We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and modern” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Albergue Juvenil Madrid

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Albergue Juvenil Madrid to your Saves list
Albergue Juvenil Madrid
Calle Mejia Lequerica 21, 28004 Madrid, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 353 Specialty Lodging in Madrid
San Francisco
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice and modern”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

The hostel is pretty clean, but looks a little bit more like a hospital than hospitable. Receptionist (Virginia, in particular) was very nice about giving information. Pub crawls are offered every night, which I recommend. It's a great chance to meet people from other hostels and discover nightlife of Puerta del Sol. The showers will leak out into the bathroom floor if you're not careful about how you splash the water, but the bathrooms, showers, and bedroom are all clean. Lockers available in the rooms, which are good for storing your items. I would recommend this hostel, but it wouldn't be my first choice in Madrid.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    23
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
3
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bruxelles, Belgique
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

I spent two nights in Madrid and booked this hostel for its location. It was easy to find and within walking distance of some small bars that also served cheap food so that was all good.
Also the Puerta Del Sol and its shops were within walking distance.

The hostel was too big for me but I had some people to see in town and didn't spend much time at the hostel. The dorm was nice though with its black-ish bathroom, it was quite clean as well. Quite noisy at night though...

The only big downside to my stay there was that the dorm was way too warm - june and about 35°C daytime. So I asked at reception where was the aircon in the dorm as advertised on their website and the woman told me the temperature wasn't high enough yet for the hostel to be allowed to turn the aircon on... ok... So barely any sleep the first night, then on the second night we finally got the aircon but to me it was more like a fan... not very effective:(

The breakfast was included but I thought it was quite poor... 2 slices of toasted bread, some jam and "fake" orange juice.

For the rest it was ok though, staff was nice and let me use their luggage room for free after checking out, clean place, enough computers, ... Just a really big hostel full with people everywhere day and night:)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

Great service, reception, rooms, bathroom, breakfast and location. Very clean. Probably the best place that i've ever stayed.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

This hostel has a very modern feel (so perhaps not the best option for those who prefer a hostel with lots of character!). The room was good, with 4 beds and its own bathroom which was spacious and clean. We were disappointed to find that the air conditioning only seemed to work intermittently, resulting in the room being too hot to sleep in. We told reception but they didn't seem too concerned, although were polite. We were dismayed to be receive misinformation from a member of reception staff on departure, which resulted in us going to the wrong train station in Madrid and missing our train. Aside from these issues, the hostel was fairly good, in a nice location and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011 via mobile

Very good hostel with clean, simple rooms, air conditioning, clean washrooms, an elevator, a nice lounge, very nice personnel and only for 20 euros! The included breakfast is not so good but then again it is for free. I would denitively recomend it.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2011

This is a very modern hostel, immaculately clean and equipped, facilities wise it has just about everything you could ask for in a hostel. Free WiFi was great, although a bit patchy in the room.

The location is great, no more then 20 minutes walk from anywhere in the old city centre (where there are tons of nice bars and restaurants) and is well serviced by the Metro.

It's cost comes in at the upper end of what you'd expect for a youth hostel, but it is probably worth it. What would make it definitely worth it would be a bit better service. The staff were pleasant enough but not enormously helpful, When we asked for a local restaurant that served steaks we were given completely naff directions up some back alleys where there were no restaurants. Breakfast was very poor, (even by hostel standards!), bad coffee, no tea, corn flakes (but no bowels!) and slightly stale tasting bread that needed to be toasted to be nice. Positive was the walking tour organised through the hostel which was great.

Overall, I would recommend this hostel, the most important things were got right, but for the cost the service could be a little bit better!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, England
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2010

Excellent Hostel only 19 euros a night which included a great breakfast (toast, jam, croissants, coffee, hot milk and orange juice). We were a group of 4 and had a private room with our own bathroom. Hostel was 5 minutes walk from 2 main metro stations (Alonso Martinez and Tribunal) and about 20 mins walk from Puerto del Sol. There's also a few nice restaurants around the corner (especially the Mexican). We borrowed a DVD one afternoon which was free, they had a great selection, huge TV and surround sound system. All round great hostel, try the free walking tour leaving the reception at 11.30 everyday.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Albergue Juvenil Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergue Juvenil Madrid

Address: Calle Mejia Lequerica 21, 28004 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 353 Specialty Lodging in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the first Municipal Youth Hostel situated right in the centre of Madrid. The building of the hostel which was inagurated in 2007 boasts of the most modern facilities. The hostel has been named one of the best youth hostels in Europe, making Madrid an ideal place for tourism for national and international youth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Albergue Juvenil Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albergue Juvenil Madrid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.