We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't come here without reservation!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of El Club Allard

El Club Allard
C/ Ferraz 2, 28008 Madrid, Spain
+34 915 59 09 39
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
El Club Allard is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 6,482 restaurants in Madrid
Cuisines: Contemporary, Eclectic, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Don't come here without reservation!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Come here based on Tripadvisor recommendations. It was not easy to find it, nothing is about restaurant in the building on the second floor, you should enter the door on the corner of 2 streets and go to the second floor, and turn right.
There was nothing about reservation and when I come they told me that there's no free seats first, then another waiter told me that kitchen is closed and they can't serve me, bla-bla-bla...
It was very strange because restaurant was half full and I see a lot of free seats and I come here just for coffee and desert. But only one of 4 waiters was speaking/understanding more-less English, which is trend in Madrid and Spain.
Left this place without my desert and dissatisfied!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    499
    65
    28
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Over the top!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

El Club Allard is located in a grand turn of the century building which is located next to Plaza Espana. There is nothing on the exterior of this building to indicate that the restaurant is within this building. Look for the number 2 above the door. The doorman will direct you to the restaurant located on the second floor. This is a very formal restaurant. I went for lunch and the some patrons were casually dressed. Most of the male patrons wore a coat and tie.

Diego Guerrero of el Club Allard is one of the few chefs on the planet that can combine seemingly random ingredients in a coherent way. His menu is a feast for nearly all the senses. Each dish is a work of art. Some delicate. Some whimsical. Some are just over the top. All are a feast for the eyes. The subtle and yet sometimes startling combinations of taste and textures was thrilling in one dish but left me confused in another. Such is the risk of cutting edge cuisine. Diego Guerrero is a maestro of the culinary arts. Eating here is a memorable event.

Fourteen courses, six different wines and a digestif. Lunch from 13h30 to 16H15. What a way to spend an afternoon.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“perfect end of the world dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We ate here on Dec 21, and all 6 of us felt that we HAD died and gone to heaven!! We were very late to our reservation, (we werent able to get a cab) still they took us in. The service was excellent and the food incredible. It was my childrens first time at a resaurant like this and an experience they will never forget!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Unusual food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

veru posh.
Hard to find the place as its not signed posted. its on the corner of a building , then up the stairs.
So much food with 12 courses. i was stuffed!!
Great services, couldn't ask for better.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Quite pricy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I liked some of the dishes others were poorly combined. Tastes that didn't go together. The display was excellent. Loved the Edible name card! Service was excellent!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Club Allard also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to El Club Allard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Club Allard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.