We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worst hostel I've ever been.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Almanzor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hostal Almanzor to your Saves list
Hostal Almanzor
Carrera San Jeronimo, 11, 28014 Madrid, Spain (Centro)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #181 of 237 Madrid B&B and Inns
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“worst hostel I've ever been.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

This hostel is very dark, dirty and smelly. There were bugs in the room! Clean, no way!

If you stay in a room facing the street, it is pretty noisy cause people sit and drink at the street, than they start yelling and breaking the beer bottles. We went back to the hostel around 3am and and we could not sleep till morning.

The people who work there don't speak english but they are nice and friendly.

The location is excellent but it doesn't worth staying there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    11
    19
    3
    7
See reviews for
3
17
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

This hotel is very close to Madrid's main square, Puerta del Sol. Easy to find, metro stations are just few minutes away. Main sights are also very close.
The hotel itself is simple, but the room was very clean. You can find many cafes in the street to have a breakfast. If you have problems with sleeping, bring earplugs, because it is in a noisy street.
If you are looking for a cheap place in the centre for sleeping, choose Hostal Almanzor!
Ideal for young people and families without small children.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingman, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

This hostel is very basic, but at least clean. It is located within walking distance of all Madrid's main attractions. It is very noisy at night - remember earplugs!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corrientes, Argentina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2011

I recomend this hotel because I had the best experience in Madrid staying here. The hotel's location is sensational: its 1 block away from Puerta del Sol. the area is very safe and the owners and employees of the hotel had the best intention to help me in anything, and were very polite all the time. If I ever come back to Spain I'll definetly stay there again. I got more that what I had payed for. It's excellent! Cheap, very clean and comfortable.
This is why you should book here.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

After reading the reviews in Spanish, I booked this for my solo travels. The reviews were mostly right- great location and very clean. However, the staff and other promises made leave a lot to be desired. My "room" was more like what I imagine a Japanese closet-like bed hole for a business man. The "free internet" is only available if you stay in a room near the front door, which a majority of rooms are not. So, to call my husband at 9am before he went to work at home, I had to venture into the smoke-filled room near the front desk where the one person working watches TV in the dark. I'm not kidding-it's not pleasant. Then, the male who "works" there (i.e. watches soccer in the dark with lots of cigarettes) told me I couldn't talk (I was Skyping) as it was too early and I would wake the other guests... not that any occupied rooms were even near me. No one on staff spoke English, so lucky for me I studied Spanish, and they offered no help or niceties of any kind. Stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal Almanzor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Almanzor

Address: Carrera San Jeronimo, 11, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Cortes / Plaza Santa Ana
Amenities:
Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #181 of 237 B&Bs / Inns in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hostal Almanzor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Almanzor Hotel Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Almanzor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.