We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Misleading reviews” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Celuisma Florida Norte

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Celuisma Florida Norte to your Saves list
Hotel Celuisma Florida Norte
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo de la Florida, 5, 28008 Madrid, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #342 of 457 Hotels in Madrid
Dublin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Misleading reviews”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Have just returned from a 5 night stay in this hotel. Unfortunately I had booked it before I read any reviews and was dreading staying there. However, when we arrived we thought we must be in the wrong hotel! The reception area is large and brightly lit, spotlessly clean. Admittedly the decor in the bedrooms and hallways is a bit old fashioned but as we were only in our room to sleep this did not bother us. The room was cleaned every day and fresh towels supplied every day. The breakfast offered a selection of juices, cereal, hot (bacon, sausage, egg) and cold (ham, cheese), different types of rolls and bread, pastries, fruit and yogurt. Now if anyone eats any more than that at home and were not happy with that I dont know what to think. We had no problem with this hotel, even with the language barrier. The staff were very helpful even tho we didnt speak Spanish and they didnt speak English but we managed to get by just by trial and error! I would definitely stay here again as it is very close to all the amenities, metro station just across the street, lots of buses passing by the door. So dont be put off by all those negative reviews, this is an ok hotel!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    202
    245
    101
    59
See reviews for
98
230
34
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wheeling, West Virginia
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I love this hotel. Its location is amazing! Directly across the street from Principe Pio Metro station and mall. A Short (UPHILL) walk to the royal palace. I had a gorgeous view of the back of the royal palace from my window! There are only 2 downfalls to this hotel! First, the WIFI is VERY low signal and really only strong in the hallways. The second downfall is that the walls are very thing (ALTHOUGH NORMAL IN EUROPE...NOT WHAT AMERICAN'S ARE USED TO!) Overall, the location, cleanliness, wonderful staff make it a hotel I would CHOOSE to use again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

The Hotel Celuisma Florida Norte is conveniently located near public transportation and directly across from Príncipe Pío shopping mall. It is also very close to the Royal Palace, which can be seen from the street. The breakfast buffet is very good and has a variety of options to choose from. The rooms are clean, and the service is ok, although the whole property looks a little outdated.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales (UK)
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Room was beautifully clean and kept so by the housekeepers (10 out of 10)
Close to shopping centre for wifi and coffee.
That (apart from two reasonably helpful desk clerks and the welcoming smile of the breakfast check girl) is it.
IGNORE the 4 stars - think tired Youth Hostel. Bare in mind I was in the room for over a week, and on business, seemingly minor problems made my stay unproductive and miserable. The beds were slatted hard and uncomfortable, there was no kettle in room, no iron, no radio and no effective wifi (advertised) to compensate, only Spanish TV (English and German advertised and sport channel too fuzzy to watch), couldn't care less attitude, inedible cooked breakfast, undrinkable drinks (fruit juice was either very watered down or was squash and fruit was out of a tin ... in Spain!!!), expensive 'business suite' computers, pay per night room safe (essential), angry staff at breakfast and in the bar, paper thin walls, rowdy school groups.
When I asked about the fitness suit I was told it was fully booked, so I didn't even get through the doors.
Had my work not already paid I'd have been out of the hotel like a shot.
If you can get a room for 40 Euros, speak Spanish and have no schedule to keep then it might be OK for one or two nights.
I would love to be more positive and empathise with those in the hotel who were polite and did their jobs well, but I feel I have share my experience which I believe was quite typical.

Room Tip: Ask to inspect the room as you may get better than I or my colleagues managed; otherwise use another...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I was very disappointed at the standard of this supposedly '4 star' hotel. The reception staff were not at all friendly or helpful. I left my room key in at reception one evening and was asked what my problem was! When I hurt my knee and required ice, there was no ice-pack available. Neither was an iron available in the hotel to iron clothes.
The worst experience of my stay was an inability to get a decent sleep. As this hotel is located opposite Principe Pio, there was much banging at night due to on-going road works. On my last night, I phoned reception at 2am to complain, and the reply was that the company working throughout the night had a permit to do so, and this was outside the control of the hotel-invest in better windows please!
I would advise anyone to stay in a hotel with better facilities, and certainly more helpful and friendly staff!!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing Principe Pio station
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We've stayed here several times and it is a great hotel. Florida Norte is steps away from the Royal Palace gardens, and in the summer its a cool retreat from the city sidewalks. Prinpcipe Pio station is across the street and offers shopping, coffee, beers and subway connections. Two blocks down the street is Casa Mingo (excellent rotisserie chicken.) We don't stay here much anymore as we are always trying new places, but I do recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This hotel was not bad overall. It was booked by EF Tours, so I really didn't have a choice in the matter!

The room was small, but clean. I had to ask for a blanket as the maids took mine during their cleaning and did not return it. The bathroom was clean as well. Overall, the facilities were modem, but sparse.

The service was "ok" as they seemed annoyed by my attempts to engage them in Spanish.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Celuisma Florida Norte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Celuisma Florida Norte

Address: Paseo de la Florida, 5, 28008 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#171 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Celuisma Florida Norte 4*
Number of rooms: 399
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Florida Norte Hotel is in the city centre, close to the Palacio Real and the main accesses to Madrid. High capacity, elegant and sober decoration. With an excellent service and a warm team prepared to make you feel at home. At the hotel we offer you a private garage, boutiques, money exchange, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Celuisma Florida Norte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celuisma Florida Norte Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Celuisma Florida Norte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.