We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing well located Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Unico Madrid

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Unico Madrid to your Saves list
Hotel Unico Madrid
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Claudio Coello 67, 28006 Madrid, Spain (Barrio de Salamanca)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% Off + Free Breakfast
Ranked #22 of 453 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Santiago, Chile
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing well located Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Very nice service and location, friendly staff and new accomodations.

Really recomend if you wanna a nice boutique hotel near Serrano St.
If you have time, it is also worthwhile try the restaurant also.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    67
    22
    5
    7
See reviews for
25
165
9
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Good location in centre of Madrid.Near museums and Salamanca shopping.Room with view of garden was immaculate.Some may find bathroom on small side but did not worry us at all.Staff competent and courteous.Breakfast was included and a delight to have overlooking garden.
Complimentary water and apple juice available with pastries all day.

Room Tip: Choose room with garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Top Contributor
350 reviews 350 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
305 helpful votes 305 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Great place to stay very centrally located and of course there is Ramon Freixa resturant which has to be one if not the best culinary experience in our foodie life. You will not be disappointed! This place is centrally located and close to all the action

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

We were so pleased with the most helpful receptionists and staff. The decor us just beautiful.

I do have to agree with the previous reviews: way too expensive breakfast if you eat light (1 fixed price), a/c takes the whole day to cool and while you sleep it seems to do so too.

The upsides are best location for brand shopping and restaurants, great staff, and a Michelin restaurant in house of Ramon Frexia (a whole experience worth your palate senses!).

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

My wife and I stayed in a junior suite. The room was spacious and well laid out, although the "windows" in the sloped roof were a little unusual; there was plenty of light but no view whatsoever.
We had a real problem with the bed, which was very hard (even for me, and I am not light), and too uncomfortable for my wife to sleep on.
We raised this several times with the staff, but it seems there was nothing that could be done. Other hotels have resolved this problem by putting a mattress topping on the bed. I was surprised that a 5 star hotel in a major capital city could not do this.
Otherwise, the staff were extremely helpful.
Breakfast was appallingly expensive even by 5 star standards, but there are plenty of places nearby where an excellent breakfast could be had for far less money.
The location was great, with the Retiro, Prado and other places being within a 20 minute walk, or short taxi trip; and there was good public transport nearby.
The decor etc were excellent, but for us the bed problem was a deal breaker.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

My husband and I (together with our two friends) stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in mid June, after 18 days of land tour through Spain, Portugal and Morocco with a group. This is our second visit to Madrid. We stayed at hotel Villa Real the first time and have decided to stay closer to Salamanca area this time.

We arrived at this hotel mid morning and was pleased that our room was available for us to check in. We were initially booked into a Unico King Garden room. The view from this first room is very nice since it is facing the beautiful courtyard garden. However, we found the bedroom itself a little bit too squeezy so we decided to upgrade to a Deluxe King room (#201) situated on the same floor. It is a much larger room in comparison but it faces the top of the garage and so did not have a full garden view. We had a slight issue with the airconditioner initially because the room was quite warm when we first entered and it took just about the whole day to bring the temperature down to a desirable level. However, the room itself was very very clean and housekeeping was excellent.



The hotel location is just perfect. El Cortes Ingles and all the well known 'brand name' shops are all within easy walking distance. Just outside the hotel, we found some very interesting little shops as well.

We didn't have enough nights to eat at the restaurant this time nor did we have the time to use the gym or spa facility.

We did, however, enjoyed using the lounge for our pre-dinner drinks and the breakfast in the morning was plentiful and good.

Our stay was short but was most enjoyable. Thank you to the guy at the reception for organising our seafood dinner at a wonderful restaurant on our first night. A big 'thank you' also goes to all the wonderful staff for making our two days there so pleasant. We would love to return to Madrid again one day and if we do, we would definitely choose to stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We spent our 1st two nights and our last night in Spain at the Unico and would have liked an extra day at each end to give both Madrid and this wonderful hotel their proper due. On our first stay we appreciated the staff taking care of jetlagged early birds by offering breakfast on the outside terrace while waiting for our rooms to open up. Rooms were smallish modern but very comfortable, with good bathrooms. Staff also made great suggestions to eat nearby both nights, as well as the best way to get to the Prado (by bus in 10 minutes). But the best part of the Unico was our reception on coming back. We were treated like long time regulars who had been missed. They made our final night (which in my mind was a necessary stop on our way home) surprisingly refreshing and enjoyable. A find.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Unico Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Unico Madrid

Address: Claudio Coello 67, 28006 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Barrio de Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 453 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Unico Madrid 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right at the heart of the Salamanca district, nestling among Madrid's most exclusive boutiques and just steps from its historic centre, a little gem has just appeared on the national hotel scene. Selenza Madrid,is a charming boutique hotel conceived and designed to offer guests real luxury and comfort, with its surprising and welcoming design and an array of fully customized Premium services tailored to the needs and requirements of each guest ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Venere, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Agoda, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Unico Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Unico Madrid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.