We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy Stuck in 1970” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Galicia Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Galicia Hostel to your Saves list
Galicia Hostel
3.0 of 5 Hostel   |   CL Valverde 1, 28 012 Madrid, Spain (Malasana)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #267 of 372 Specialty Lodging in Madrid
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Noisy Stuck in 1970”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2010

We stayed in this so called 3 star hotel in augest 2010.Based on 4th floor with 1960 type lift
Decor throught the hotel is 1970 pebble dash with magnolia and white paint dirty. In ternal
doors and window must have about 5to 6 layer of paint. No air condition and they wont supply fan, temrature was in 32,34. If you dont mine greeted by prostuted when living
and entering hotel. we wont go back there agin

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    7
    13
    6
    5
See reviews for
6
14
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2010

We stayed at this hotel in May 2010 for three nights and while the hotel was in a very central location (handy for the underground network and within walking distance of all the main attractions), I certainly wouldn't be back.

Firstly, the biggest problem is the noise, not the hotels fault I know, but despite being five or six storeys up from street level, the noise in the hotel is unbearable at night. Anyone who has visited Gran Via or other main throughfares in Madrid will know these streets are busy right through the night and the sound of horns and sirens kept me awake virtually all night.

The other big problem was the service. On coming back around midnight one night we asked for the key to our room at reception, but the receptionist said that it wasnt there and we must have our room number wrong (which we both knew we did not). On politely informing him that we were certain it was the correct number, he turned pretty rude and tippee out all the keys from his drawer that were there, none of which were ours. Worried that someone else was in our room we went round ourselves and checked but the door was locked and there was no answer. By this time we were desperate for bed and were wanting to know what they had done with the key, so went back to reception and eventually the guy had a look round the reception and found the key, thrusting it at us with no apology.

Another thing which was annoying was that the receptionist would also disappear for very long periods, which meant that if you wanted to leave your key you had to leave it on the desk. It was not unusual to arrive back and see a big pile of keys sitting on the desk and no receptionist, not the most secure arrangement considering it is a small and quiet hotel with only one member of staff in the afternoon and night. However, even more annoying was if you handed the key to the receptionist on the way out, then on your return to the hotel he had done one of his vanishing acts. This happened to us and the only option was to sit and wait for around 15 mins until he reappeared from
wherever he had been.

Finally, the street is on the edge of the red light district, and there are plenty of prostitutes about on the street corners, and one in particular was a bit of a nuisance one night but generally they'll leave you alone and its always fairly busy, especially on Gran Via itself.

The hotel itself was clean but pretty old looking, hadnt been decorated in a long time. The beds were comfy and the shower/bathroom fine but there was very little else to the hotel other than a small breakfast room.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2008

After reading some of the other reviews i was a little apprehensive, but yet again I found a hotel with a lot of negative reviews perfectly acceptable. The hotel is in great location just on the gran via so right in the heart of the city. It is not an expensive hotel and you get what you pay for, it is basic but very clean and for a weekend break is fine. The bedroom was very warm and the shower powerful and hot. Breakfast was fine a bread roll, jam, butter, muffin, orange juice, coffee. Staff were friendly enough. I only have one negative and that was the shower holder was not good. Yes the hotel is a bit tired but for £85 for two nights in the centre of Madrid I have no complaints at all

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, ACT
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2008

for the price I paid I wasn't expecting much of this hotel, but even my low expectations weren't met. With one exception, the staff at reception were rude and surly . Not that the hotel could do anything about this, but it was also the noisiest hotel I've ever stayed at with people coming and going all night, slamming doors and talking loudly in the corridor. The room was clean and tidy but that and the hotel location are the only positives I can think of. The hotel is in serious need of some money spent on it - I stayed in other hotels in Europe of similar price and convenient location that left the Galicia for dead when it came to quality and standard of service.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — noise levels and poor quality of room for the price
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2008

I stayed at the Galicia for 3 nights earlier this month. It is a decent, cheap and safe place to stay. The location was excellent right in the heart of the city. The staff were friendly although they didnt speak much English at all. The breakfast was included, it was basic but ok.
The only problem i experienced was with a tour operator, Trapsatur, (which offers their services through most of the hotels). The tours do not include all the features listed, the staff were rude and the translations were mostly in Spanish, hardly any English at all. It's probably best to stick with the open top city tour buses.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donostia-San Sebastián
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2008

I was a bit leery about this place after reading some of the comments but I found that it wasn't that bad. It's not the Ritz but it is clean. The price and location are excellent. It is right on the corner of Gran Via, so you don't really have to run into strange or scary people. My sister found it to be far more decadent than I did, but I have lived in Spain for ten years; she is used to American chain hotels.

The breakfast was not that fabulous but did include coffee, juice, bread, butter, jam, and a muffin, which is enough. Most places don't even serve you breakfast for the price, so I appreciated that.

The shower is something that I usually find to be a problem, even in nicer hotels, but this one was fine. Drawbacks would include poor lighting (not really that big of a deal) and old windows with broken mechanisms. I imagine it gets pretty cold in the winter with those windows! There was construction across the street in the Telefonica building all night long, which kept us up, but that's not really the hotel's fault. Actually, I don't really understand why they would have them working all night. During the day there was no one to be seen...

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The windows
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgwater
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2008

I read the two reviews after I had booked the hostel and took my 78 year old mother here for her birthday, mainly for Madrid rather than for the accommodation.

The best point had to be the location. Right next to a metro stop and all the shops in the old town. Definately not a place I would go back to however. I guess it was a typical hostel and the rooms were very basic, but clean and comfortable. The breakfast was very basic with just a roll and muffin and a drink, but adequate.

The most negative point wasn't the traffic outside which I thought it would be (this wasn't too bad), but it had to be the other residents. The hostel was full of Spanish students who thought it was good fun to not only speak very loudly outside the rooms at night, but to run up and down the corridors, in and out of each others rooms and even trying to get into your room (this went on until 1am). Unfortunately, reception didn't speak English and my Spanish is extremely poor, therefore compaining was fruitless.

I wouldn't recommend taking your elderly relatives there or even your partner. This is ideal for young single people who want 4 to a room. Ideal for the location alone.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Noisy
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Galicia Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galicia Hostel

Address: CL Valverde 1, 28 012 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Malasana
Hotel Style:
Ranked #267 of 372 Specialty Lodging in Madrid
Hotel Class:3 star — Galicia Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Galicia Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galicia Hotel Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galicia Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.