We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine for a night before early morning flight” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Axor Barajas Hotel

Save Saved
You added Axor Barajas Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Axor Barajas Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Campezo 4, 28022 Madrid, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 458 hotels in Madrid
Cordoba, Spain
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fine for a night before early morning flight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I stayed here before catching an early morning flight and it offered almost all you could offer in an airport hotel. Check in took a while as the mini bus from the airport was full but the room was clean and quiet and the bed comfortable. Had to go to hotel next door (same group) for dinner and I would have liked a bit more choice, a tapa or two was on my mind but not on menu.
The mini bust service to the airport runs every half an hour and I was at the airport in minutes.
The staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    330
    258
    43
    20
    13
See reviews for
186
206
49
143
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

This is a perfect hotel. Price value is excellent. Next to the airport, that might be the negative also if you want to bein the center. But the bed was good, nice shower, good breakfast with a lot of choice, free wifi, friendly staff, new/modern funiture (at least not worn out). What else do you need?

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I always stay at this hotel when I am in Madrid. It's just 5 minutes from the airport, it has free transportation service to and from the hotel, the van runs every 30 minutes from 5 AM to 10 PM.
The rooms are large and new, it is a quite hotel and even though you are so close to the airport, there is no noise. Modern hotel with all amenities, free wi-fi throughout the hotel. It has a nice restarurant, a little pricy but if you want, you can walk to a mall which is about 5 blocks from the hotel and you will find plenty of restaurants. Great hotel for overnight travel.
To go downtown Madrid, you can take the free ride from the hotel to the airport and there buy a train ticket and get off at Antocha station.
Of course plenty of taxis at the hotel. A ride to the airport is around $10 to $12 Euros.
The hotel rate varies but you can get a good rate on trip advisor or any other site or just checking directly with the hotel. Last time I stayed there in may 2012, I paid $85 Euros for a king size room. Not bad at all.

Room Tip: No problem with any room, higher or lower floors are the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

Me and my friends have been here 3 times in the last 3 years now and everytime has been brilliant. It's a modern hotel with large clean bedrooms and just outside the main city. Highly recommend, great value for money

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I was in need of a last minute reservation for a hotel near the barajas airport, and found this one on Travelocity for a very good price. The decor is very "Modern European", with lots of chrome and leather, but I found it very clean, comfortable and pleasant. The bed was one of the more comfortable hotel beds I have encountered, and the shower was great! I liked that there was an electrical outlet very near the head of the bed, so I could plug in my CPAP machine. It is amazing how many hotels require the use of a six foot or longer extension cord to accomplish this! I would not hesitate to stay here again in connection with a flight in or out of Barajas. By teh way, the shuttle was very good as well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This is a rather typical but good level airport hotel. The decor downstairs was for my tastes quite sterile, but the food was reasonable. The lobby has a bar, which looked like a pass-through for travelers: certainly not much ambiance, but I don't think that this is a not a hotel designed for that purpose. The rooms are the real treat: very spacious, and they include a computer, which is certainly fine if you only need email and Internet. The bathroom is also spacious and the shower is great - roomy, good water pressure, nicely designed. If you have meetings around Barajas Airport or just need an overnight stay, this is a very good choice. If you are coming to visit and tour Madrid for 2-3 days or more, you will probably want something in or closer to the city. a cab ride from the hotel to for example, Puerta del Sol, is about E20 one way. There is a small gym with an elliptical, regular bike and recumbent bike - if you are really interested in some exercise, it's a 5 minute walk to a park with some running and biking paths. Excellent transportation and quick access to the airport - no small matter in Madrid's traffic.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Axor Barajas is situated next to Axor Feria, but is profiled to be a bit more trendy and upscale though both hotels are four star. Axor Barajas usually has higher prices, but you do get a little bit more for the money. The biggest difference is softer beds and bathroom amenities. On our overnigh stay we had booked two rooms and got one junior suite with a small seating area. Otherwise rooms are on the small side, though nicely decorated, bright and modern. Bathrooms are quite big with spacious showers, though note that the glass bathroom door doesn't give much privacy. Both hotels share the same shuttle service, which operates on a half-hour basis. One cannot pre-book the transfer from the airport (so the wait can be quite long), but one can - and should to guarantee a seat - from the hotel. A taxi ride will set you back EUR 20-25 one way. Check in is slow, so there's often a que at the reception (should be possible to speed up). The Axor hotels are within 10 min walk from the very large and busy Plenilunio shopping centre, where you find all usual shops and and several fast food alternatives. It's likely we'll stay here again if we get a good deal.

Room Tip: Rooms 136 and 137 are junior suites. I assume the same for other floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Axor Barajas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Axor Barajas Hotel

Address: Calle Campezo 4, 28022 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 458 hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Axor Barajas Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, EasyToBook, Otel and Venere so you can book your Axor Barajas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Axor Barajas Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.