We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique hotel in stylish part of town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Unico Madrid

Save Saved
You added Hotel Unico Madrid to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Unico Madrid
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Claudio Coello 67, 28006 Madrid, Spain (Salamanca)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 458 hotels in Madrid
surrey uk
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“Boutique hotel in stylish part of town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Originally given rm 208 ( a courtyard room) but as the window looked over a dark and noisy ( air conditioner unit) we asked to be moved. Not impressed with 211 or 111, but liked rm 103. This overlooked the street but was not noisy, and gave natural daylight without having to have the curtains drawn for some privacy.
Bed good, lighting a bit weird, no tea making facilities, TV, AC, safe, mini bar, easy chair and some circulation pace. The bathroom had some convoluted mixing/shower system and a shower door that only folded inwards, but then hit the shower head; I had a bandaged sprained ankle I was trying to keep dry, but as you had to get into the bath to work the hand- held spray.....
Front Staff - especially the bags guy and the doorman, very friendly and helpful. Chambermaids were good.
We ate at the hotel Michelin star restaurant one night, which I will review separately.
We did not eat breakfast at the hotel.
Great location for shopping and eating/drinking with some excellent local bars and restaurants of varying types.
Good for the tourist bus stop and ordinary buses/metro but not on a great line. However, although not close to the tourist areas it was not too far and the eating/shopping opps compensated for this.
Easy access to the the hotel via a 4 stop commuter train from T4for 4.5E single and then a 5 min walk.
Stayed 3 nights, Loved Madrid, liked the hotel. Would seriously consider another visit to both.

Room Tip: We liked room 103.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    145
    38
    15
    5
    4
See reviews for
13
109
5
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Veracruz, Mexico
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

It was a long time since my last visit to Madrid, so when I looked for a Hotel, I found several I did not know. One of those was Hotel Unico Madrid (Claudio Coello 67). I chose it because of its location and the images I saw on the web page; so when we got there it was a pleasent surprise to see I made no mistakes!. The location is very good, the Hotel staff was kind and really caring. Our room was clean, well appointed and... spacious!!!, of course, this was something remarkable, given the fact that we previously stayed in London, where Hotel rooms are quite small, well, lots all them. Breakfast is good. It is located in the Barrio de Salamanca, known for its shops and restaurants, just around the corner from Paseo de la Castellana, one of the main avenues in Madrid. Just one thing to improve: we could hear the noises from the street in our room. I would have prefered a less noisy place. But the rest was just great.

Room Tip: Ask for a not so noisy room. I could hear the cleaning cars picking up the garbage early in the morn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ traveler
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights and hosted a business meeting here. It was a very nice boutique hotel. I found the rooms to be small, but reasonable given this is Europe. Very modern, clean. The bathroom was large and the amenities top notch. The reception area and lobby is small. The staff was very attentive. There is a nice garden where the restaurant is. Being it was warm , we were able to enjoy breakfast and drinks outside. I would recommend this hotel and stay there again, business or personal. It is in a great location, walking distance to the Metro, Retiro Park, and great shopping. It is a quieter part of Madrid as well. Great boutique hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed two nights at this hotel in room 21. The room was large and clean and the bathroom was huge. The AC was exceptional, very unusual in European hotel rooms. We did not eat in the restaurant or use the wifi. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
173 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Great value! Excellent hotel in a perfect location. Our room was charming and comfortable. Don't miss the 1 Michelin star restaurant: it is a little expensive, but the food and the ambiance are excellent.The only thing they don't really have is parking space but you won't need it this is right next to everything cool in Madrid. Very nice experience!

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scandinavia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Hotel Unico is located in the heart of Madrid, in a high-end shopping area. Apparently the hotel even offers a personal shopper. As expected for a carefully designed one-year old hotel, the stay was pleasurable. A high and consistent service level made us guests feel most valued.

The backside garden was green and quiet, with comfortable sofas to enhance the experience of a short break. In an inner city environment where most public areas are covered with tarmac, concrete or similar materials, the small private hotel garden (with a lawn) is a wonderful little oasis.

The restaurant offers well presented food with brilliant tapas-style dishes. Occasionally these dishes include strong cheese, which is not for everyone. Something to consider when catering for groups. Some dishes such as the duck burger are also more innovative than enjoyable. My recommendation would be to play it safe as details like these can distract from an otherwise good hotel experience.

An improvement area for Unico is the minimalistic breakfast. Without basic hot meals (eggs/bacon), youghurt, muesli, breads, marmalade, fruit, and vegetables, it just felt too small. I could only find some pre-made (but tasty) micro croissants and that is, quite frankly, not enough at this hotel level. Comparable international hotels perform much better, at least in other cities.

Overall, the Unico is a pleasant experience. Would I go back? Yes, of course. But only after checking alternative hotels on the breakfast side. Unico excels with its inevitable charm of a beautifully designed and well managed boutique hotel in a top city location. That itself will always go a long way.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We loved our stay at Hotel 41. Although we were exhausted after our long flight,
The rooms are nice but the best part of this hotel is the service! Every time you go into the executive lounge they are extremely helpful and willing to help in any way they can. We had planned our restaurants beforehand, but if you are not a pre-planner they will be very helpful. The food and drinks in the lounge..

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Unico Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Unico Madrid

Address: Claudio Coello 67, 28006 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 458 hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Unico Madrid 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right at the heart of the Salamanca district, nestling among Madrid's most exclusive boutiques and just steps from its historic centre, a little gem has just appeared on the national hotel scene. Selenza Madrid,is a charming boutique hotel conceived and designed to offer guests real luxury and comfort, with its surprising and welcoming design and an array of fully customized Premium services tailored to the needs and requirements of each guest ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tablet Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, MrandMrsSmith, EasyToBook, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Unico Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Unico Madrid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.