We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and small place to stay in Madrid center.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal La Casa de La Plaza

Hostal La Casa de La Plaza
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hostal La Casa de La Plaza to your Saves list
Hostal La Casa de La Plaza
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plaza de San Miguel 5, 28005 Madrid, Spain (Centro)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #204 of 457 Hotels in Madrid
Peresvet
Top Contributor
359 reviews 359 reviews
114 hotel reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“Cheap and small place to stay in Madrid center.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

It was one of the cheapest options in the city center when I was looking for an accommodation for a 2 nights stay in Madrid. Hostal location is rather good, close to Puerta del Sol, The Royal Palace and Plaza Mayor. An old Mercado with a lot of shops and small eateries is in front of the hostal. Hostal provides basic accommodation, we had a small twin room. Bathrooms were outside in a corridor. They didn`t serve breakfast. Towels were for hire and cost 1 euro. Much noise were heard from the street, especially at night. One should have in mind that they don`t have 24 hours reception. When we were leaving early in the morning we just dropped our room keys into a post box.
As a whole we were satisfied as it was cheap, small place to stay with a good location to explore Madrid.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    36
    16
    6
    1
See reviews for
4
27
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

This place is cheap and basically runs like a youth hostel, except that you have a private room to yourself.

It is VERY clean. It is quiet, and yet the location is EXCELLENT.

Beware: the staff don't speak English. The problem is the shared shower/bathrooms. Depending on who the other guests are, your shower experience might be compromised by the bad hygiene of the person before you.

I would stay there again, just because of the great value for the neighborhood.
If you have a sense of humor, you'll love it.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brno
Top Contributor
305 reviews 305 reviews
110 hotel reviews
Reviews in 235 cities Reviews in 235 cities
411 helpful votes 411 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

Liked:
- spacious room with TV
- clean bathroom
- working wifi in room
- kindly personal
- possibility to lend a towel for 1 €
- excellent location

Disliked:
- you hear everything from the corridor (every step)

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

The staff were friendly and helpful, rooms were very clean and bathrooms were also clean. Disappointing that there weren't any lockers in the rooms for you to lock away valuables but the location of this hostel more than made up for that. Directly opposite the Mercado San Miguel and with lots of great places surrounding to go for good food and good wine. There is however the problem with the other noisy travellers that stay here and also the noise from the outside recycling bins being emptied. However, personally, I did not find it a bother. My two other companions did.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolzano, Italy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2010

I've been there fore 3 nights. The location is perfect, right in the center, in front of Mercado de San Miguel. We arrived and the guy from the reception didn't understand english.. So i spoke a mix of italian, but I understood him. I paid the first night by credit card in advance, but he didn't get it that we payed and couldn't count 200-40... Than after we finally got it and went to the rooms. I forgot my towel at home and went back to the reception and i've seen, that the guy NOW was speaking English with other tourists, but with me he spoke only spanish! The rooms were ok, but the bed not! They were from IKEA and it was not the best.
Bathrooms were ok, cleaned every day....

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Spain
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

Stayed here for two night with wife and friends in a shared room. We'd only booked a room for 4 but got to a room for 6 all to our selves. The place looks recently done up. Although on the cheap. And it's clean and all. It's a hostal not a hostel so do not expect a great social element. However the bathrooms are shared and can run low on hot water. There's plenty of bathrooms all in decent to good condition so not much of a queue. The people running the place are nice and friendly. The place itself is just opposite the market in the plaza which is not as noise as you might expect but dont expect to sleep through the noise when the bins get emptied in the morning. All in all we were all four very happy with our stay here. The central location is absolutely amazing for the price and although cheap it was a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

I cannot recommend this hostel enough ... it is smack bang in the centre of Madrid! Despite being a large capital city, everything is within walking distance and the hostal itself is great. My boyfriend and I stayed in a private twin room for just 15 euros per person per night and the room was great - spacious with large windows looking out onto the sqaure, two comfortable beds and two fans, which certainly came in use! There is an indoor market and bars/restaurants on the square which of course creates noise but this stops around midnight. The hostel is between TWO supermarkets, which is very handy! The staff are also very friendly and helpful - we were put in the wrong room by mistake so when we arrived back at the hostel midnight, we were informed that reception staff had moved all our stuff into the other room and explained that there had been a mistake, which was fine. The bathrooms are also clean and the showers are good. The hostel won "best staff" award from hostelbookers.com earlier this year, and it really shows.

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal La Casa de La Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal La Casa de La Plaza

Address: Plaza de San Miguel 5, 28005 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #204 of 457 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal La Casa de La Plaza 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, HostelWorld, Agoda, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hostal La Casa de La Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal La Casa de La Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.