We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great local traditional eats.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Rincon de Esteban

El Rincon de Esteban
Santa Catalina, 3, 28014 Madrid, Spain (Centro)
+34 914299289
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
El Rincon de Esteban is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #233 of 6,417 restaurants in Madrid
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Centro
Los Angeles, CA
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Great local traditional eats.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Tucked away in a street is this little restaurant. The food is really good. The staff is amazing. The owner is on hand to make sure you are well cared for. They have daily specials all week long but the best part is that it very quiet and quaint. All the food comes out nice and slowly and you don't feel feel rushed. Lucky all portions are small so you're able to sample many dishes. Family friendly all the way. I would return if I was in the area. I speak apan

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    109
    52
    18
    8
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great place and wonderful FOOD.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

I had the Ox Tail and my wife had the fish. Both were wonderful. The owner Estefan is often here and will greet you warmly. The atmosphere is great and the prices reasonable.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We were in Madrid for 6 nights and got in early the first day and decided to walk around and see what was close to the Westin, we soon discovered we were in an ideal location, As we stayed at the Westin, this restaurant was recommended by the hotel and conveniently located less than 5 minutes away. We walked in and were served by the owner of the restaurant, an elderly and very friendly gentleman and the food was delicious. The plate of anchovies was excellent, and the hake was outstanding. The appetisers were all good and the sea bass was excellent The grilled vegetables were the best, so good and fresh, we ended up going to this restaurant 3 times for lunch during our stay the food was so good, great service, dessert was complimentary. Would definitely recommend this restaurant if you want something close to the Westin.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A unique dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Visited this location for dinner with my colleagues, we dined in the private room, which has a great design. The food was quite unique to say the least, but absolutely delicious. The menu offers authentic Spanish cuisine, and they have wide selection of wines. The best part of the meal was dessert which was absolutely scrumptuous. The restaurant is located close to the Congress and is in a highly secured area, east of Plaza del Sol.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
India
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great food coupled with wonderful service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Our hotel concierge recommended this restaurant and initially though we were a bit hesitant to enter the place as we saw a Michelin Star sign at the entrance, but we were so glad we came here! We were the only 'touristy' family with our 2 children and casual clothes, while the rest of the crowd were all business/office types in their fierce suits; my teenage son was understandably a bit worried about eating here. But the genial elderly gentleman who welcomed us (whom we thought was the Maitre d' but we found out later he was the owner!) made us comfortable with his warmth and camaraderie. The starters (grilled prawns, fried calamari) were excellent and we were pleasantly surprised to get tiny shots of complimentary lemon sorbets to clean our palate after every course. The waiter was also very friendly and chatty and explained the various bull-fight trophys and photographs adorning the walls. Their staff was very accommodating and an off-the-menu request for a pasta for my daughter was readily prepared for her! We didn't have any space for deserts but were again plesantly surprised with complimentary sweets at the end! Yes, I agree that it is really more expensive than other restaurants in Madrid, but I would say the extra services that are rendered, excellent service and ofcourse the delicious food...I would definitely recommend this place to everyone!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Rincon de Esteban also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to El Rincon de Esteban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Rincon de Esteban, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.