We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hesperia Emperatriz” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hesperia Emperatriz

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hesperia Emperatriz to your Saves list
Hesperia Emperatriz
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lopez de Hoyos, 4, 28006 Madrid, Spain (Barrio de Salamanca)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #230 of 453 Hotels in Madrid
Newcastle upon Tyne
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Hesperia Emperatriz”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I stayed here on business for three nights. The room was adequate, although the air conditioning didn't work on the first night. The lifts were slow. The breakfast was reasonable. The service was very poor at peak times (around 30 people queuing to check out).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    170
    98
    41
    11
See reviews for
65
111
38
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Very pleasant room, and mostly helpful staff. I would have awarded 5 stars but for an incident at our last breakfast, when one of the waiters tried to 'man handle' my disabled companion out of her chair because they were busy and needed the table! Very poor.

Tip:
Use the Hotel wifi as it is excellent and free. The 'free' computer in the lobby is useful, but the power cuts off unexpectedly and no-one loads the printer!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

+ nice rooms, good food
- the personnel could not find that our rooms were booked via galahotels.com; the conditioner did not work properly

Regarding booking system, I could not input 3 rooms / 5 persons (as automatically changed to 3 rooms / 6 persons)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Location is fantastic. The hotel is at walking distance from Metro station (Gregorio Marañon), right beside Paseo de La Castellana, and even though the area is full of the bars by which Madrid is famous worldwide, rooms are not noisy.
However, it needs renovation, specially in the rooms since reception is ok,
For a 4 star hotel, it seems to be understaffed, and there are no people other than the guy at reception desk.
Overall is good value for money if you do not expect being spoiled

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orinda, California, United States
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We had the wonderful opportunity to spend a week in Madrid! The Hotel Hesperia Emperatriz made a very good "home away from home" The hotel is nicely located in a quiet neighborhood, yet convenient to the bus and metro. It is not located in the popular tourist areas. We had a very nice suite, after switching from a suite for the same price that was ho hum. Some of the rooms are better than others. Our first room was very plain, rather dull for spending much time. But our suite on the 8th floor was nicely decorated and had a large comfortable patio. The Hotel staff are helpful and speak english welkl, but they do not bend over backwards, for instance, they do not have any postage, but can tell you where you buy it. They seem to have cut back on staff, most of the time there is just one person available, to manage the desk (check-in and out etc) as well as serve as concierge. They were happy to help with restaurant suggestions and reservations, but the small staff usually meant a short wait for assistance. A nice buffet breakfast is available, it was not included with our room. We found that the hotel guests were mainly Spainards, with an occasional tour group of foreigners, not that many US guest, giving it a more authentic feel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

This 4 stars hotel has a good location, close to Gregorio Marañon Metro Station, and lots of buses going down-town. It is located in a very nice area (you can find some embassies around), and it is safe to walk around even during the night.
I've stayed in this hotel more than once because I usually get good deals via one of this hotel search engines (trivago, expedia, hotels.com, booking.com) and pay 50€/night without breakfast. Breakfast, if you reserve it the night before, will be cheaper and is around 11 €. I would highly recommend the breakfast, however take into consideration that during the week-end they open at 8:00 and might be too late.
Rooms are comfortable, but those facing the street are a little bit noisy. The internal ones are calm however you don't have much light. Since the room's floor is wood, it might be noisy if the guests staying in the upper room use high-heel shoes or move the desk chair.
In general the hotel needs renovation, 15 years ago I guess it looked like a 4 stars hotel, but today the stars are not really shinning.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

They only leave you one small weird shape pillow on your bed, and don't bother ask for another because "they can not leave the front desk"!!! 4 stars hotel for what..
Another thing, is you have to pay for an extra of 6.50 euros if you want someone to bring you hot water.. Otherwise you have to bring it yourself from the bar! Basically, you pay for a toilet and a sink.. No service..
I don't write reviews usually, but this hotel is terrible when it comes to service, which is the most important thing. I have not been to a hotel that bad in service!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hesperia Emperatriz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hesperia Emperatriz

Address: Lopez de Hoyos, 4, 28006 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Barrio de Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#133 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hesperia Emperatriz 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in downtown Madrid, and decorated with the stylish elegance of Casa & Jardin, the Hesperia Emperatriz gives your stay special charm and tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hesperia Emperatriz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hesperia Emperatriz Hotel Community Of Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hesperia Emperatriz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.