We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, cozy and central hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Urban Sea Atocha 113

Save Saved
You added Urban Sea Atocha 113 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Urban Sea Atocha 113
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Atocha, 113, 28012 Madrid, Spain (Centro)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #259 of 457 hotels in Madrid
Zaragoza, Spain
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Clean, cozy and central hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very good hotel next to Atocha station. We stayed there one night and we did a very late check-in (aprox.00:30) without problems. Rooms are minimalist but very clean, TV, WiFi, comfortable, etc. We just didn't like that the room toilet doesn't have a door, just a curtain. If you stay in the hotel, don't miss the opportunity to visit the terrace/loft in the top floor. It's a good deal, excellent money for value.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Sea H, Gerente at Urban Sea Atocha 113, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback! It was a pleasure having you here.

We are glad to read you had a good stay at Urban Sea Atocha 113.

We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Borja Moreno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    15
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
6
20
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed that hotel in first of may, 2014. In spite of one star hotel, the price of staying this hotel was not cheaper. Moreover, the staffs did not clean my room, even if I asked them to clean my room. Last but not least, a staff called my roon in the morning to tell not providing hot water in my bath room. That is the time my wife was taking a shower!!! It is first time to experience such a poor service in the hotel. I think this hotel is worse than a cheap guest house. If you are going to stay in this hotel in the near future, you may meet much poorer service than I experience.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Sea H, Gerente at Urban Sea Atocha 113, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at Urban Sea Atocha 113.

We deeply regret when we do not fully exceed the expectations of our guests. Therefore I would like to sincerely apologise for all the inconveniences caused throughout your stay. We had a breakdown in the hot water system that took us several hours to fix. This is an isolated case that pitifully happened during your stay with us.
We clean the rooms of our guests every day. and we use to receive very good reviews about this. I can assure you that I am following up on these incidents in order to avoid a repetition.

We would be greatful to meet you maybe in a future ocassion at Urban Sea Atocha 113.

Kind Regards,

Borja Moreno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackpool
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Small budget hotel was very accommodating for all our needs. Staff very friendly and helpful. Room cosy,bed very comfortable. Bathroom facilities excellent. Location perfect for museum and nightlife. Definitely would return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Sea H, Gerente at Urban Sea Atocha 113, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear guest,

I have just read your nice review, and just a few lines to send you a big thank you, because your message is the best brochure about Urban Sea Atocha!

Kind regards,

Borja Moreno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

The hotel is in a very convenient location for central Madrid, rooms are clean and functional with a minimalist design and offer much better value than many other hotels in the area. There are tea and coffee making facilities available 24 hours and there are so many places nearby for breakfast, lunch and dinner that the lack of a restaurant is no constraint at all.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Sea H, Gerente at Urban Sea Atocha 113, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Pete H,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with other travelers.

We are glad to hear that you liked our hotel and where it's located.

We will be more than happy to have your visit again. Urban Sea Atocha 113 will be waiting for you!

Regards,

Borja Moreno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huelva, Spain
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

A budget small hotel but newly decorated in a sort of minimalistic IKEA style.

Excellent location in one the most important transport hubs of Madrid: Atocha train station. Easy access to the station ( 2 walking minutes ), the Metro and the buses conecting with the airport adn with many other parts of Madrid. Very good if, like me, you are in transit and want to grab some rest before heading to the airpot or somewhere else by train. Lots of restaurants and shops nearby and 10 minutes walk to the museums area

Staff was helpful with request and even offered some maps and explain us a couple of questions we had.

Nice rooftop terrace to smoke, rest and take a look at Madrid´s roofs

Good wifi and free tea, coffee and fruits throughout the day in the lobby.

Good choice if travelling in a budget what want some kind of comodity.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Sea H, Gerente at Urban Sea Atocha 113, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear guest,

I have just read your nice review, and just a few lines to send you a big thank you, because your message is the best brochure about Urban Sea Atocha!

I would like to thank you as well , for the nice words dedicated to the staff and location. Its great to hear that you had a good stay with us. It will be a pleasure for us to welcome you in the future.

Warm regards,

Borja Moreno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

very well located for the most important museums. Everything was easy to reach by feet or with metro. Also very well located to visit the Contemporary (private) galleries. We visit every year for Arco Madrid, the artfair. Also the Ifema area was easy to reach by metro.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Sea H, Gerente at Urban Sea Atocha 113, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Ellen,

We thank you for taking time in writing your review.

We are glad to hear that you liked our hotel and where it's located.

We hope to welcome you back very soon!

Regards,

Borja Moreno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

I would not stay at this hotel again. It was adequate, but had no redeeming characteristics. It was not particularly clean and has many signs of wear and tear. I got the room opposite the elevator so it was very loud. I was in Madrid during an extremely hot spell, so I was happy to return to the room periodically for a respite from the heat. I appreciated that there was adjustable climate control in the room.

Room Tip: Do not take the room opposite the elevator. You're be awoken every time the doors 'bing'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Sea H, Gerente at Urban Sea Atocha 113, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear guest,

We thank you for taking time in writing your review

I feel really discouraged to see that the hotel did not meet your expectations and I would like to apologize for the inconveniences you founded during your stay at Urban Sea Atocha 113.

Please, if you decide to stay with us again in the future, feel free to ask our staff to offer a room far from the elevator. We will be pleased to satisfy your needs.

We like to know that the air conditioning sistem of the room made you have a break from the hot spell.

Hope that the incidents occurred throughout your stay does not prevent you from returning in the future

Warm regards,

Borja Moreno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Urban Sea Atocha 113? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Urban Sea Atocha 113

Address: Calle Atocha, 113, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #259 of 457 hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Urban Sea Atocha 113 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Madrid, just a stone's throw from almost everything, a hotel where you will feel truly at home.Hotel in Madrid with 36 rooms; 6 floors; 1 "be yourself" zone; 1 "help yourself" zone; 1 “love yourself” zone with sun terrace, loungers and 1 shower to freshen up; 1 free Internet zone and WiFi throughout the hotel. Anything else you may need to enjoy a great time is down to you.Located just a few metres from Atocha Station, in Madrid.The hotel remains true to the last to the chic&basic philosophy: no frills, no ostentation, but with exquisite taste, fun and an even greater ambience.En el corazón de Madrid, a pasos de -casi- todo, un hotel para sentirte muy a gusto.Hotel en Madrid con 36 habitaciones; 6 plantas; 1 zona “be yourself”; 1 zona de “help yourself”; 1 terraza - solarium con hamacas y 1 ducha para refrescarte; 1 zona de internet gratis y wi-fi en todo el hotel. El resto de cosas necesarias para que lo pases bien las pones tú.Situado a pocos metros de la estación de Atocha, en Madrid.El hotel sigue al pie de la letra la filosofía chic&basic: Sin lujos ni ostentación, pero con muy buen gusto, divertido y aún mejor ambiente. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Urban Sea Atocha 113 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chic And Basic Atocha
Chic&Basic Atocha Hotel Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Urban Sea Atocha 113, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.