We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place for food and drink - great atmosphere!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercado San Miguel

Mercado San Miguel
Plaza San Miguel, 28005 Madrid, Spain (Centro)
915424936
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 129 Shopping in Madrid
Type: Flea/ Street Markets, Shopping
Attraction details
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“great place for food and drink - great atmosphere!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Had a fabulous time here - went twice during my trip.. wonderful place to sample different foods and wine. Great wine and champagne bars -- fun atmosphere!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,593 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,220
    1,040
    244
    61
    28
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Where all your food fantasies comes true!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

I had the best burrata of my life here at one of the corner vendors. It was a little bit pricier than some of the other pinxtos at 3,5 euros, but totally worth it! Go with an empty stomach and get ready to sample!

If you are interested in Flamenco, there is also a vendor selling discounted tickets to the Cardomomo Tablao. I bought mine there and went the same night. It was fabulous! See separate review.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Too crowded”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

The marked has become too popular. It was so crowded it was nearly impossible to move around and we did not even attempt to get in the long lines for a drink or food. We left as soon as we could and had lunch no a nearby quiet restaurant in stead. Much better value for money!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“How a market should be”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Whilst the market is great during the day the time to really experience it is at night. The buzz is tremendous and the small bar areas really come alive at night with lots of people enjoying a drink, with or without tapas. This area, right next to Plaza Mayor, is well worth a visit.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
377 reviews 377 reviews
104 attraction reviews
Reviews in 138 cities Reviews in 138 cities
225 helpful votes 225 helpful votes
“A fantastic place to taste the best of Madrid”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

I love this place, you can sample any great Spanish product in this lovely and historical market. Lovely food great atmosphere highly recommended. Only one warning it is not the cheapest place to eat tapas

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mercado San Miguel also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to Mercado San Miguel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercado San Miguel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.