We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in fantastic location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Unico Madrid

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Unico Madrid to your Saves list
Hotel Unico Madrid
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Claudio Coello 67, 28006 Madrid, Spain (Barrio de Salamanca)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% Off + Free Breakfast
Ranked #27 of 453 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good hotel in fantastic location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We stayed 3 nights at Hotel Unico a couple of weeks ago. For me, the location is the best thing - surrounded by great restaurants and bars and easy to get around Madrid. We had a garden room which was smaller than I was expecting - and we did hear our neighbours closing the wardrobe doors and moving the bed on a couple of mornings (esp. the ones above us) which was a bit annoying.

I sort of agree with some of the earlier comments around 5-star boutique hotels. The check-in was slick and everything you expect, but the check-out was rather clumsy and felt rather rushed. I would have liked someone to ask how we had found our stay.The concierge chap at the front of the hotel was super friendly.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-HotelUnico, Director General at Hotel Unico Madrid, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice review. We appreciate you took the time to write it and are glad to see you have enjoyed your time aswell as the facilities and location. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back soon at Hotel Unico and hopefully we can provide you with the best experience possible. Thanks again!

Best regards,

Jaime Quiroga
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    72
    23
    6
    7
See reviews for
27
174
10
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

Loved it, it was a great location, hotel is perfect in every detail except one ( rooms are too dark) if you can manage try to ask for a room which gets some light in.

Great location from the heart of the city it is really only 6-7 Euro cab ride away however we used the number 51 and 19 busses to get everywhere.

Most of the good shopping in the city is walking distance and even if you are not a shopper just walking around salamanca is so much fun.


for the price you are paying I would definetly recommend this hotel in Madrid to everyone.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-HotelUnico, Director General at Hotel Unico Madrid, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for a lovely review. We are delighted to see you have had a great experience with us at Hotel Unico. It is a pleasure to see you have enjoyed our facilities and above all the location. Hopefully we get to welcome you soon again, on your next visit to Madrid. Thanks again!

Best regards,

Jaime Quirgoa
Director General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

Great front desk. Very helpful/friendly staff with efficient check in and good local advice.

But tiny dark rooms that are unpractical for the business traveller (1charging point); poor plumbing ( flooded bathroom floor and intermittent hot/cold water) and noisy rooms.

Breakfast so - so.... Not really worth the money.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-HotelUnico, Director General at Hotel Unico Madrid, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad to see you have enjoyed our service. However, it is a shame to see you have not experienced the rooms and breakfast as well as we had hoped you would. The lights in the room are carefully selected to fit the design so perhaps this is not to your taste. Moreover, we do provide a wide variety of fruits, pasteries, eggs (any style), pancakes, yoghurts etc for our breakfast and usually it is satisfactory for our guests. The hotel is always looking to improve so we will take your comment in account and would like to thank you for giving your opinion. Also, we hope to see you back some day and hopefully have a better experience.

Best regards,

Jaime Quiroga
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

This is a hotel that knows what service means geniusly friendly and not commercial helpful but not trying to sell you a place or a restaurant the size of the hotel makes you feel like being home highlander recommandés

Room Tip: I had room 402 and was very happy I don't know the other ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-HotelUnico, Director General at Hotel Unico Madrid, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for a short but great review. We appreciate you took the time to write it and would describe the staff as friendly and genuine. It is always a pleasure to see that our guests have had a wonderful time. We hope to welcome you back soon here with us at Hotel Unico!

Best regards,

Jaime Quiroga
Director General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stayed here for two nights. When we arrived in AM from overnight flight they graciously let us use a room to take a nap and clean up after out flight before our room was ready. Very clean and quiet. Helpful and friendly staff. Great breakfast. Great location.

Room Tip: Book garden room or suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-HotelUnico, Director General at Hotel Unico Madrid, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on Hotel Unico. We are delighted to see you have had a wonderful time here and would describe the hotel as great. I would be a pleasure to have you back with us in the near future. Thank you again and hopefully see you soon!

Best regards,

Jaime Quiroga
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

My wife and I stayed here at the Unico for 2 nights last week. First of all, the neighborhood of Salamanca is absolutely the best. Full of high-end intl. shopping, local shops, great restaurants, tree lined lanes, I can't imagine staying in any other barrio of Madrid.
The Unico itself is a great little hotel, we stayed in a garden room, number 111, overlooking a small grassy area behind the hotel, and with a small deck. The room is modern and comfortable, and reasonably sized for an in-city hotel (I have never stayed in a hotel room this large in Paris or London). The bathroom is fantastic, and the beds, linens and pillows top of the line.
But the best part of our stay was our lunch at the Ramon Freixa restaurant in the hotel, a 3 star Michelin affair. We booked a special deal a few months back, for 250Euros per night which included lunch for two at Ramon Freixa. Simply put, it was one of the finest meals I have ever had in my life! From the service (impeccable) the the presentation, to the flavors, this place is not to be missed.
I had no complaints with the front desk, or service. In fact, we had a very early flight out of Madrid, and had to leave the hotel around 06:30. There was immediate help available for quick checkout, baggage, taxi, etc.

Room Tip: I liked the garden room facing the back yard of the hotel. I would suspect that the street facing ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-HotelUnico, Director General at Hotel Unico Madrid, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for a wonderful comment on Tripadvisors. We are delighted to see you have had a great stay here with us and you've enjoyed our service, facilities and the Ramon Freixa Restaurant. Your words are very kind, motivating and encouraging for the rest of our team. We hope to welcome you back at Hotel Unico on your next visit to Madrid. Thank you again, and hopefully see you soon!

Best regards,

Jaime Quiroga
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

This isn't a bad hotel, in fact there are some things about it that are quite good - but, if you're looking for the certainty of a five star experience, you're not going to find it here.

When boutique hotels fail at five star it most often is a case of the property being understaffed (the small number of rooms can fail to generate sufficient cash flow to hire adequate staff). That's part of the problem at the Unico. Frequently, there can be long waits at the front desk. For the same reason, the phone can go unanswered, and the front desk folks can be under so much pressure to check people in, act as concierge, make reservations, and answer the phone that the tension is visible and uncomfortable. Other things are harder to explain. For instance, there is construction going on near the hotel and we were never notified beforehand. And there is a mechanical knocking that travels through the walls between 1 AM and 3 AM every night making it difficult to sleep. Our room, as many of the rooms, fronted the street, so sometimes there is street noise, but it's number three on the list of noise issues and the other two noise issues are problematic enough that I can't fairly judge how much of an issue it might or might not be. Yes, after three nights of a five night stay, the hotel received a call from our travel agent and offered to move us - but having to fight with a five star for attention and service is like is like having to fight with the sun to come up in the east - It should be automatic; when its not - something is wrong. In this case, since individually there are examples of very good hard working people on staff, I would guess that the problem lies with the manager. Besides the noise, we had several smaller issues that came up. It happens. No hotel is perfect. But commonly in a larger five star hotel, and ALWAYS in a five star boutique, if there is a problem, one hears directly from the manager. Not here. We never once saw the manager in the entirety of our five days at the Unico. Not a mortal sin in and of itself - but clearly indicative of the problems here. All hotels make mistakes and have things go wrong. It would be foolish to expect otherwise. But one of the things inherent to a five star culture is the palpable desire for perfection and when mistakes occur (as they inevitably do) there is a sense of regret on the part of the hotel and a desire to do better - not here. And that responsibility falls squarely upon management.

Odds and ends that might be helpful to know - the neighborhood is wonderful and the bathrooms are very well done. There is an issue with noise and the air conditioning is weak.

In the end , I'm not sure if we had a two star experience at a three star hotel or a three star experience at a "fourish" star hotel. But my take-away is less about the number of stars then my sense of disappointment. Perhaps the things that are important to you are not the same ones that are important to me - but if you are a discerning traveler, sorry to say, best to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-HotelUnico, Gerente at Hotel Unico Madrid, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for your feedback.

We are grateful to listen all the details you mention in order to improve our service. Above all, we have a very strong philosophy about the quality of the service we offer our guests.
Continue with this , when we receive any type of complain or request from our guests we always do our best to satisfy them. Fortunately, we get it in 99% of times.
We always were at your disposal during your stay , offering different options ans solutions as a new room more suitable for your requests , trying to satisfy your needs and to do your stay confortable.
The maintenance team checked the noises but any noise was found. The Manager on duty was pleased to speak to you the second day and made the follow up during the rest of your stay with different attentions.
All our staff have a high qualification and we are very proud to receive so many reviews emphasising the quality of our team as helpful , friendly and always willing to satisfy all the needs of our guests. Specially , the remarkable quality of the concierge service.

Regarding the light construction in front of the garden you mention, I would like to say that it has been already finished and I would like to apologize for the inconveniences it might caused you during the breakfast.

We would be very glad to welcoming you again in your next visit to Madrid.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Unico Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Unico Madrid

Address: Claudio Coello 67, 28006 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Barrio de Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 453 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Unico Madrid 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right at the heart of the Salamanca district, nestling among Madrid's most exclusive boutiques and just steps from its historic centre, a little gem has just appeared on the national hotel scene. Selenza Madrid,is a charming boutique hotel conceived and designed to offer guests real luxury and comfort, with its surprising and welcoming design and an array of fully customized Premium services tailored to the needs and requirements of each guest ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Booking.com, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Unico Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Unico Madrid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.