We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uma boa paella em Madrid” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Catedral

La Catedral
Carrera San Jeronimo 16, Madrid, Spain (Centro)
+34915233556
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
La Catedral is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #956 of 6,858 Restaurants in Madrid
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Centro
Vila Nova de Famalicao, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Uma boa paella em Madrid”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Jantamos uma paella, disseram que demorava cerca de meia hora, se não havia problema, claro que não e efectivamente demorou meia hora. Valeu a pena, muito boa mesmo. Muito fresca, mesmo feita na hora, excelente, recomendo.

We dined a paella, said it took about half an hour, if there was no problem, of course not and actually took half an hour. It was worth it, very good indeed. Very cool, even made ​​to order, excellent, highly recommend.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    81
    39
    26
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
“Beautiful old building”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

I recently took a school trip to Madrid and we ate here for the three evenings. The food was pretty standard set menu three courses and the students seemed to enjoy it - except for the deserts which they were less keen to tackle. As a vegetarian they offered limited options for me each night but the. Spanish omelette was tasty. It was booked through a travel company so hard to tell value for money.
The restaurant was in a great old building and centrally located and the staff were efficient.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great lunch experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

I don't have the time to review all the restaurants that we tried in Spain. But this is one that stood out. The service was excellent. The value and food were fantastic. But the best part is the ambience and location. This is one of those restaurants that you look in and say "the food can't measure up to the beautiful old wood and glass character inside". It did. We just dropped in for lunch and had a great meal with excellent service. Its close to Plaza del Sol, but not too close. There were many locals eating here. Try it, you'll be glad you did. This was our favorite dining experience in Madrid. And this was lunch, and we were there for five nights!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Relaxing and delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

We decided to nix the tapas for our last night and go for something a bit nicer and this restaurant was one we had passed many times. The wine was wonderful and the food was terrific. We sat about halfway back from the street and it was quiet and lovely. Just what we wanted for our last dinner in Madrid. The salad with apples and Brie was particularly yummy and refreshing!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel-en-le-Frith, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Four of us ate here on our first night in the city. Although the inside of the restaurant was full of character, we sat outside on a lovely May evening and all chose the set menu. It really was excellent value for money, especially for a city centre restaurant, although the quantities were rather more than we needed. The staff were efficient and very polite, without being over friendly.
This is a good starting place to eat if you are new to Spanish cuisine.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Catedral also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to La Catedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Catedral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.