We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good breakfast, good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Celuisma Florida Norte

Save Saved
You added Hotel Celuisma Florida Norte to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Celuisma Florida Norte
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo de la Florida, 5, 28008 Madrid, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #343 of 458 Hotels in Madrid
Queretaro, Mexico
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good breakfast, good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

The Hotel Celuisma Florida Norte is conveniently located near public transportation and directly across from Príncipe Pío shopping mall. It is also very close to the Royal Palace, which can be seen from the street. The breakfast buffet is very good and has a variety of options to choose from. The rooms are clean, and the service is ok, although the whole property looks a little outdated.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    196
    232
    99
    56
See reviews for
96
224
32
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wales (UK)
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Room was beautifully clean and kept so by the housekeepers (10 out of 10)
Close to shopping centre for wifi and coffee.
That (apart from two reasonably helpful desk clerks and the welcoming smile of the breakfast check girl) is it.
IGNORE the 4 stars - think tired Youth Hostel. Bare in mind I was in the room for over a week, and on business, seemingly minor problems made my stay unproductive and miserable. The beds were slatted hard and uncomfortable, there was no kettle in room, no iron, no radio and no effective wifi (advertised) to compensate, only Spanish TV (English and German advertised and sport channel too fuzzy to watch), couldn't care less attitude, inedible cooked breakfast, undrinkable drinks (fruit juice was either very watered down or was squash and fruit was out of a tin ... in Spain!!!), expensive 'business suite' computers, pay per night room safe (essential), angry staff at breakfast and in the bar, paper thin walls, rowdy school groups.
When I asked about the fitness suit I was told it was fully booked, so I didn't even get through the doors.
Had my work not already paid I'd have been out of the hotel like a shot.
If you can get a room for 40 Euros, speak Spanish and have no schedule to keep then it might be OK for one or two nights.
I would love to be more positive and empathise with those in the hotel who were polite and did their jobs well, but I feel I have share my experience which I believe was quite typical.

Room Tip: Ask to inspect the room as you may get better than I or my colleagues managed; otherwise use another...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I was very disappointed at the standard of this supposedly '4 star' hotel. The reception staff were not at all friendly or helpful. I left my room key in at reception one evening and was asked what my problem was! When I hurt my knee and required ice, there was no ice-pack available. Neither was an iron available in the hotel to iron clothes.
The worst experience of my stay was an inability to get a decent sleep. As this hotel is located opposite Principe Pio, there was much banging at night due to on-going road works. On my last night, I phoned reception at 2am to complain, and the reply was that the company working throughout the night had a permit to do so, and this was outside the control of the hotel-invest in better windows please!
I would advise anyone to stay in a hotel with better facilities, and certainly more helpful and friendly staff!!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing Principe Pio station
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We've stayed here several times and it is a great hotel. Florida Norte is steps away from the Royal Palace gardens, and in the summer its a cool retreat from the city sidewalks. Prinpcipe Pio station is across the street and offers shopping, coffee, beers and subway connections. Two blocks down the street is Casa Mingo (excellent rotisserie chicken.) We don't stay here much anymore as we are always trying new places, but I do recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This hotel was not bad overall. It was booked by EF Tours, so I really didn't have a choice in the matter!

The room was small, but clean. I had to ask for a blanket as the maids took mine during their cleaning and did not return it. The bathroom was clean as well. Overall, the facilities were modem, but sparse.

The service was "ok" as they seemed annoyed by my attempts to engage them in Spanish.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is totally overrated. It deserves at last 2 stars. It might have been a 4 stars hotel back in the '70s, but nowadays it's nothing more than a low category Comfort Inn.
The whole hotel is dates. Old and dirty tapestry covers up the paper thin walls, through which you can hear what's happening in the next 2 rooms on every side, bathroom included. Those are squalid and kind of dirty, provided with only 3 horrible little bags of shower gel and melted bar soaps. The carpet is just disgusting and I think it has never been cleaned!
Breakfast and dinner are just unedilble: microwaved, cheap, horrible food is served in dirty vessels and is often recycled.
Service is poor and no one speaks English, which is not acceptable in any 4 stars hotel in the world.
The only positive aspect is the location, quite central and in front of a big, important station. The free wifi is a plus; it would be nice if it worked properly without disconnecting every 2 minutes.
Therefore, squalor wraps up everything. You could go in a 3 stars hotel, spending less and receiving a WAY BETTER service... This only deserves 2 stars.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

A good hotel, rooms a little outdated but spacious and comfortable, good service overall, good enough location to get around Madrid, public areas very spacious but decor outdated - so not romantic, not trendy, not 4 star but very good value for what we paid.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Celuisma Florida Norte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Celuisma Florida Norte

Address: Paseo de la Florida, 5, 28008 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#170 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Celuisma Florida Norte 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Florida Norte Hotel is in the city centre, close to the Palacio Real and the main accesses to Madrid. High capacity, elegant and sober decoration. With an excellent service and a warm team prepared to make you feel at home. At the hotel we offer you a private garage, boutiques, money exchange, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Tingo, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Celuisma Florida Norte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celuisma Florida Norte Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Celuisma Florida Norte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.