We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Located with good food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Currys Indian Restaurant

Currys Indian Restaurant
Calle de Silva 16, 28004 Madrid, Spain (Malasana)
+34 915 23 45 70
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,997 of 7,173 Restaurants in Madrid
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Malasana
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Well Located with good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Curry's is well located just off Grand Via which is the most popular place of Madrid. The food served was fresh and good to taste. Anyone looking for Indian food, I would recommend it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    23
    6
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Very much better than expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012 via mobile

After reading some of the other reviews I expected the worst; an under spiced compromise to suit the European palate, not ideal but as close as I could expect to find in central Madrid.
What I actually received was as good as most London curry houses and better than an awful lot could produce.
My10.95 euro lunch del dia consisted of half a poppadom (hardly a flying start), a nicely spiced tandoori chicken leg with salad, tasty lamb curry which was lean and tender with a fresh nan and rice, along with soft drink, beer or wine and (although I'd had enough by then) probably a choice of pud or coffee. Equally good cooking and good value without any obvious compromises.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
372 helpful votes 372 helpful votes
“Very good lunch set menu 10.95 Euros”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

In June 2011, it was called "Curry's". In June 2012, it is called "Curry Masala". Trip Advisor calls it otherwise...

But last June like today, June 6 (D day) 2012, I paid 10.95 € for a very good lunch set menu including one Chiken Tandori leg + an EXCELLENT Chiken Tikka Masala with plenty of chicken and creamy sauce + rice + Nan + a small dessert + a cup of drinkable red Rioja.

This place is on a small street a couple of blocks from Callao, on your right going to Plaza de Espana.

There is a McDonald's right at the corner with tables on La Gran Via where I had an excellent espresso for 1.30 € after lunch, while this morning I paid 1.60 € for the same thing in Starbucks.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Ok but coming from curry capital London don't expect too much”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

I read the reviews and was impressed that two Indian couples thought this was a great meal. We had the set menu for two at €40.00 there was a lot of food the starters were not good, very dry, the main course was better and well spiced.
But at 50.00 with a beer and a yogurt drink it's more expensive than London and not as good

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Thank God for this Indian Restaurant in Madrid”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

After 3 days of Spanish, vegetarian food - read Sandwiches and juice, my tastebuds and palate both craved for some desi Indian food on the last day of my stay at Madrid.

Pretty conveniently located at Calle de Silva off Gran Via, its easy to find. Was pleasantly surprised to find it full of chirpy locals and a few Indian tourists. Was escorted to a table that could sit only 1 person. I dint complain.

Ordered a drink, some aloo tikki (potato cutlet like Indian delicacy), Naan (variety of bread) and cauliflower veggies. Although they ask you if you like your food spicy and you agree vehemently, the resultant food is nowhere close to spicy. It tastes good nevertheless. Slightly expensive though at about 30 Euros for 1 person.

The decor isn't very good, and would do a world of good for the owners to slightly refurbish the place. Am sure they can afford it too.

But cannot complain, after all, was my only deserved Indian meal on the 4 day tour.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Currys Indian Restaurant also viewed

 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to Currys Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Currys Indian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.