel is in a great location, only short walk from Opera metro station and 10-20 mins walk to most attractions. Room was clean and sufficent size for two people, had a fridge which was handy and a little balcony onto the main street which was a bit noisy even with the double-glazed door closed.

Only problem was that the wifi signal was so weak that it kept timing out page responses and going out of range. I spent an extremely frustating 40mins just trying to do a simple, but urgently necessary, action in an online banking website. I told Andreas of the problem - who said he had no issues and showed us the connection on his laptop, which of course was good as he was standing right in front of the wifi router, wasn't he?! - but it was not fixed over the two days we were there. Ivor is on the 2nd floor and Andreas said to try connecting to Hostal Mayrit's (the one he was connected to) but that connection was always out of range from the 2nd floor. Thus we were unable to let people know we arrived safely or do important things such as getting money so was quite disappointing as I always book accommodation with an internet connection so I can do so and I know it wasn't my device that was the problem as it worked fine with subsequent hostals and hotels.

If you don't need internet connection then I recommend Hostal Ivor, but if you do then I suggest you book instead at Hostal Mayrit upstairs (though I don't know what their rooms are like) or somewhere else.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

Stayed with husband and friend here for 3 nights in May 2012. Triple room consisted of double bed and single bed. Limited space but was clean and had good air conditioning. Friendly service and staff had adequate English. Free wifi and great value. Overall a very good stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

This was really a bargain the rooms are very clean and have all amenities flat screen TV, aircon, double bed. The location was superb you opened the main door and you were right in the heart of Madrid. The rooms where excellent value for money and the staff were very helpful. would definitely recommend and would choose this accommodation again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

I travelled here on a girls weekend. We chose this hotel for it very reasonable rates and central location, and it didn't disappoint on either. The rooms are relatively small but spotless and good value for the price paid. It suited our needs as we were only using the accommodation as a base. It was very easy to reach from the airport using the Metro. My only criticism, which is not the hotel's fault, was the noise from the street. Very loud, and relentless. The rooms have good double glazing which does help dampen the noise but not the ideal location for light sleepers. Asking for a room at the back may assist, but the views are not as good. If you pick this hotel then you will have to chose between a good sleep or a good view. I would still recommend it though for price, location and cleanliness.

Room Tip: If you want a good sleep don't ask for a room overlooking the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal Ivor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Ivor

Address: Arenal, 24, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 238 B&Bs / Inns in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hostal Ivor 1*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hostal Ivor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Ivor Hotel Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Ivor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.