We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch (Menu of the Day) Worthwhile” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Meson Cinco Jotas

Meson Cinco Jotas
Plaza de Santa Ana 1, Madrid, Spain (Huertas)
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Meson Cinco Jotas is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3,090 of 7,173 Restaurants in Madrid
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Huertas
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Lunch (Menu of the Day) Worthwhile”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

The quality of food here is pretty decent - between my husband and I - we had salads (our choice) for starters, meatballs and chicken for mains, fruits and cheesecake for desserts. Bread and a glass of Mahou beer with the menu of the day.

While the food is not fabulous, I don't regret going there. Servings were sufficient to make us very full.

Service was average - not rude, but not polite too.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    37
    21
    9
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“SHOCKING”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Pleasantly located, with a nice offer of breakfast, almost makes you unaware of the table full of remains from the previous guests that somehow are just not cleared. When you manage to wave to the waiter, he comes, sees the money on the table from the previous guests, takes it and leaves without saying anything. Fair enough, it can happen, that they do not pay attention to the people, but then you become aware that half of the terrace is waving to the two waiters either to order or to get the receipt, but no one is lucky enough to get their attention. When some of the people lose their patience and go inside to fetch someone, they come out and just when those same people are about to order, he turns on his heel and leaves, leaving the guests with a drooping jaw. When we decided to go in and give them a piece of our minds, we did not receive an apology or an explanation but a rather uncordial reply in Spanish, which was probably an insult. Do not recommend, due to the repulsive behaviour of the entire collective, not only one waiter. There is a lot of other nice places, with decent service, just next to it.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Worthj trying the tapas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

The places in general that serve tapas is spain are normally very rustic. This was the place that I found a touch of softsication. The price is not very good as the tapa menu is $22 euros. But in general de place is ok, saved at least by the ambience of Santa Ana square.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Rip Off”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

My partner and I went here on our last night in Madrid and it put a real damper on the evening.

Firstly, we had to search for our own table and then wait to be served for ages (and they charge you an extra 10% for this outdoor service). When we did, we didn't get given a Wine/Drinks menu and just got served an 18 euro bottle of wine. Although, fair enough we should have been more persistent on the wine bottle. The main negative experience of this restaurant was the Menu de Tapas. We knew tapas were small portions but this was ridiculous- one of them was literally two thin slices of salami and cheese. One of the tapas was too sweet to eat, and the soup was sour. The dessert that was part of the menu was a "Three Chocolates" dish but was actually the smallest dessert ever; it wasn't even a mouthful!

Out of all my travels and dinners out, this is the worst and only bad one. Total rip off.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, NJ
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good food, good service, good location - memorable meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

Were in Madrid for 4 days and actually went here twice because we loved it. Once for lunch and once for dinner and was introduced to a dish called Iberian Pork Tenderloin with Pedro Ximinez sauce. Wow, was it wonderful. For lunch, we did the tapas menu which included a bottle of wine and a bunch of smaller dishes which included the wonderful pork in PX sauce. Everything we had was delicous, the staff was super helpful and the place is nice - even has outdoor seating if you like. The desserts are awesome too. So pretty that I took a picture of it :) I would definitely recommend it if you are near the Puerto del Sol looking for a good meal, especially lunch.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meson Cinco Jotas also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to Meson Cinco Jotas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meson Cinco Jotas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.