We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Price, Good Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taberna Maceira

Taberna Maceira
Huertas, 66, 28014 Madrid, Spain (Huertas)
+34 914 29 58 18
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,277 of 7,173 Restaurants in Madrid
Price range: $15 - $23
Cuisines: Italian, Caribbean, Seafood, Spanish, Tapas, Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night
Neighborhood: Huertas
Tokyo, Japan
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good Price, Good Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Good food with good price.
4 person costed 50 Euro.
It's a really good restaurant and worth go visit.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    222
    94
    80
    61
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Salty and burnt”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We had what appeared to be a good evening. Wine served in terracotta cups, a relaxed taverna setting. However all the dishes were excessively sprinkled with rock salt. One dish - their specialty- the stuffed hake with prawns and clams was so burnt it smelt acrid. When asked twice about this dish our waitress assured us this was how it was usually served. We looked around and saw fellow diners eating the dish that was juicy and not blackened. We asked again and she did replace it with one that was properly cooked. We felt that it was not dealt with properly in the first instance- a reheat from the lunch service perhaps. Overall we came away feeling this place was very average.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I'm mot well versed in Galician food but this was fantastic. Had the roasted peppers and steamed mussels in a spicy tomato based sauce. Both were superb. Fun atmosphere and aesthetically pleasing environment.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire, England
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“We loved this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Our first visit to this place was heavily influenced by sitting next to a friendly Spanish couple who guided our choices. We also had chance to make friends with the staff - who were lovely.
We were introduced to Piminton da Padron - small green peppers that had been roast with seasoning - they are delicious. Many of the Spaniards were eating this as a starter - it was so good. Mushrooms with Lardons are tasty. Then we shared a main course - wet rice with seafood or octopus - dipping the tasty bread.
Our favourite red wine was Abadia da Cova -Ribeira Sacra (19Euro for a bottle ) which was served in open pottery bowls at perfect temperature
We liked this place so much we visited 3 times

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Rude, rude staff”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

After being told to come back in an hour as the restaurant was so busy, i took this as a good sign. However, after returning in an hour, the waitress seemed annoyed with us bothering to come back. We sat down and chose our food, and upon ordering a certain dish were told (in no uncertain terms) that they were not serving anymore, to leave the restaurant and go to the one next door, a sister restaurant with no-one in it.

The waitress here was marginally more pleasant, although after asking twice for a glass of wine and not getting one, thought it was time to get the bill - again, asked for twice.

The food was average (seafood risotto), but as a Madrid 'first timer' I am leaving disappointed and slightly offended at the service we received.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taberna Maceira also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to Taberna Maceira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taberna Maceira, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.