We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food; Small, Quaint Plaza in La Latina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Naia

Naia
Plaza de la Paja, 3, 28005 Madrid, Spain (La Latina)
+34 913662783
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Naia is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #281 of 7,359 Restaurants in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $22 - $39
Cuisines: Spanish, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: La Latina
Description: Naia is located in the famous Plaza de la Paja in the heart of Madrid. It offers a creative and seasonal menu that combines new culinary trends with traditional dishes, providing some enjoyable surprises. In the elegant and welcoming dining room diners can enjoy dishes such as scallops with foie gras, a ruby port reduction and spiced toasts; tartare of prawns with white garlic and avocado ceviche; or Ibérico pork loin roasted with fresh figs and sherry. The restaurant has a chill-out area for drinks after dinner and in summer there is a large outdoor terrace.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Excellent Food; Small, Quaint Plaza in La Latina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We ate here twice during our 10 days in Madrid. Both times we sat right out front to enjoy the plaza. The first time, we went for dinner, and it was great. My wife and I enjoyed both types of croquettes they had, then shared the Butternut Squash Ravioli, which I really enjoyed. We returned a few days later, on a Sunday afternoon after wandering around El Rastro. We had the jamon croquettes again, they are delicious. Then we shared the Burrata with pickled pimentos, tomatoes and citrus vinaigrette. I kid you not, this was the single best plate of food we had in Madrid. The waitstaff speaks little English, but enough to get by. Reasonably priced and highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    72
    20
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
“Top notch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Great food, perfect service, nice atmosphere. Will definitely go back again and again. Tried the salads, octopus, ravioli, wine, deserts. Everything was fresh, prepared with care and delicious

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armonk, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Outside are tables for drinks- but inside this lovely small neighborhood place the food was very good! Choices from full entrees to tapas extremely well prepared and delicious. Great service- english no problem.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch, great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We had the fixed menu lunch - Euro11.50 for a first course, bread, second course and desert or coffee. The goat cheese salad was superb and the pork loin and couscous was excellent. My wife had a bean soup and very nicely prepared sea bass. This has been our best meal in Madrid. The waitress was great - efficient, polite and helpful. The dining area was unique - worn, but tastefully so. The tables outside in the plaza were perfect for a coffee. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best meal in Madrid”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Here is a tip: 1. small menu means good quality (chef focus on few dishes to achieve consistency and quality)
2. A restaurant with recently over 100 good reviews is always a good sign. Go for it!!!
3. See how many locals are dinning there, too many tourists or located in a very busy tourist area is generally not a good sign.
And that's how we came across this little bistro, with a fantastic outcome. Our best meal in Madrid by far!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Naia also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to Naia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Naia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.