We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay in the balcony room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pension Arcos

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Madrid
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pension Arcos
Save
You added Pension Arcos to your Saves list
Calle de la Salud #13, 28013 Madrid, Spain (Centro)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #203 of 372 Specialty Lodging in Madrid
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very nice stay in the balcony room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

My wife and I really enjoyed our stay here. We stayed for several nights at the end of our trip. It was an excellent place to soak up the Madrileño vibe and bustle from the fifth floor balcony. Having exhausted much money from traveling in Andalusia, Tangier, and Barcelona, we found Pension Arcos to be a very reasonable price for the heart of Madrid, a five minute walk from Puerta del Sol and the Metro stop. We were the only guests at the time, so it really felt like we were guests in Anuncia and Sabino's house. They were friendly and know how to run a pension. The room was good sized, clean, and had A/C, which is a must in summer. We were not looking for luxury, just a good, clean, low-cost, well-located place and this place was perfect. And we loved the balcony. We even had picnic meals and wine overlooking the plaza.

Room Tip: Try to get the balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    4
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
White Plains, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

We booked the hostel for three nights and told the couple to expect us to arrive at night, but due to transit issues we did not arrive until the next morning. The man was grumpy about it, repeatedly telling me that he waited all night for us, but we paid him for that night and everything was better. They're actually a sweet couple, and they're very accommodating. They would answer the door at any hour of the night, allowing us to check out the nightlife in the nearby Puerta del Sol area. The hostel's location is great, and the price very reasonable (4 travelers, 70 Euros/night). They also allowed us to stick around in the hostel while waiting for our train. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

Sabino and Anuncia were excellent inn keepers. They don't speak English but if you know the basics you will do fine. 40.00 euros was cheap and perfect location. Just 5 minutes away from Puerta del Sol. We walked everywhere, was a great exercise. They keep the rooms clean. We got the room with the balcony and was awesome; every night we had a glass of wine and enjoyed the beautiful view from the balcony.

You can't beat the price. The cheapest and perfect location.

Room Tip: Request the room with the balcony. Call them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2010

This is not the place for anyone who wants a modern hotel, but is excellent for anyone whose primary needs are for clean, safe, cheap and great location. There is no online booking - you must book by phone in Spanish.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahaina, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2009

I read about Pension Arcos in Rick Steves' guidebook and I LOVED it. A small double room with a full en suite bath was only 40€ per night, and it is seriously no more than a 5 minute walk to Puerta del Sol, the CENTER of Madrid. However, if you are looking for luxury DO NOT STAY HERE! If you want inexpensive, safe and, well, quaint, this place is a bonanza.
Anuncia and Sabino (proprietors) speak no English- you'll need your Spanish in order to reserve a room- no more than the day before your arrival. It's on the top floor of a building that has been given over almost entirely to hosteles/pensiones- but there is a charming, antique (small but powerful) elevator. When you walk in to the place, it is almost like stepping in to your Aunty's or Grandmother's place- NOTHING is new, but it is all clean and well maintained.
Anuncia made sure that we knew where we were headed- took us through the lounge area out to the terrace and pointed out the street we needed in order to reach our destination. That terrace alone would be worth 40€ during the warmer months of the year!
My ONLY complaint is that, when we returned to the room to study for the finals we had to take when we returned to Barcelona after a day out visiting museums, eating AWESOME food and flirting with CUTE Madrid police officers, it was COLD. So cold that we hunkered down under the bevy of blankets on our beds. We cranked the dial on the old radiator, to little effect, but when we returned from dinner, it had warmed up enough to be comfortable in street clothes. Full disclosure: I don't do well in the cold. I live on Maui and am currently attending school in Barcelona which is a good 20°F warmer than Madrid.
If you are a Rick Steves' devotee, you will ADORE this place- and Anuncia is a huge fan of Rick and the people that have come to her through his recommendations.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2009

It's a really great location within walking distance of major sight-seeing places in Madrid. This seems to have been a entire floor (fifth) apartment when the building was built owned by one family. The elderly couple who lives there (Anuncia and Sabino) now has a couple of rooms with accomodations. Everything about this place says to you - 1940s Madrid - including the room, the building, the elevator, the endearing couple who keeps the place. I guess some people would not like it, but we loved staying there. It's pretty clean and the best price we have found around. You will need to speak Spanish to make the arrangement by calling them [--]. Great for student/budget travelers.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pension Arcos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Arcos

Address: Calle de la Salud #13, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Hotel Style:
Ranked #203 of 372 Specialty Lodging in Madrid
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Pension Arcos Hotel Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pension Arcos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.