We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Design Hotel - Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Petit Palace Mayor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Petit Palace Mayor to your Saves list
Petit Palace Mayor
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mayor St 46 | City Center, 28013 Madrid, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #170 of 458 Hotels in Madrid
Patras, Greece
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Design Hotel - Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We decided to stay at Petit Palace Mayor since we stayed at another Petit Palace in Barcelona and we were thrilled by the hotel! We made the right choise. The hotel is 1 minute away from Plaza Mayor and Mercado de San Miguel (worth a visit!). Sol train station is 5 minutes way!
The first room we stayed in was nice and comfortable for two people! The bathroom was amazing!
Staff are extremely friendly and helpful! If I were to visit Madrid again (I WISH!!!!), I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eri_Martinez_Varela, Online Sales Department at Petit Palace Mayor, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear guest,

First of all, I would like to thank you for your confidence in Petit Palace. We are pleased to read that the hotel met your expectations, since as you point out, this is located in the tourist heart of the city, close to all tourist attractions. Thanks for recommending us, it will be a pleasure to meet you again, guaranteeing that we will strive to ensure that you stay again be to your liking.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    167
    59
    25
    10
See reviews for
98
117
15
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

A bunch of us stayed here for a mates stag do in September 2012 and although we were a bit loud at times and came in late the staff on duty were really friendly and patient and spoke really good English... Which was lucky for us.

The hotel was clean throughout and decorated to a decent standard. The rooms varied depending on the layout. Between us we had two rooms. One as large, square and without a balcony and the other as narrow but had a huge balcony which was handy for us to sit outside and relax on prior to hitting the centre of Madrid.

The hotel is perfectly located in the centre of Madrid so everything is easy to get to.

If I ever return to Madrid I would definitely consider using this hotel again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eri_Martinez_Varela, Online Sales Department at Petit Palace Mayor, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear guest,

First of all, thank you for choosing us for your stay in Madrid. We are pleased to read that the hotel met your expectations and you enjoyed your stay in Madrid. As you rightly noted, the hotel is perfectly situated in the tourist heart of the city, very close both to monuments and tourist attractions as areas to go drinking and dancing, while remaining a quiet street for its great location. Thanks for recommending us. We will be glad to welcome you again.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at the Petit Palace twice on a recent trip to Spain - once at the beginning of our trip, and once at the end!
The hotel is in a great location - five minute walk to Sol train station and all the great shops! Opposite the hotel there is a fabulous food market as well!
The first room we stayed in was quite small, but comfortable for two people! The bathroom was quite spacious!
The second room was bigger and even had a balcony! It was on the top floor and could have accommodated four people!
Staff are extremely friendly and helpful!
If I were to visit Madrid again, I would definitely stay here again!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eri_Martinez_Varela, Online Sales Department at Petit Palace Mayor, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear guest,

First of all, thanks for your confidence in us for your stay in Madrid. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the hotel as we work to the utmost satisfaction of our guests. It will be a pleasure to serve you in a new stay in Madrid and in any of the cities in which we operate. Thanks for recommending us.

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I booked this hotel mainly due its the location. It is right across the street from Plaza Mayor and Mercado de San Miguel (foodie paradise!). It's also a good 5 -10 minute walk to the Royal Palace and Puerta del Sol. Lots of restaurants and stores near by. The Carrefour supermarket right next door to the hotel was a big plus. The open bus tour stop is only a few meters away from the hotel as well. You can buy the tickets from one of the souvenir shops by Plaza Mayor or on board the bus.

As far as access to and from the airport, we took a taxi to the hotel. Normally the fare should only cost around 35 Euros including tip, but our driver took the "scenic route" hence we paid 55 Euros. Beware of taxi scams! Going back to the airport, we paid the normal fare.

When you get to the front of the hotel, you'll need to ring the doorbell and the receptionist will open the door for you. Check-in was good and efficient. We were given a room on the 7th floor facing the rear of the hotel. The room was pretty basic yet well appointed, quiet, and it had a great view. This is not the Ritz so don't expect high end amenities or you will be disappointed. I specifically asked for a double bed, but when we got to the room we noticed that the "double bed" was just two twins put together. No big deal, but something to consider. The bed was a little hard, but tolerable. There was no coffee maker or tea kettle in the room. There was a wardrobe closet with a safe and mini bar.

There was a laptop in the room in case you need to access the internet and the WiFi was free. WiFi signal was excellent from the room and internet speed was good. The TV was a good size flat screen. Most channels were in Spanish, but there were a few English channels. We had some issues with the TV reception being fuzzy and we notified the reception desk, but never heard back unfortunately.

The bathroom was nice and modern. We were given shampoo and body wash as well as a comp and shower cap for the bath amenities. Water pressure was good and the rain and full body shower was great! No bathtub in the room, but we are shower people anyway. The toilet bowl was a little awkward because of its square shape. This seems to be the norm in Spain for some odd reason.

Like the other reviews here, we did notice the sewer-like smell in the room which seemed to be coming from the shower drainage. The smell was a little too much at times, but we just opened the window to take care of this.

The breakfast buffet was a bargain at 8 Euros per person. The food selection was very good considering the price. It does get a little crowded though, so come early. You can also walk to the Museo del Jamon or La Mallorquina to have a decent breakfast for less than 5 Euros.

Check out was quick and painless even at 3AM.

Overall good value for what we paid for and will probably come back to stay here again when we are in Madrid. I just hope they take care of the drainage smell issue soon.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor room facing the rear of the hotel if you want a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria G, Online Sales Department at Petit Palace Mayor, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your very complimentary review of High Tech Hotels. Our team are delighted that you enjoyed their service. Thank you for keeping us in mind for your future travel endeavours and I am looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Have a lovely week ahead and again thank you for your feedback,
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Location was very convenient, within walking distance to major tourist spots eg Royal Palace, Puerta del Sol, just across Plaza Mayor and San Miguel Mercado and near to 2 metro stations. Very happening place-many restaurants and cafe around the area which makes meals a brisk and such a wide selection to choose from. Next to the hotel, there's a Carrefour supermarket which makes it very convenient to get juice and snacks.

Room was cosy and clean. There was a double bunk beds for the children. Beds were comfortable and the bathroom was clean. However the lightings were a little too dim for me.

Staff were friendly and helpful and all spoke English.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria G, Online Sales Department at Petit Palace Mayor, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear guest,

First of all, as I always do, I would like to thank you for chosing us for your stay in Madrid, as well as for sending your feedback. We are glad to read that the hotel met all your expectations. As you say, Petit Palace Mayor is situated in the heart of Madrid, close to major tourist attractions. We will strive to improve the lightings because our guest satisfaction is why we work everyday.

Wishing you a happy 2013,
Best regards
Eri Martinez Valera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Excellent location, close the Plaza Mayor and the Palace. Hotel is surrounded by good dining options.

Free Wifi throughout the hotel.

Breakfast is adequate, but can be a little crowded.

The first room we were shown had a sewage odor, but staff was able to accommodate our request to change rooms. I think problem is confined to rooms on the ground floor.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria G, Departamento ventas online at Petit Palace Mayor, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for choosing Petit Palace Mayor and sending your comments and feedback.
We are pleased to know that your stay with us met your expectations and that you were especially satisfied with our location, facilities and breakfast service.
We will pass along your congratulations to the entire hotel staff. That you had a good experience with us is our greatest satisfaction and what motivates us to continue working hard so that our guest´s stay will be pleasant and enjoyable.

We hope to see you again soon at one of our hotels.

Kindest regards.
Eri Martinez Varela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Petit Palace Mayor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Palace Mayor

Address: Mayor St 46 | City Center, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#102 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#128 Family Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Petit Palace Mayor 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique hotel is next to Madrid's Plaza Mayor and 5 minutes walking from the Royal Palace and Puerta del Sol. It's centrally located, with Opera Metro Station 200 metres away. The Prado Museum and Retiro Park are a 5-minute Metro trip away. All of the modern and stylish rooms at the Petit Palace are equipped with a flat-screen TV with satellite channels, hydromassage shower, free Wi-Fi and an iPad can be provided on request. A buffet breakfast is served daily in the breakfast room, set in an authentic 19th-century wine cellar. The hotel offers guests the free use of bicycles. The market of San Miguel is opposite the hotel. Here you can taste a variety of typical Spanish products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Petit Palace Mayor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petit Palace Mayor Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Petit Palace Mayor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.