We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I must have missed something!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of El Club Allard

El Club Allard
Calle de Ferraz, 2, 28008 Madrid, Spain (Arguelles)
+34 915 59 09 39
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
El Club Allard is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 7,365 Restaurants in Madrid
Cuisines: Contemporary, Fusion, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Arguelles
Granada, Spain
Level Contributor
92 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“I must have missed something!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Decided on El Club Allard as a result of the mainly positive reviews on Trip Advisor. Our party opted for the Seduction menu and each of the 12 innovative courses' was given individual appraisal as they were consumed.Very mixed comments accompanied each one. Although every course was beautifully and in some cases spectacularly presented, as one of the Trip Advisor reviewers commented it is the food that matters. The concentus of opinion in our group was one of the blandness of the majority of the dishes. The addition of the infused foam on certain dishes only seemed to kill rather enhance the flavour. It is obvious to anyone who visits El Club Allard that a great deal of time effort and ingenuity has gone in to the creation and execution of these dishes, but the nuances & subtle flavour experiences get lost somewhere. The whole appeared to taste less than the sum of the ingredient parts, sadly.
The wine varieties from Ourense in Galicia, Avila & Cigales in Castilla y Leon, Mentrida in Castilla-La Mancha and a Malaga dessert wine, although not your normal wine fayre, just being different and refreshing is no substitute if in our groups opinion, they were all generally a bit on the lightweight side.
The service was discreet and informative, the ambiance fine albeit slightly subdued given the number of dinners that evening. I am sorry, but for all our party, who are no shrinking violets when it comes to the enjoyment of gourmet fine dining and who had been anticipating something really special that evening, it turned out to be a case of style over substance. .

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

997 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    775
    141
    47
    16
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin Ireland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Imaginative, creative ... great way to spend an afternoon.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Diego Guerrero's El Club Allard is superb ... a feast for all the senses ... we opted for the Revolution menu, and were delighted with our choice.

In a restaurant of this standard, while important the standard of staff, the room etc are a given (and lived up to expectations) ... it is the food which should shine, and so it did ... in fact it dazzled. So much caught our attention:

- the game truffle
- the mini babybell
- the egg with bread and bacon over a potato sauce
- the pigeon
- the 'sea dessert' with raspberry and white chocolate coral, dark chocolate mussel shell and marshmallow nemo
- the egg

We really think that Diego Guerrero is developing ideas which are at the forefront of cooking and presentation today.

Sublime ... and for what it is, very good value. Go there ...

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Don't come here without reservation!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Come here based on Tripadvisor recommendations. It was not easy to find it, nothing is about restaurant in the building on the second floor, you should enter the door on the corner of 2 streets and go to the second floor, and turn right.
There was nothing about reservation and when I come they told me that there's no free seats first, then another waiter told me that kitchen is closed and they can't serve me, bla-bla-bla...
It was very strange because restaurant was half full and I see a lot of free seats and I come here just for coffee and desert. But only one of 4 waiters was speaking/understanding more-less English, which is trend in Madrid and Spain.
Left this place without my desert and dissatisfied!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Over the top!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

El Club Allard is located in a grand turn of the century building which is located next to Plaza Espana. There is nothing on the exterior of this building to indicate that the restaurant is within this building. Look for the number 2 above the door. The doorman will direct you to the restaurant located on the second floor. This is a very formal restaurant. I went for lunch and the some patrons were casually dressed. Most of the male patrons wore a coat and tie.

Diego Guerrero of el Club Allard is one of the few chefs on the planet that can combine seemingly random ingredients in a coherent way. His menu is a feast for nearly all the senses. Each dish is a work of art. Some delicate. Some whimsical. Some are just over the top. All are a feast for the eyes. The subtle and yet sometimes startling combinations of taste and textures was thrilling in one dish but left me confused in another. Such is the risk of cutting edge cuisine. Diego Guerrero is a maestro of the culinary arts. Eating here is a memorable event.

Fourteen courses, six different wines and a digestif. Lunch from 13h30 to 16H15. What a way to spend an afternoon.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“perfect end of the world dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We ate here on Dec 21, and all 6 of us felt that we HAD died and gone to heaven!! We were very late to our reservation, (we werent able to get a cab) still they took us in. The service was excellent and the food incredible. It was my childrens first time at a resaurant like this and an experience they will never forget!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Club Allard also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to El Club Allard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Club Allard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.