We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good breakfast, good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel City House Florida Norte By Faranda

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel City House Florida Norte By Faranda to your Saves list
Hotel City House Florida Norte By Faranda
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo de la Florida, 5, 28008 Madrid, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #366 of 450 Hotels in Madrid
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
77 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good breakfast, good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

The Hotel Celuisma Florida Norte is conveniently located near public transportation and directly across from Príncipe Pío shopping mall. It is also very close to the Royal Palace, which can be seen from the street. The breakfast buffet is very good and has a variety of options to choose from. The rooms are clean, and the service is ok, although the whole property looks a little outdated.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pablo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

963 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Wales (UK)
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Room was beautifully clean and kept so by the housekeepers (10 out of 10)
Close to shopping centre for wifi and coffee.
That (apart from two reasonably helpful desk clerks and the welcoming smile of the breakfast check girl) is it.
IGNORE the 4 stars - think tired Youth Hostel. Bare in mind I was in the room for over a week, and on business, seemingly minor problems made my stay unproductive and miserable. The beds were slatted hard and uncomfortable, there was no kettle in room, no iron, no radio and no effective wifi (advertised) to compensate, only Spanish TV (English and German advertised and sport channel too fuzzy to watch), couldn't care less attitude, inedible cooked breakfast, undrinkable drinks (fruit juice was either very watered down or was squash and fruit was out of a tin ... in Spain!!!), expensive 'business suite' computers, pay per night room safe (essential), angry staff at breakfast and in the bar, paper thin walls, rowdy school groups.
When I asked about the fitness suit I was told it was fully booked, so I didn't even get through the doors.
Had my work not already paid I'd have been out of the hotel like a shot.
If you can get a room for 40 Euros, speak Spanish and have no schedule to keep then it might be OK for one or two nights.
I would love to be more positive and empathise with those in the hotel who were polite and did their jobs well, but I feel I have share my experience which I believe was quite typical.

Room Tip: Ask to inspect the room as you may get better than I or my colleagues managed; otherwise use another...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CastleJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Madrid hotels

Dublin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I was very disappointed at the standard of this supposedly '4 star' hotel. The reception staff were not at all friendly or helpful. I left my room key in at reception one evening and was asked what my problem was! When I hurt my knee and required ice, there was no ice-pack available. Neither was an iron available in the hotel to iron clothes.
The worst experience of my stay was an inability to get a decent sleep. As this hotel is located opposite Principe Pio, there was much banging at night due to on-going road works. On my last night, I phoned reception at 2am to complain, and the reply was that the company working throughout the night had a permit to do so, and this was outside the control of the hotel-invest in better windows please!
I would advise anyone to stay in a hotel with better facilities, and certainly more helpful and friendly staff!!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing Principe Pio station
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaryPh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

We've stayed here several times and it is a great hotel. Florida Norte is steps away from the Royal Palace gardens, and in the summer its a cool retreat from the city sidewalks. Prinpcipe Pio station is across the street and offers shopping, coffee, beers and subway connections. Two blocks down the street is Casa Mingo (excellent rotisserie chicken.) We don't stay here much anymore as we are always trying new places, but I do recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jannisxixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This hotel was not bad overall. It was booked by EF Tours, so I really didn't have a choice in the matter!

The room was small, but clean. I had to ask for a blanket as the maids took mine during their cleaning and did not return it. The bathroom was clean as well. Overall, the facilities were modem, but sparse.

The service was "ok" as they seemed annoyed by my attempts to engage them in Spanish.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

A good hotel, rooms a little outdated but spacious and comfortable, good service overall, good enough location to get around Madrid, public areas very spacious but decor outdated - so not romantic, not trendy, not 4 star but very good value for what we paid.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marlumus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenerife
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel for a weekened and I was very disappointed!.

The hotel is very large and very out dated, really needs a good clean up and modernising to meet the 4 star rating.

The lounge area had many lights that didn't work, old furniture that was dirty and uncomfortable. The bedroom was basic and yes the beds were comfortable, thankfully ! however the TV had the wrong remote control for the make of TV so that couldn.t be used poperly, the decor again was very dated, although clean.

the bathroom was very old and we were not allowed to use the bath. This is not a problem in itself because they are trying to conserve water. However maybe they should renew the bathrooms with walk in showers !

The showers were hot and powerful which was good but stuck to the wall so you could not move the shower head.

The luggage room worked well when you depart and is locked for safety, this was a help to us.

The location is the best part of this hotel as it is very central, right on Principe Pio metro station and very accessable to all areas.

Our friends stayed in the Madfor hotel next door...a 3 star hotel....but had a much better decor, cleaniness and everything was better.

My advice.....go next door!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmarillaDivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Hotel Acta Madfor
#89 of 450 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 stars 702 reviews
Principe Pio Hotel
#176 of 450 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 stars 772 reviews
Hotel Praga
#317 of 450 in Madrid
3.5 of 5 stars 918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Puerta de Toledo
#217 of 450 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 stars 536 reviews
Hotel Gran Atlanta
#389 of 450 in Madrid
3.0 of 5 stars 335 reviews
San Blas
Holiday Inn Madrid - Calle Alcala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel City House Florida Norte By Faranda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel City House Florida Norte By Faranda

Address: Paseo de la Florida, 5, 28008 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#179 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel City House Florida Norte By Faranda 4*
Number of rooms: 399
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City House Florida Norte Hotel is in the city centre, close to the Royal Palace and the main accesses to Madrid. High capacity, elegant and sober decoration. With an excellent service and a warm team prepared to make you feel at home. At the hotel we offer you a private garage, boutiques, money exchange, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel City House Florida Norte By Faranda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celuisma Florida Norte Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing