We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tapas and buzzing atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante Lateral Santa Ana

Restaurante Lateral Santa Ana
Plaza de Santa Ana, 12, 28012 Madrid, Spain (Huertas)
91 420 15 82
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #944 of 7,359 Restaurants in Madrid
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night Food, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Huertas
Description: El restaurante Lateral ubicado en la plaza de Santa Ana, en el madrileno barrio de las letras, abre sus puertas en el ano 2008. Es el quinto restaurante que Lateral abre en Madrid, y lo hace con la intencion de trasladar su particular oferta gastronomica a una de las zonas con mas vida en la capital y mas transitadas por el turismo.Disenado por el interiorista Inigo Well, al igual que los de Fuencarral y Arturo Soria, es posiblemente uno de los restaurantes mas bellos en la plaza de Santa Ana, en el que destacan su impresionante fachada tallada en madera y una decoracion interior que hace pensar que puedas estar mas en tu propia casa que en un restaurante del centro de Madrid.El restaurante dispone de varias zonas con unas algo mas de 40 mesas distribuidas entre la planta baja y la planta sotano, y se ha convertido en uno de los mejores restaurantes con terraza en Madrid.Horario de cocina: ininterrumpido de domingo a miercoles desde las 12.00 a las 24.00 horas y de jueves a sabado hasta las 01.00Horario de local: de domingo a miercoles desde las 12.00 a las 24.00 horas y de jueves a sabado hasta las 02.00
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great tapas and buzzing atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

This place was just up the road from out hotel, which recommended it. it was so good, we went twice.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    279
    100
    60
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We ate here on our last day in Madrid (after not being able to get outside table on previous day) and we loved it. The venue is perfect - at one corner of Plaza de Santa Ana - great for people-watching. There is a great selection of tapas and the wine was perfectly chilled, and only €12/bottle. It is very popular for a reason - eat here!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

The outside terrace was full and we were told to wait inside. So we went inside, no place to wait at bar or anywhere else. After all day on feet i could not stand but if you sit down at table inside you automatically are removed from waiting list for terrace- so we were a bit unfriendly told be the hostess.
We took a table inside as we were not able to stand for more time.
Service in general - could be much better.
Food- tortilla was not good, even though it is sooo easy to make it.
My parter's glass was obviously more filled up than mine but when i asked to even it out we got an answer that the boss is watching so not possible.
To sum up- disapointment and waste of our time and money even though visually seems nice place.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Excellent Tapas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Stayed in Madrid for a week at the Catalonia Plaza Mayor, an excellent hotel a few blocks away from this restaurant. We ate 3 times at this restaurant because it was so reasonably priced. Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan, USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food, below average service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

The tapas were the best we had in Madrid. They were even moderately priced as far as tapas go. The service, however, was nothing to write home about. Too bad it didn't match the quality of food. Our waiter was rude and avoided eye contact with us whenever he was running around the restaurant. Somewhat fast, but friendliness certainly isn't the restaurant's forte.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Lateral Santa Ana also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to Restaurante Lateral Santa Ana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurante Lateral Santa Ana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.