We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location and affordable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Zamora

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hostal Zamora to your Saves list
Hostal Zamora
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plaza Vazquez de Mella, 1. 4 Izda., 28004 Madrid, Spain (Centro)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #73 of 457 Hotels in Madrid
Northampton, Massachusetts, USA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Convenient location and affordable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

We stayed for one night at Hostal Zamora, which is on the fifth floor of an apartment building. The hotel does not provide breakfast but has a vending machine. The rooms and bathrooms were the standard small size (common in Europe). The hotel is very conveniently located three blocks from a metro station and within walking distance of La Gran Via, La Puerta del Sol, etc. The staff was friendly and helped us look for a bank nearby. The one negative was room cleanliness, which was not up to par - I found a piece of gum stuck to the top of the bed frame. The room safe is coin-operated.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    50
    13
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
35
21
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights in a twin room. The room was spacious enough, though bathroom was a little small & dimly lit. Had a window opening out onto the plaza below, which let plenty of natural light into the room. Staff were very friendly, and provided directions, tips and advice readily. Location is about 15 minutes walk to Sol, though as it is located between two metro stations getting around was not an issue.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vitoria, Pais Vasco, Spain
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Four of us stayed here for one night in the quadruple room. It was great as we each had our own bed and we paid 96 in total staying in downtown Madrid. We felt safe as there was 24 hour reception. The clerks were downright friendly, sharing tourist information with us and other things. As soon as I made the reservation they called me to answer my question about parking. There is a vending and coffee machine in the lobby. We were cold and asked for the heater and the clerk was quite apologetic about it. The room was clean and the wifi was working. We had a nice stay thanks to the service.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

Just returned from Spain a week ago and spent two nights at Hostal Zamora. The room and bathroom were spotlessly clean, the shower was an adequate size, the WiFi was good, the location couldn't be beat, and the staff very nice. For only 56 Euro/night we couldn't have been more pleased. Try Petit Comite for dinner, about a block away around the corner. I'm gluten intolerant and they were very accommodating to my needs. The food was delicious.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012 via mobile

This is a very nice place to stay for a couple days. It's close to the sites. Nice and clean!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calatayud, Spain
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

3 people, 3 twin beds, $78 euros. Clean room. Comfortable beds. Clean bathroom. Just a couple blocks off Gran Via. Friendly staff. I forgot my toothbrush and they gave me one nice and new in a wrapper. Also they recommended for parking was paying for 1 hour or 2, since 2 hours is limit on street, but then from 8 p.m. on street parking is free until 9 a.m. Worked well.
A car is not the best way to get around.

Room Tip: It's not the Ritz, but it's a great value!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

It is a comfortable, moderate hostal. People are very helpful. The place is kept tidy and neat. The staff is truly superlative and more than willing to answer questions and help out however they can. I make it a point to stay there whenever I am in Madrid. Its location is ideal for everything I want to do in Madrid.

Room Tip: It is difficult to recommend one room over another in this establishment. It is up high enough so a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal Zamora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Zamora

Address: Plaza Vazquez de Mella, 1. 4 Izda., 28004 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 457 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Zamora 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hostal Zamora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Zamora, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.