We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bueno y Barato!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Museo del Jamon

Museo del Jamon
C/ Gran via 72, 28013 Madrid, Spain (Malasana)
91 531 45 50
Improve this listing
Ranked #467 of 7,173 Restaurants in Madrid
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Buffet, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Malasana
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Bueno y Barato!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Had breakfast there on a couple of occasions, it's very good and very cheap! Portions are sizable and the enough to keep you full till the late afternoon or even the evening. There are a few branches scattered around the city so you wouldn't miss it!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,878 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    647
    742
    311
    91
    87
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leysin, Vaud, Switzerland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Must try!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Great value of food and price you can find in the city center. The name said it all, this is the place where you can find all kind of Jamon. There is the Jamon bar where you can have a quick "refreshment" with Jamon, bread and a cup of beer. They also offer table service restaurant on second floor with various choice of food. Here you can find some typical Madrid dishes namely cocido madrileño (pork stew with beans, salami, potatoes, carrots) and garlic soup with big portion and good for share.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
“Loved the Museo de Jamon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

My wife and I discovered this place one morning, not too early, while taking a stroll around Plaza del Sol. After visiting the Museos Reina Sofia and Prado the previous day, we discovered a "Museo" very much to my liking. I had a bocadillo of ham and cheese, while my wife had a crossiant with ham to eat. To drink we both had cups of cafe con leche. The bill came to just 5.5 euros.
We loved the food and the price. It was a brief respite from the more expensive, touristy places we had been to in Madrid. We ate standing up admiring all of the different hams hanging from the ceiling, watching the people order from the deli, and occasionally out the window at the city coming to life outside.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“GREAT BREAKFAST”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

While the hotel we were staying in wanted 15 Euros each for breakfast, our family of 5 wandered into a Museo del Jamon looking for breakfast, and did we find it. There was the ubiquidous chocolate (thick as pudding), coffee/expresso, large chocolate crossants and other danish, as well as breakfast plates with ham, eggs, fries, as well as orange juice. The entire family ate a mixture of all of the above and did so for ~20 Euros total! Not a bad way to start the morning in Madiid with a brunch style breakfast.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Dont let the name throw ya off!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

This place rocks. We ordered 9 of the best one euro bocas in Spain. Belly up to the fun and noisey bar, grab a couple great food items. Yak with the locals. The counter behind you has the butchers slicing the kilogram piceces of cured ham gifts from god. This is heart and soul of spainish fast food. Good bread with a sliver of 1-3 year old jamon!! We ate a boat load and feasted on 1/2 dozen to go as we finished our tour of the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museo del Jamon also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to Museo del Jamon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museo del Jamon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.