We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Segun Emma

Segun Emma
Plazuela del Conde de Miranda, 4, 28005 Madrid, Spain (Centro)
91 559 08 97
Improve this listing
Ranked #332 of 6,407 restaurants in Madrid
Price range: $14 - $28
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Centro
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“a great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

went there for our last meal in Madrid. The restaurant was pretty quiet and the atmosphere was really good. we were lucky that there was an friend of owner that that could speak English and she suggested us the best meals we could have in there, that are local and traditional for this region. Together with red wine, the meal was amazing. The service was really good, even with our language barrier, we managed to experience the best of it.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    21
    20
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
242 helpful votes 242 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

One of our tapas took so long to arrive that the busy host treated us to free wine. A laid back place with decent tapas - good solomillo - very good wine by the glass and extraordinarily good value. Would go back.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“They must be tired of reading how good they are!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Here is review number 138 reporting that Emma is a wonderful place to have a meal. The three of us went there last night on the advice of a French friend who told us they fell in love with the food here a few years ago. It was all terrific, but we were especially amazed at the salad with greens, apple and mustard. Even me, never a salad man, simply loved it. So, our recommendation is, just go. But just don't tell them how good are or they may increase their very reasonable prices.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Perfect place for tapas and wine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

Segun Emma its a perfect place in the center (around Plaza Mayor) to try some good tapas and have few glasses of wine. Its located few meters from Mercado San Miguel, but its not so touristic and it has a very good energy. The tapas are excellent and the service is good as well. The place is really small (just few tables) so go early or try to book a table in advance. Fully recommended!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
190 helpful votes 190 helpful votes
“Our regular spot during our Madrid trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2010

We ate here at least 6 times over a 10 day vacation and just had to keep going back. Very tiny neighborhood place, not touristy at all and often we appeared to be the only non-locals in the place. It's down a steep staircase, they have a bar w/stools + 6 tables along a bench set into the wall. Great food - never had anything we didn't like - from tapas to entrees. Two awesome women running the show - we never learned their names, but they were really lovely and after the first visit always greeted us with a smile and a hello. They do have an english menu if you ask for it. Will be very smoky (as will most places in Madrid) and more often than not someone was there with their dog, so if that bothers you take it into consideration. Love the salmorejo (cold tomato cream w/hardboiled egg and bacon), pork cheek stew, pork loin with carmelized onions, all the tostas, cheeses and chorizos. More than once since we've been home and can't think of where to have dinner, we've looked at each other and one of us has said, "I miss Emma!" Right across from the Mercado de San Miguel, on the far side from Plaza Mayor.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Segun Emma also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to Segun Emma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Segun Emma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.