We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean but night staff a little unfriendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Confortel Atrium

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Confortel Atrium to your Saves list
Confortel Atrium
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Emilio Vargas, 28043 Madrid, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #123 of 453 Hotels in Madrid
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
270 reviews 270 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
“Clean but night staff a little unfriendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Stayed for 1 night, arrived in from airport about midnight and not a sole was at the reception desk, even though there was CCTV in reception no-one was available. We waited for up to 15 minutes, before realizing there was a bell on the outside of the automatic doors. When he finally booked us into our room, it was the incorrect one from the booking, so we had to go back down to the reception and get another room.

The best thing about hotel was the value and the breakfast

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    151
    57
    11
    10
See reviews for
68
109
21
88
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Albbruck, Germany
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

I stayed over 2 nights for a business trip. Arriving at the hotel after a long day exhaustedly arriving at the hotel one easily can fall into deep depression. The hotel is lacking all around any atmosphere or sort of friendly and nice environment. Staff is factual and unlearned to smile- Room is pragmatic and again you feel like being prisoned even though knowing that prison must be something different. When checking out the price is showing all reasons for low level service - too cheap.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
confortelhoteles, Gerente at Confortel Atrium, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
We would like to express our sincere apologies for not living up to your expectations.

Fortunately, we usually don't receive complaints about our staff but, in any case, we truly appreciate all reviews from our guests, your comments hold greater value for us and will help our hotel in providing our guests with service excellence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sputnik62ms
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

A perfectly serviceable business hotel in a suburb of Madrid (about 15-20 mins away by taxi). Staff were reasonably helpful, breakfast was a bit sparse but had brilliant orange juice (as you'd hope from Spain).

There's a small shopping mall just up the road which has a couple of restaurants and cafes if you fancy a change from the hotel.

Wi-fi worked well and seemed to be pretty fast.

My only major issue was the fact that my room (both rooms, in fact, as I changed once to try and escape the problem) was stifling hot. Nothing worked - A/C on full, fan up as high as it would go - nothing. In the end, I just decided to live with it and try and spend as much time out of the room as possible.

A couple of other complaints from members of my party included that shower heads weren't attached or had to be held up on their fittings.

Not a bad hotel, but not really the true "Madrid" experience (if that's what you were looking for).

Room Tip: Take a look in the bathroom and make sure you've got everything in working order. Be warned abou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
confortelhoteles, Gerente at Confortel Atrium, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your considerate review. I would like to express our sincere apologies.

I am disappointed to read that we had not met your expectations and we definitely will work hard to solve it, in any case, we truly appreciate all reviews from our guests, which is such a valuable source of information and help us monitor the service we provide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klosters, Switzerland
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

This hotel is actually a very good business hotel, serving the offices nearby. Close to airport (15mins or €20 taxi). Decor is like the art, minimalist hotels all around the world but done well. Free internet (one passcode for all devices). The breakfast is quite good with large selection of fruit, pastries and savories. In the evening however, they didn't have the large (breakfast) room pen and just served a poor selection of pseudo Spanish food at the end of a makeshift bar.
We went right and then right again out of the hotel and found a small Spanish bar which served OK food.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

The hotel is in this business complex that seems to be not attracting lots of tenants. So when it is nighttime, the surrounding area looks quite abandoned and dark the overgrown grass and empty buildings. The long walk back from the subway station felt even longer than it was. There are some restaurants and groceries nearby, but if you need a nighttime snack, there is a Chinese takeout shop open til 12am and you can request the receptionist to get them to deliver to the hotel.

As for the hotel itself, it is quite fashionable. The bed is big and was able to get very good sleep. Bathtub is huge as well and can comfortably accomodate two people at once. As for the TV, only available English channels were news channels. They also had that CCTV channel form China which surprised me as well. Too bad, with this kind of location, these are not compelling reasons to book a room here.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

Won't go back. Nice staff but ironing was a real problem

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

I'm a frequent customer and I recommend it if the purpose of your stay is close to the hotel. If you want to visit the main tourist attractions of Madrid from here, I would not recommend. This hotel is very close to the airport, has decent facilities, with rooms of reasonable size. In some rooms there are starting to appear marks of the use. I've been in the restaurant for breakfast, lunch and in the bar for dinner. The food, is not outstanding, but it is served with quality and very efficient service. Closed to the hotel, 50 meters down the main street, you will find a bar / tavern / restaurant with good prices and many options. In summary, good hotel, but do not make it the base for your visit to Madrid.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Confortel Atrium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Confortel Atrium

Address: Emilio Vargas, 28043 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Best Value Hotel in Madrid
#74 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#84 Family Hotel in Madrid
#85 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#117 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Confortel Atrium 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Confortel Atrium is built around an impressive glass atrium from which takes its name. Located in a new business and residential area east of Madrid, the Confortel Atrium ads a new architectural style unique to the urban landscape. The hotel is located 10 minutes from the “Juan Carlos I” trade fair, “IFEMA” convention center and the Madrid-Barajas airport and has direct access to the M-30. Just a few minutes drive from the “Avenida de America”, with easy access to “Paseo de la Castellana”, the financial and administrative heart of Madrid.All rooms are decorated in modern style and offer free Wi-Fi, free bottled water, free safety deposit box, flat-screen TV, satellite TV and air conditioning. Enjoy a hearty breakfast buffet or a snack on the 600 m2 terrace by the Bar-Café, open all year long. Relax after a hard day of work or sightseeing around Madrid in the gym with natural light and panoramic views of Madrid ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Confortel Atrium reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Confortel Atrium Madrid
Confortel Atrium Hotel Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Confortel Atrium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.