We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel-convenient location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Petit Palace Mayor

Save Saved
You added Petit Palace Mayor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Petit Palace Mayor
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mayor St 46 | City Center, 28013 Madrid, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #195 of 458 hotels in Madrid
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great hotel-convenient location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Location was very convenient, within walking distance to major tourist spots eg Royal Palace, Puerta del Sol, just across Plaza Mayor and San Miguel Mercado and near to 2 metro stations. Very happening place-many restaurants and cafe around the area which makes meals a brisk and such a wide selection to choose from. Next to the hotel, there's a Carrefour supermarket which makes it very convenient to get juice and snacks.

Room was cosy and clean. There was a double bunk beds for the children. Beds were comfortable and the bathroom was clean. However the lightings were a little too dim for me.

Staff were friendly and helpful and all spoke English.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria G, Online Sales Department at Petit Palace Mayor, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear guest,

First of all, as I always do, I would like to thank you for chosing us for your stay in Madrid, as well as for sending your feedback. We are glad to read that the hotel met all your expectations. As you say, Petit Palace Mayor is situated in the heart of Madrid, close to major tourist attractions. We will strive to improve the lightings because our guest satisfaction is why we work everyday.

Wishing you a happy 2013,
Best regards
Eri Martinez Valera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    81
    167
    53
    25
    10
See reviews for
87
100
13
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Excellent location, close the Plaza Mayor and the Palace. Hotel is surrounded by good dining options.

Free Wifi throughout the hotel.

Breakfast is adequate, but can be a little crowded.

The first room we were shown had a sewage odor, but staff was able to accommodate our request to change rooms. I think problem is confined to rooms on the ground floor.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria G, Departamento ventas online at Petit Palace Mayor, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for choosing Petit Palace Mayor and sending your comments and feedback.
We are pleased to know that your stay with us met your expectations and that you were especially satisfied with our location, facilities and breakfast service.
We will pass along your congratulations to the entire hotel staff. That you had a good experience with us is our greatest satisfaction and what motivates us to continue working hard so that our guest´s stay will be pleasant and enjoyable.

We hope to see you again soon at one of our hotels.

Kindest regards.
Eri Martinez Varela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I stayed at this property for 5 nights. It's location is amazing, just across the street from Plaza Mayor and Mercado San Miguel. It is clean, modern and well suited for it's price. The laptop in the room was a first for me and not to mention FREE WIFI folks with a strong signal. The rain shower is just what the doctor ordered after a long day in the streets discovering this great city. The breakfast buffet is smartly priced and offers a great value if for some reason it is not included in the rate as was the case with me. The staff is very friendly and willing to assist with any request. I would definetely stay here again should my travels take me to Madrid in the near future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria G, Departamento Ventas online at Petit Palace Mayor, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear guest,

It was such a pleasure reading your comments. Without a doubt, feedback like yours encourages us to continue working hard so that our guests’ experiences at our hotels are enjoyable ones. We would love to see you again soon at any of our establishments.
Kindest regards.

Eri Martinez Varela
Departamento de Ventas online
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

the reception area and the first 2 rooms we were offered all smelt of sewerage. the hotel clearly has a problem with the drains.

the hotel is small, modern and clean, no bar and lacks space at reception. excellent location but all this pails into insignificance because of the dreadful smell. bedrooms modern and roomy

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria G, Gerente at Petit Palace Mayor, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Mr.

We would like to thank you for taking the time to send us your comments about your stay in our hotel. We really appreciate all comments and truly believe that that they help us to improve our services.

We are very happy that you were happy with the location, decoration and the cleaning services of our hotel and we hope that you found the treatment from our staff to be friendly and courteous.

We do apologies for the inconveniences caused by the plumbing system that was accentuated by the rainy weather we were experiencing at the time of your visit.

We hope to see you again during your next visit to Madrid.

Best regards
Prado Nombela Barroso
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Clean, modern, well located, good breakfast. Absolutely worth the money!
My family and I stayed in this hotel in may 2009 for 4 days. We had a great time. Especially the location of the hotel is superb, very close to the city-life of Madrid.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria G, Gerente at Petit Palace Mayor, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your wonderful review of our Hotel Petit Palace Mayor .We are delighted to read such a gleaming report of our service and facilities .

Our team are delighted that you enjoyed their service and look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kindest regards

Hotel Manager
Prado Nombela Barroso
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This was our second time to stay here.
The location is excellent.
Jessica the receptionist was the friedliest I have ever met anywhere and so helpful.She spoke English fluently.
We were happy with our double room as it was on the 1st floor so she gave us the choice of a twin room on the 4th floor.
Thank you!
The showers were brilliant!
The only thing we didnt like was at breakfast it took forever to make a pot of tea, the water heater would only heat a small cup at a time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria G, Gerente at Petit Palace Mayor, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your wonderful review of our Hotel . We are delighted to read such a gleaming report of our service and facilities from one of our regular guests.

And we appreciate your comments and thank you for giving us the opportunity to improve through your opinion .

We hope to see you again soon at one of our hotels.

Kindest regards

Prado Nombela Barroso
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Petit Palace Mayor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Palace Mayor

Address: Mayor St 46 | City Center, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#117 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Petit Palace Mayor 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique hotel is next to Madrid's Plaza Mayor and 5 minutes walking from the Royal Palace and Puerta del Sol. It's centrally located, with Opera Metro Station 200 metres away. The Prado Museum and Retiro Park are a 5-minute Metro trip away. All of the modern and stylish rooms at the Petit Palace are equipped with a flat-screen TV with satellite channels, hydromassage shower, free Wi-Fi and an iPad can be provided on request. A buffet breakfast is served daily in the breakfast room, set in an authentic 19th-century wine cellar. The hotel offers guests the free use of bicycles. The market of San Miguel is opposite the hotel. Here you can taste a variety of typical Spanish products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Agoda, getaroom.com and Otel so you can book your Petit Palace Mayor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petit Palace Mayor Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Petit Palace Mayor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.