We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A friendly little place in a stunning location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Cervantes

Hostal Cervantes
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hostal Cervantes to your Saves list
Hostal Cervantes
Calle Cervantes, 34, 28014 Madrid, Spain (Centro)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #98 of 238 Madrid B&B and Inns
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A friendly little place in a stunning location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

You cannot think of a better-located budget accomodation than Hostal Cervantes on Calle Cervantes in Madrid. It is so conveniently located, indeed, that even though this was my first visit to Madrid, I got into the express bus from the airport to the city centre, got down at Plaza Cibelez, and walked about 8 minutes to the Hostal, and I had to ask people about the way only twice during those 8 minutes. The Museo Prado is a mere 5 minutes' walk from the Hostal, the Thyssen Bornemisza museum 4 minutes, the Atocha train station is about 10 minutes, and so is the Reina Sofia museum. I walked to Plaza Sol and Plaza Santa Ana, to the Retiro and the Botanical Gardens and also down Calle Alcala to the museum of Belles Artes, where there is a marvellous set of Goyas I had never seen before. It is a homely place run by a friendly family, and Fabio, who looks after most things, represents the true Spanish spirit of cheerful helpfulness, ready with a smile, and willing to help you out with your questions about everything. He had set one room aside for me, but when he saw I was not very impressed by its looks, immediately offered me another, larger room about which I had no complaints whatsoever. The rooms are kept clean, and is the bathroom, and since Fabio provides you with the key to the main door as well as the password to the groundfloor entrance, you go out and come in when you choose, without disturbing others. I would not recommend that you have breakfast there - Fabio is quite flexible about it - because the tie-up for breakfast is with a Tapas Bar next door where you are given a rather flimsy breakfast of a cup of coffee and a croissant. But there are restaurants and bars and cafes and pubs of all kinds around the Hostal, so there is no dearth of choices as regards eating and drinking. For the price that it charges, you would not get very many places as good as Hostal Cervantes on Calle Cervantes, and for sheer location, it has to be among the best. Next time in Madrid I would certainly like to stay here again.
Anjan Basu, Bangalore, India. Travelled solo between November 6 & 9, 2013

Room Tip: If you are very sensitive to noise, ask for a room away from the reception atea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    13
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
7
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

Good price for staying at a clean hotel located at a walking distance of the touristic attractions.
Friendly personel , cozy hotel, comfortable beds and private bathroom. Free wi-fi
If you have trouble sleeping don't pick a room with balcony.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The first thing about this hostal is that the price -50Euros for a double in October- is very appealing. It is located on the 2nd floor and has a tiny but functional elevator. It is about a 15 minute walk to Atocha train station, 10 minutes to Anton Martin metro station, 10 minutes or less to the Prado, Thyssen and Reina Sofia. There are loads of cafés, restaurants and attractions within walking distance. I walked everywhere I wanted to visit in Madrid including the Puerta del Sol, Plaza Mayor, Palacio Real...

The hostal is clean and the beds very acceptable. Bedrooms and bathrooms are small but everything worked, including the hot water in the shower. The decor is inoffensive and the building pretty quiet, although as with any large city in Spain it's a good idea to bring ear plugs just in case. The staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful, including offering suggestions for restaurants and breakfast places. Their recommendations were reliable.

Wifi worked fine in the small lobby but not in the room.

This is a low-key, relaxed and friendly spot and a definite find in the cheap and cheerful category. The Westin Palace is just around the corner, but to stay there you have to pay around 250 Euros. Stay at the Cervantes and just visit the bar at the Palace for a splurge. Location, location, location.

One note, although there is apparently air conditioning during the summer, it is not available in October. This was unfortunate since it was 29 celsius during our stay in Madrid.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2010

Just arrived back from a trip and stayed here for two nights. Great location, close to so many museums (El Prado) and the Madrid train Station. A little hard to find with taxi cause it's on a small side street. Area around the Hostal is great for experiencing night life. Staff was really nice and they have free wifi, only downfall was that we were placed in an apartment two blocks away that the Hostal owns. Had our own bathroom and kitchenette since we were in a residential apartment building and room was still nice, just a little weird that they gave us this room. Would stay at again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal Cervantes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Cervantes

Address: Calle Cervantes, 34, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Cortes / Plaza Santa Ana
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 238 B&Bs / Inns in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and Budget Places so you can book your Hostal Cervantes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Cervantes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.