We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For Flamenco show is super” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Corral de la Pacheca

Corral de la Pacheca
Calle de Juan Ramon Jimenez, 26 | Comunidad de Madrid, 28036 Madrid, Spain
913530100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3,763 of 6,820 Restaurants in Madrid
Price range: $37 - $105
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: El Corral de la Pacheca offers a wonderful selection of the purest, sincere and authentic Spanish dance. The beauty of its Castilian architecture, its huge range of facilities and the quality and prestige of the artists undoubtedly make this restaurant one of the most important in Spain. It currently offers visitors a unique live show of dancing and singing. Naturally, the food is unequivocally Spanish. Suggestions from the menu include dishes such as fried fish ?a la andaluza?, lobster and rice chowder, or Galician entrecote.
Tirgu Mures, Romania
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“For Flamenco show is super”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We were there with a group of friends (families) at the final of April 2012.
First impression was not the good one. Because we arrived there with around one hour before the starting of the show we were first customers there. The space (room) is big and the furniture was with smell of old time. You can imagine in a big restaurant to be first customers.
But the good think is that we found table without reservation and tablecloths and the rest of serving dishes were very clean.
Food and drinks are at the medium level to good one.
What was very nice that when we got closer to the beginning of the show more and more groups arrived.
...then the SHOW ! In our case it was the first time when we took place to a Flamenco show.
It was without words, positive impressive... one of the most important memory from last year !

We recommend Corral de la Placheca if you are interested in a new experience !

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    9
    4
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
1 review
“A wonderful New Year's Eve!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We spent New Year's Eve here and will never forget the experience. The staff were extremely friendly and you could not fault the service. We have not been to a flamenco show before so we have nothing to compare it to. However we all really enjoyed it. It was a wonderful evening.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajijic, Mexico
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Not your best choice for flamenco.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

If you're looking for a quality flamenco show, I recommend you look elsewhere. Both the venue and the show itself were very disappointing. As to the tired looking venue: the stage lighting was poor, and when the waiters weren't still serving dinner (moving among the tables and clattering plates) they were talking loudly among themselves. Whereas at another venue in Spain, management had requested no photos except in the last few minutes of the show, in this venue, with no management guidance, tourists-behaving-badly were widely in evidence. Cameras were flashing and bright view-finder screens from both cameras and iPads were held high throughout. As to the performers, I have never seen such a unstructured mess of a show. Whereas traditionally shows start with the music and let the drama build, this show started with its two young featured male dancers. one of them in particular was strong on foot work, but exhibited was was virtually a total lack of artistry above the waist. (Made me think of an asterisk in a frenzy.). The musicianship overall was completely mediocre. In all seriousness, I've heard better musicians in the streets and metro of Madrid. (Maybe this is why the guitarist never had a moment in the show when he was featured.). And a note about costuming, which is an important part of a flamenco show: the ladies were dressed as one would expect, but the young guys? Street-wear-type suit jackets (which bunch-up as they dance), do not in my opinion, "make it" as a flamenco costume, nor does a tails-out shirt.
I cannot comment on the food served as I did not eat dinner, choosing to pay the cover for the show, 30 Euros, which included one drink,

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Corral de la Pacheca is a scam for tourists”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Expensive, poor quality, lousy service, poor food, crappy show, all musty and outdated. Not recommended at all.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Skeptic at first…fascinated later.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

Probably all Flamenco clubs would be touristic. It’s not diff in this case. BUT…and this is a big but…
We were very skeptic about the food, about the experience…about the place. It didn’t look like the right neighborhood for Flamenco .
We came with 2 kids (aged 7 and 10) to the 2230 show and were sat it a good table. Since we arrived early we tasted 2 dishes (stake and Salmon) that were OK. Good but not the reason to come back.
And then the show started. IT WAS MAGICAL. We could not take our eyes off the dancers and had many exciting and moving moments. Sometimes are can excite. That was one of these moments for me and my spouse.
Get over the skepticism, do yourself a favor and do not give up this experience.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Corral de la Pacheca also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to Corral de la Pacheca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Corral de la Pacheca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.