We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and convenient” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Zamora

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hostal Zamora to your Saves list
Hostal Zamora
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plaza Vazquez de Mella, 1. 4 Izda., 28004 Madrid, Spain (Centro)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #78 of 458 Hotels in Madrid
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Warm and convenient”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The highlight was Jose, the guy at the desk. He went out of his way to help me through an airline ordeal: Once again Ibereia Airlines left my luggage behind and I had nothing with me upon check in. Jose showed me, on the computer, where to find what I needed and was willing to help in any way. The room was warm and clean and though right in the center of activity, it was very quiet. The price was good. I'm not exactly sure of the defiition of a hostal---but, I had a private room and bath. It was one floor in a building with other hostals on other floors. It is not a grand hotel but it had everything that I needed including wifi.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    50
    13
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
35
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I would welcome this hostal/hotel to anyone who is in Madrid to see the sights for a few nights.
The staff were welcoming, friendly and most helpful. The room was clean and tidy with a lovely veranda view of the plaza/square.
Above all, Hostal Zamora is ideally located. Within a ten minute walk you can get to most of the main tourist spots...Plaza Mayor, Plaza del Sol, Prado, Retiro Park and the Gran Via is just 400 metres.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Stayed here in July when rooms in Chueca can be hard to come by. The location was perfect, the staff was incredibly friendly, and the room was very clean. I booked several months in advance, but the single room wasn't available the last night of my stay. I asked to be switched to one if it became available and was impressed that they'd actually kept that notation on the books for all those months. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

The "hostal" is located on the top floor of an old building close to Madrid centre (Plaza Vazquez).
The room was clean with a small and nice private bathroom, perfect for a short stay in the city.
Most notably, there is free 24h wifi connection in every room.
A member of the staff is always at the reception, with the possibility to come back home late.
The staff is very kind and helpful.
We'll strongly suggest this hostal to everyone as a good, cheap and well-located accomodation for a weekend in Madrid.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia, United States
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

This was not our first choice hostal - it was our 4th choice actually but all the other places we looked at were booked. The location was great - Chuecas is a really fun area with great, alternative restaurants, the new market located down the road and only a block or two off of Gran Vía. However, I felt really uncomfortable during my entire stay because of the "friendly" staff. In order to enter you must ring a doorbell and wait for someone to open the door (this always takes some time). Before you leave you must leave your key at the front in a box (this is normal in Spain to leave your key at the front desk and it never bothered me before) but when you come back you're not allowed to grab it from the box. You aren't allowed to adjust the AC temperature either in your room so I was either freezing or really hot. The internet didn't work and the bathroom was very small like another reviewer said. The walls are also super thin and I was woken up by my neighbors alarm every morning and also heard suitcases being wheeled down the hall (I was the first room right next to the lobby). Overall, I felt like I was staying at a host family's house and had to walk on cracked eggshells. I felt uncomfortable the entire time and although the location was great and the price was reasonable - I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The location is very convenient not far off Calle de Grand Via, close to metro and major sites. The rooms were basic but clean and offered a comfortable bed. The bathroom in our room was very small making it difficult to manuver while performing routine tasks. While the room was clean, there was some mold in the grout of the shower/tub area..

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salerno
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

This hostal was rated well by former guests and so I took a chance and booked it. It was a wonderful little surprise!! It is located off the Playa Vasquez, and is just about a 5 minute walk to the Playa del Sol, which is the heart of most of traveler's Madrid. It is close to several metro stations and the area is very easily walkable to museums, parks and palaces. The hotel is well run, very clean and has someone at the front desk 24/7. It is minimally furnished with an ensuite bathroom and flat screen TV, small but has plenty of room for sleeping e-mailing with the free wifi (which is slow, but works). And it is clean and quiet!! There is an elevator (it is on the 4th floor) which gives you a great view of the Plaza, which is very lively with the social activities of the people of Madrid. However, when you shut the doors to the balcony and lower the metal shutter, the room becomes a quiet, dark and peaceful place to sleep. I was very happy with my stay and will stay there again when I am back in Madrid.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a room facing the plaza so you can watch the action from your Juliet balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal Zamora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Zamora

Address: Plaza Vazquez de Mella, 1. 4 Izda., 28004 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 458 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Zamora 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, T4B, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hostal Zamora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Zamora, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.