We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“true to hotel name” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mayerling Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mayerling Hotel to your Saves list
Mayerling Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ del Conde de Romanones 6, 28012 Madrid, Spain (Formerly Chic&Basic Mayerling) (Centro)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 457 Hotels in Madrid
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“true to hotel name”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I stayed in #305 of this hotel in early June, 2013. It was a clean, quiet room facing a wall (which I didn't mind; there was a gap between the wall and the room with big windows, so there was ample natural light coming in.) Just as most Tripadvisor reviewers said of this hotel, I too had a comfortable stay here. Breakfast included two types of sliced bread, some mini cupcakes, cereals, yogurt, cheese, meat, and a variety of juice and fruits. The kitchen, which is open 24/7, has a espresso/coffee/hot chocolate maker and a variety of tea. It also has a water cooler for drinking water. The toiletries were bare minimal and the bedroom décor was IKEA-like sparse but functional. And yep, the shower has funky lights and glass panels all around it. Thank god, there is a curtain for privacy. If all you need while traveling is a clean bed and courteous service, you will not be disappointed with this hotel. The hotel is also centrally located. For those driving to Madrid,there is public parking near the hotel. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and will certainly stay here next time I visit Madrid.

Room Tip: Room # 305 and #303 are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    107
    17
    1
    2
See reviews for
10
127
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The room was small, modern, and a little funky but totally OK for a short stay (2 nights). It was very spare and the layout was a little strange but nothing to complain about. My room faced the street and was a little loud (primarily traffic noise) but if you get a rear-facing room it would be much quieter, I'm sure. Staff was very nice and helpful. Continental breakfast was perfect. Location is good in the center of town not far from Plaza del Sol.

Room Tip: Request a room at the rear of the building to avoid traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tel-aviv
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We needed 1 night stop over hotel on our way home from central america and chose this based on previous reviews.We received a very detailed email with arrival directions,and checking in the friendly receptionist gave us all the info we needed to spend one day in Madrid - including a warning about pickpocketing which we partly ignored and thus our i-phone was stolen in the metro on the way to the airport...
For the price paid we received more than expected, great bed, terrific shower and the best room lighting we ever had in all the (fancy) hotels we ever stayed in!
We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We spent a weekend there. Check-in was quick, the room was pretty nice and modern. Clean and Quiet. Breakfast is basic but good.
It was freezing cold the weekend we were there, and unforunately the hot water in the shower collapsed one morning. We took a cold shower and by the time we came back in the afternoon it was all fixed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vevey, Vaud, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Just got back from a weekend in Madrid and we staid in the Chic&Basic Mayerling. if you're looking for a well located, cozy room and a good breakfast... you found it. Also the staff is very friendly and helped us with Taxis, guided us through the city map to show where were places we were looking for. Besides that, Madrid is an amazing city and I recommend to anyone who enjoys good food & wine and streets/bars/restaurants full of friendly people.

Something that I find cool about the rooms, that might be strange to some people, is that the shower is in the room itself.... Meaning that if you're laying in bed, you can see whoever is taking a shower in the side of the room.

Next time I go to Madrid, I know which hotel I'll be staying in.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I feel like all I ever write is good reviews, i did my homework when booking my hotels and once again was not disappointed. This is the 2nd Chic and Basic hotel i have stayed in and will continue to go back. Good large, clean rooms in the heart of Madrid, what more could you want..

Room Tip: Go for a large room just for the entertaining shower :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mayerling Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayerling Hotel

Address: C/ del Conde de Romanones 6, 28012 Madrid, Spain (Formerly Chic&Basic Mayerling)
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#73 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#78 Business Hotel in Madrid
#133 Family Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mayerling Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Agoda, EasyToBook, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Mayerling Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chic And Basic Mayerling
Chic&Basic Mayerling Hotel Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mayerling Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.