We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, cozy room, but terrible noise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Gala

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hostal Gala to your Saves list
Hostal Gala
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Costanilla de los Angeles 15, 28013 Madrid, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 458 Hotels in Madrid
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect location, cozy room, but terrible noise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Just got back from a trip in Madrid. The moment you get out of St Domingo metro station look to your right and there you'll see Hostal Gala. Yes this hostel is close to the metro and close to most attractions in Madrid. The room is nice and really cozy. When we were there the temperature dropped to 2c during the night but the hostel maintain the room warm and cozy that i wasn't even using the duvet at night. It's a modern and simplistic style room. The shower/toilet is also a good size one and is really clean. The only problem I had is the noise outside which lasted until early in the morning. I am a heavy sleeper especially when I had wine before sleeping but the noise didn't spare me. It woke me up 2-4 times during the nights we were there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    119
    28
    5
    2
See reviews for
53
108
24
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This 'hostel' is more like a Design Hotel right in the middle of Madrid. Very friendly staff (!!), reception is open 24 hours and the rooms are very stylish. We stayed with 5 people in one of the appartments which was very spacious and beds were very comfortable. Rooms were cleaned every day and fresh towels given. Our expectations were certainly exceeded and we can only highly recommend this place for people who want to enjoy a stay in Madrid with beeing out and about most of the times. The hostel does not serve breakfast, but there are several places nearby (e.g. right across the street is one where they serve a lovely continental breakfast buffet (approx. 15 Euro)). We will for sure come back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We really enjoyed ourself staying here!

Location is great and close to hopping, bars and restaurants. The room was very nice and clean. The bathroom very modern and the room was lovely to stay in. Was a reasonable price for such a good quality room. Reception staff friendly!

My only let downs were the internet cutting out often and the banging at 8am on our wall from works.

Otherwise a very good stay!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We got a total of 5 very nice rooms. Location is walking distance to all major sights in Madrid. We did not really mind the issue of sounds from the hallway. I guess people should just be aware and make an effort to be discreet when going to their respective rooms. I really liked the rooms in Hostal Gala. Yana, Estrel and Irene were very helpful. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room far from the reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed at Hostal Gala for 4 days during our most recent trip to Spain and loved this hotel!

The room and bathroom were fairly spacious by European standards, spotlessly clean, and very tastefully and modernly appointed. The room was cleaned daily, if desired. Our room had a small enclosed balcony which looked over the small street running in front of the hotel. One comment is that the hotel can be difficult to find from the street upon your first visit - there is a small flag hanging from the front of the building, and reception is located on the third floor, which is not very clearly indicated anywhere.

The staff at reception were very friendly and helpful, and upon our arrival, the spent time showing us various attractions on a map of the city centre, as well as answering our questions about how to best navigate around the city. Very accommodating and polite.

The hotel is located in a great area, in our opinion. It's just off Calle Gran Via, and as such, is much quieter than a hotel you would find on a busier street. It's a 15 minute walk to Puerta del Sol and various other 'attractions' in the city centre.

Other reviews mention that the walls are thin and that this hotel is quite noisy. We did hear some noise from reception and from neighboring rooms, but it was by no means intruding or unbearable. I would recommend requesting a room that is located further away from reception.

Overall, we loved this hotel! Fantastic value, very clean and stylish room and bathroom, and fantastic location for exploring the city. Will definitely stay here again the next time we're in Madrid.

Room Tip: Request a room further away from reception to reduce some of the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I got a room behind the reception. I could hear everything they said at the reception. I Did hear that there were many who complained about noise. They have paper thin walls.
Too noisy. Too expensive (70 eur)
There are much better hostels (one located in the city center but in a more cosy area), is Hostal Montaloya (price 45 eur).
A must for this hostel. Earplugs

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

After a long search on the web ( i m a receptionist in Hotel in Rome ) i choosen this one.
I began to sent an e-mail and they replyed immediately, very good started.
Then i decied to booked and they confirmed after 5 minutes.....the i understand why....
we arrived earlier and they accomotated to the room, Irene was really kind and helpfully she gave us a map and all the indication to the major attraction, metro sttaio is 100 metre walk, Madrid has a perfect public transportation very easy. Location was perfect, room was really clean and new, shower was amazing so it's better an Hotel.
Irene, Iana, the night receptionist lady and the owner work hard for that and we appreciated also a good value for Madrid.So if a receptionist wrote a review like that, believe that.
Emiliano and Roberta from Rome

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal Gala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Gala

Address: Costanilla de los Angeles 15, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#48 Family Hotel in Madrid
#56 Business Hotel in Madrid
#70 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hostal Gala 1*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique experience awaits you in the heart of Madrid. Everything in Hostel Gala has been totally refurbished and designed in detail to provide modern design, comfort and simplicity. You can enjoy your stay with all the shops, restaurants, bars and nightclubs around. Everything you would expect to find in Madrid, just a stone’s throw away from your hostel. Our friendly staff is always here for you to give you all the information you need and to make your stay as pleasant as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hostal Gala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Gala Hotel Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Gala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.