We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante Lateral Fuencarral

Restaurante Lateral Fuencarral
Fuencarral 43, 28004 Madrid, Spain (Centro)
+34 91 531 68 77
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #979 of 6,833 Restaurants in Madrid
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Outdoor seating, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Neighborhood: Centro
Description: El restaurante Lateral de la calle Fuencarral, el tercer establecimiento que la marca abre en Madrid, fue inaugurado en febrero de 2003 con la intencion de ofertar el modelo de negocio a una de las zonas de mayor crecimiento multicultural y economico de la capital.El restaurante, disenado por el interiorista Inigo Well, ofrece un local exclusivo donde destacan la madera, la luz y un espectacular botellero que preside la sala. El espacio ofrece 30 mesas en el la sala interior y 10 mas en la terraza acondicionada para su uso durante todo el ano.Fuencarral, se ha convertido en uno de los sitios de referencia para cenar en Madrid y mas concretamente en el barrio de Chueca.Horario de cocina: ininterrumpido de domingo a miercoles desde las 12.00 a las 24.00 horas y de jueves a sabado hasta las 01.00Horario de local: de domingo a miercoles desde las 12.00 a las 24.00 horas y de jueves a sabado hasta las 02.00
Espinho
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I guess it is my favourite restaurant! I will travel from my hometown to Madrid to have dinner at Lateral. Amazing restaurante, amazing deco, the enviroment is very good, people are nice, everyone is having a good time. The food is amazing, not very expensive! Loved it! Great for special dinners with friends! It's really good!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    106
    48
    12
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting and great food with good sized portions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Lateral does a great take on modern tapas. If you´re sick of greasy croquetas and average patatas bravas then brave a slightly bigger hit to the purse strings and head to this beautifully lit restaurant very close to Gran Via. We sat outside (in February!) because the outside area is just so nicely lit and cosy and ordered drinks and food at reasonable prices (less than 15€ with 2 drinks). The goats cheese salad comes with plenty of cheese, caramelized onions and aubergine...definitely recommended!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimbledon
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Well priced for such a central location..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Food was of excellent quality, a nice twist on a traditional Tapas menu, seating and lighting intimate, and comfortable, service a little quicker but not overly rushed, some great quality wines at attractive prices.
Good value, def worth a visit.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great little place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

I was very impressed with Lateral! The food was really delicious! It was a more modern take on tapas...if you speak english make sure you ask for the English menu!
The restaurant itself is moody, dimly lit and intimate! You are sitting quite close to other tables but that is because it's very popular! I can recommend the Lateral salad which has tomato mozzarella and ham! Also the sirloin with foie gras was delicious...as was the avocado and shrimp! Highly recommended

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“wrong day wrong time”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

this appears to be a better bar than restaurant. We were there in the late afternoon - off hours in Spain. The service was terrible and the food was worse. Inedible tapas! how is that possible?

I spoke to our concierge and she said that others had experienced both good and bad. I think she was being nice.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Lateral Fuencarral also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to Restaurante Lateral Fuencarral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurante Lateral Fuencarral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.