We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Stay! Impressive hostel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Gala

Save Saved
You added Hostal Gala to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hostal Gala
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Costanilla de los Angeles 15, 28013 Madrid, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 458 hotels in Madrid
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very Good Stay! Impressive hostel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We really enjoyed ourself staying here!

Location is great and close to hopping, bars and restaurants. The room was very nice and clean. The bathroom very modern and the room was lovely to stay in. Was a reasonable price for such a good quality room. Reception staff friendly!

My only let downs were the internet cutting out often and the banging at 8am on our wall from works.

Otherwise a very good stay!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    144
    103
    24
    3
    2
See reviews for
48
91
21
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We got a total of 5 very nice rooms. Location is walking distance to all major sights in Madrid. We did not really mind the issue of sounds from the hallway. I guess people should just be aware and make an effort to be discreet when going to their respective rooms. I really liked the rooms in Hostal Gala. Yana, Estrel and Irene were very helpful. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room far from the reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed at Hostal Gala for 4 days during our most recent trip to Spain and loved this hotel!

The room and bathroom were fairly spacious by European standards, spotlessly clean, and very tastefully and modernly appointed. The room was cleaned daily, if desired. Our room had a small enclosed balcony which looked over the small street running in front of the hotel. One comment is that the hotel can be difficult to find from the street upon your first visit - there is a small flag hanging from the front of the building, and reception is located on the third floor, which is not very clearly indicated anywhere.

The staff at reception were very friendly and helpful, and upon our arrival, the spent time showing us various attractions on a map of the city centre, as well as answering our questions about how to best navigate around the city. Very accommodating and polite.

The hotel is located in a great area, in our opinion. It's just off Calle Gran Via, and as such, is much quieter than a hotel you would find on a busier street. It's a 15 minute walk to Puerta del Sol and various other 'attractions' in the city centre.

Other reviews mention that the walls are thin and that this hotel is quite noisy. We did hear some noise from reception and from neighboring rooms, but it was by no means intruding or unbearable. I would recommend requesting a room that is located further away from reception.

Overall, we loved this hotel! Fantastic value, very clean and stylish room and bathroom, and fantastic location for exploring the city. Will definitely stay here again the next time we're in Madrid.

Room Tip: Request a room further away from reception to reduce some of the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I got a room behind the reception. I could hear everything they said at the reception. I Did hear that there were many who complained about noise. They have paper thin walls.
Too noisy. Too expensive (70 eur)
There are much better hostels (one located in the city center but in a more cosy area), is Hostal Montaloya (price 45 eur).
A must for this hostel. Earplugs

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

After a long search on the web ( i m a receptionist in Hotel in Rome ) i choosen this one.
I began to sent an e-mail and they replyed immediately, very good started.
Then i decied to booked and they confirmed after 5 minutes.....the i understand why....
we arrived earlier and they accomotated to the room, Irene was really kind and helpfully she gave us a map and all the indication to the major attraction, metro sttaio is 100 metre walk, Madrid has a perfect public transportation very easy. Location was perfect, room was really clean and new, shower was amazing so it's better an Hotel.
Irene, Iana, the night receptionist lady and the owner work hard for that and we appreciated also a good value for Madrid.So if a receptionist wrote a review like that, believe that.
Emiliano and Roberta from Rome

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Bucuresti, Romania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

i only stayed there for 4 days,the employees were very friendly.the rooms were very clean,convenient prices for a ultracentral hostel in madrid!i will surely recommand it ,and we will be coming back soon! :)

Room Tip: double room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Hostal Gala exceeded expectations and a great, convenient location to explore the city. Bathroom was a little tight (in particular the positioning of the toilet) for someone of tall stature but cleanliness of the room, comfortable bed, free wi-fi and friendly helpful staff far out weighs any minor inconvenience. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hostal Gala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Gala

Address: Costanilla de los Angeles 15, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Madrid
#39 Business Hotel in Madrid
#90 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hostal Gala 1*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique experience awaits you in the heart of Madrid. Everything in Hostel Gala has been totally refurbished and designed in detail to provide modern design, comfort and simplicity. You can enjoy your stay with all the shops, restaurants, bars and nightclubs around. Everything you would expect to find in Madrid, just a stone’s throw away from your hostel. Our friendly staff is always here for you to give you all the information you need and to make your stay as pleasant as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Hostal Gala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Gala Hotel Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Gala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.