We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanksgiving break in Madrid” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Petit Palace Mayor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Petit Palace Mayor to your Saves list
Petit Palace Mayor
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Mayor St 46 | City Center, 28013 Madrid, Spain (Centro)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #148 of 453 Hotels in Madrid
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Thanksgiving break in Madrid”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I stayed at this property for 5 nights. It's location is amazing, just across the street from Plaza Mayor and Mercado San Miguel. It is clean, modern and well suited for it's price. The laptop in the room was a first for me and not to mention FREE WIFI folks with a strong signal. The rain shower is just what the doctor ordered after a long day in the streets discovering this great city. The breakfast buffet is smartly priced and offers a great value if for some reason it is not included in the rate as was the case with me. The staff is very friendly and willing to assist with any request. I would definetely stay here again should my travels take me to Madrid in the near future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria G, Departamento Ventas online at Petit Palace Mayor, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear guest,

It was such a pleasure reading your comments. Without a doubt, feedback like yours encourages us to continue working hard so that our guests’ experiences at our hotels are enjoyable ones. We would love to see you again soon at any of our establishments.
Kindest regards.

Eri Martinez Varela
Departamento de Ventas online
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    202
    71
    26
    12
See reviews for
126
142
16
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

the reception area and the first 2 rooms we were offered all smelt of sewerage. the hotel clearly has a problem with the drains.

the hotel is small, modern and clean, no bar and lacks space at reception. excellent location but all this pails into insignificance because of the dreadful smell. bedrooms modern and roomy

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria G, Gerente at Petit Palace Mayor, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Mr.

We would like to thank you for taking the time to send us your comments about your stay in our hotel. We really appreciate all comments and truly believe that that they help us to improve our services.

We are very happy that you were happy with the location, decoration and the cleaning services of our hotel and we hope that you found the treatment from our staff to be friendly and courteous.

We do apologies for the inconveniences caused by the plumbing system that was accentuated by the rainy weather we were experiencing at the time of your visit.

We hope to see you again during your next visit to Madrid.

Best regards
Prado Nombela Barroso
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Clean, modern, well located, good breakfast. Absolutely worth the money!
My family and I stayed in this hotel in may 2009 for 4 days. We had a great time. Especially the location of the hotel is superb, very close to the city-life of Madrid.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria G, Gerente at Petit Palace Mayor, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your wonderful review of our Hotel Petit Palace Mayor .We are delighted to read such a gleaming report of our service and facilities .

Our team are delighted that you enjoyed their service and look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kindest regards

Hotel Manager
Prado Nombela Barroso
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This was our second time to stay here.
The location is excellent.
Jessica the receptionist was the friedliest I have ever met anywhere and so helpful.She spoke English fluently.
We were happy with our double room as it was on the 1st floor so she gave us the choice of a twin room on the 4th floor.
Thank you!
The showers were brilliant!
The only thing we didnt like was at breakfast it took forever to make a pot of tea, the water heater would only heat a small cup at a time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria G, Gerente at Petit Palace Mayor, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your wonderful review of our Hotel . We are delighted to read such a gleaming report of our service and facilities from one of our regular guests.

And we appreciate your comments and thank you for giving us the opportunity to improve through your opinion .

We hope to see you again soon at one of our hotels.

Kindest regards

Prado Nombela Barroso
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr UK
Level Contributor
66 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Located two minutes walk from the square and not obviously placed. The staff were friendly and very helpful, although they seemed a bit cramped behind the tiny reception desk. The family room we had was excellent, a good size for two adults and children aged 11 and 8, clean and with good bunk beds. All the amenities were in good working order with the exception of the air conditioning. The wi fi and lap top in the room were a great bonus as it meant that the children were entertained when we were in the room. They had no trouble whatsoever operating the system! There is a night time only taxi rank outside and they, like every other city I know, think they can be as noisy and as objectionable as they like. All in all, a very comfortable small hotel, ideal if you are spending most of your time out viewing the sights of Madrid. It is basically a great place to sleep and the price reflects it. Good value for money. As I said, if you are there to see Madrid and are happy to be out most of the day and return to a comfortable bed and room, then this hotel is fine.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria G, Gerente at Petit Palace Mayor, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear guest;

Thanks to inform to our staff and to Tripadvisor user´s about your stay and experience in Petit Palace.

Remind you we have other hotels with the same good location in Barcelona, Valencia, Málaga, Sevilla, Salamanca, Bilbao, Getxo, and as you know here in Madrid

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We do hope you find the time to return to Madrid and stay with us again, you will be very welcome!

Prado Nombela Barroso
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calcutta
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

arrived on a sunny afternoon with my family. the chekin was easy and quick we got our rooms next to each other. needed hot water for the kid which was easy to get from the coffee machine all day.
The only problem we faced was by govt rule from October all hotels have to have their heater started in central system.
well rooms were nice n clean very modern. breakfast was amazing.
hotel is very well located near all restaurants and near by shopping area .
all over a good experience if i visit Madrid again i will stay there

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beatriz C, Departamento de Revenue at Petit Palace Mayor, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your very complimentary review of Petit Palace Mayor . Our team are delighted that you enjoyed their service and look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Loved this hotel. Great location, great breakfast, good sized room, fantastic shower. The only issue was that there were no tea/coffee making facilities in the room. Tried to ask at reception if a kettle was available as had my own tea bags. The lady on reception tried to help but I obviously didn't make myself clear as she provided me with a tea pot with boiling water! Plenty of places nearby to eat and drink and would especially recommend the market across from the hotel. Would avoid some of the places in Plaza Mayor as they are not good value for money.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beatriz C, Departamento de Revenue at Petit Palace Mayor, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your TripAdvisor comments and also staying with us while visiting Madrid

All the staff works hard in the hotel to ensure the majority of our guests have an enjoyable stay.
Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Petit Palace Posada del Peine
Centro
Petit Palace Plaza del Carmen
Centro
Petit Palace Puerta Del Sol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Latina
Posada del Dragon (Madrid)
Huertas
Catalonia Puerta del Sol
Catalonia Puerta del Sol
#40 of 453 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 stars 377 reviews
Centro
HOTEL OPERA
HOTEL OPERA
#126 of 453 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 stars 666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petit Palace Mayor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Palace Mayor

Address: Mayor St 46 | City Center, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#89 Family Hotel in Madrid
#95 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#126 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Petit Palace Mayor 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique hotel is next to Madrid's Plaza Mayor and 5 minutes walking from the Royal Palace and Puerta del Sol. It's centrally located, with Opera Metro Station 200 metres away. The Prado Museum and Retiro Park are a 5-minute Metro trip away. All of the modern and stylish rooms at the Petit Palace are equipped with a flat-screen TV with satellite channels, hydromassage shower, free Wi-Fi and an iPad can be provided on request. A buffet breakfast is served daily in the breakfast room, set in an authentic 19th-century wine cellar. The hotel offers guests the free use of bicycles. The market of San Miguel is opposite the hotel. Here you can taste a variety of typical Spanish products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Petit Palace Mayor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petit Palace Mayor Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Petit Palace Mayor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.